999,999 and Counting…?

Although we got back from our Outer Hebridean trip on Monday evening things are nowhere near back to ‘normal’ as we were due at Renishaw Hall on Tuesday in my blogging capacity (more soon – well, soonish) and yesterday the Golfer and I were on polling duty for 15 hours so the garden and I are not fully re-acquainted yet. A few rambles, however, were managed on Wednesday inbetween general catching-up and rearranging the seedlings and young plants that my neighbour had been keeping an eye on. Each ramble showed something I had missed on the previous one – like dozens of buds on Mme Alfred Carrière, alliums ready to burst, clematis waiting to take over from the earlier alpinas, oh, and lots of weeds of course…

Lots to see and lots to do – just as there was lots to see and do on our trip, the following collage showing just some of it:

collage - Copy.again

IMG_4835The islands were so varied, the sky so blue, the scenery so inspiring, the blogging friends so friendly… a wonderful trip. The only downside was being too early to see the machair come alive with wild flowers but at least the Golfer got to photograph 999,999 birds and see both golden and sea eagles.

Ah yes, and I partook of Stornoway black pudding in Stornoway….

This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to 999,999 and Counting…?

  1. johnvic8 says:

    Thank you for the collage. Great views of a place about which I know very little. What did you use to make the collage? It is quite effective.

  2. Christina says:

    Looks like a wonderful trip. My husband has recently become a keen bird-watcher; I go along to keep him company but don’t quite share the passion. Does your husband photograph using a telescope, mine does but hasn’t had great success considering the telescope and the camera are both top of the range! Any advice would be gratefully accepted.

    • Cathy says:

      His camera is probably classed as a .’bridge’ camera and 72x zoom but nowhere near top range. He has tried using a monoscope with it but found you can’t then use the camera effectively. Problem now is trying to use a camera whilst wearing glasses which he has to do all the time 😦 Much easier and more fun looking at plants I would say…. 😉

  3. AnnetteM says:

    Oh I really must get myself over there for a holiday. Your photos look amazing. Glad you had such a good time.

  4. Amy says:

    999,999 is a most impressive number, Cathy – he deserves a trophy surely? I love your collage; looks like it was an exciting trip… and I await photos as Mme. Alfred Carriere opens… 😀

  5. rickii says:

    These scenes stir my Irish blood.

  6. Anna says:

    Now that’s a part of the country that I would dearly love to visit! Will have to pick your brain about where a camper van might park up en route Cathy 🙂 What is the machair please – sand dunes or meadows I’m guessing at but could well be wrong

    • hello Anna, the machair is a sandy area of low lying land near the coast, usually west coast of the Hebrides, the Uists, Benbecula and south Harris, due to the low fertility of the sandy soil the grass is not aggressive and so the wildflowers grow freely, it is very pretty when in flower, it is also an insect haven and an important part of the Hebridean ecology, Frances

  7. Brian Skeys says:

    I an not sure which is the most impressive, the Photos, the ‘Bird Count’ or the Stornoway black pudding breakfast!

  8. homeslip says:

    Now that looks like my kind of place. I must look up the bloggers you visited. Looking forward to reading more about your holiday.

  9. Looks like a fabulous trip Cathy, look forward to hearing/seeing more about it!

  10. jenhumm116 says:

    Such lovely photos Cathy.
    I’ve been around that area sailing twice and both times we were incredibly lucky with the weather and the views were absolutely stunning. I haven’t dared go back since as I can’t believe I’d get lucky a third time, but your photos are definitely tempting me!

Something to say after reading this?

