Garden Bloggers Foliage Day: Setting the Slug Banqueting Table

IMG_4710Christina at My Hesperides Garden encourages us to look at foliage in our gardens in a different way and post about it each month. After my series of foliage posts focussing on different aspects like pattern and colour I was intending to focus on ‘clumps’ this month, but everything is getting rather leafy now, unlike the more discernible clumps last month. Instead I am sharing some of the hosta foliage that is pushing itself out of the soil in various pots, the variable green spikes thrusting and unfurling themselves almost overnight. With such a wet spring, last year was a disaster for the hostas as slugs from far and wide munched lacy patterns in the foliage, so it is a relief that the plants can shrug off these attacks and have another go this year.

Above we have a pot with three miniature hosta – Lime Fizz, Cracker Crumb and Blue Mouse Ears, which without attention from slugs will grow into  tiny but perfectly formed adult hostas. There are two more miniatures in another pot but I will be on the lookout for more. Below are four hostas that came as part of a ‘pay postage & packing only’ offer from Gardeners World magazine, arriving surprisingly with large and healthy root systems and quickly sending up new leaves when potted up – so perfect, so complete, so untouched by Slug….

Slug.banquet1Above clockwise from top left are : White Feather, Francée, Pizzazz and Elegans – so perfect, so complete, so untouched by Slug….

Below, survivors from previous years (clockwise from top left) Orange Marmalade, Wide Brim, Halcyon and an elderly unknown, not as far advanced as the new additions:

slug.banquet2IMG_4706And not foliage but worthy of a mention is this cheeky chappie, whoever he is – some sort of a shield bug but with an unusual bronze tear-drop on his back. Our field guide to insects suggests he is a ‘squash bug’ Corizus marginatus, a common bug found chiefly on sorrel, dock, blackberry, groundsel, etc. Unfortunately not a slug predator, despite where I found him!

Big thanks to Christina for hosting this foliage meme – and do visit her blog to find links to the foliage in other people’s gardens.

This entry was posted in Garden Bloggers Foliage day, Gardening, Gardens and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Garden Bloggers Foliage Day: Setting the Slug Banqueting Table

  1. Christina says:

    Thanks for joking on this month Cathy. Love your mini Hostas, good luck with preserving them from the dreaded slugs.

  2. rusty duck says:

    Good luck indeed… I’ve given up. rusty duck is a hosta free zone, more’s the pity. 😦

  3. Cathy says:

    I didn’t know about mini Hostas, so hope you will feature them again when they grow a bit. The slate chippings look as if they should deter slugs, but are really attractive too. We have had such a dry spring I have barely seen a slug or snail, but I know they are just biding their time! 😉

  4. croftgarden says:

    Delighted you’re perservering with your hostas, I’ve not tried the miniatures, but I’m now tempted.
    Must admit that I felt as if I was in Liliput peering directly down on the plants!

  5. I’m still chuckling over “slug banq

  6. That gives me some great new ideas on combatting slugs…

  7. Julie says:

    You probably know this but slugs lay their eggs in the soil, I now only keep one hosta as shredded leaves are not much fun to look at and encourage thrushes

  8. I adore mini hostas, do you follow http://carolynsshadegardens.com/? She has featured some real beauties. I’m stearing clear though, I am not allowing myself pots until we get the terrace sorted out, which will be ages, and in the ground they just get decimated…

    • Cathy says:

      I checked her blog out when you mentioned it before – really interesting blog but there are too many interesting blogs to folow all of them 😦

  9. They look great in the pots with the slate, fingers crossed they do well for you 🙂

  10. rickii says:

    The mulch you have used looks like it might deter the slimy bastards. Is White Feather a miniature?

  11. Anna says:

    Ssssssshhhh Cathy – don’t mention the words “slug banqueting table” – they might read your blog! There seem to be few of them about at the moment but they are just biding their time until we get a good downpour. My ‘Blue Mouse Ears’ is showing its snout now and is need of top dressing so thanks for a most timely reminder.

    • Cathy says:

      I am sure that is the case Anna and in fact that could be the downside of hoping for rain while we are away, thinking of all my lovely young green seedlings all grouped together at the bottom of the garden… Hope your BME behaves himself

  12. Best of luck to your intrepid hostas, Cathy! Mine are in the ground and just poking through now. It’s the first time I’ve dared, and in the new garden too, so I have no idea what to expect. Please share pics of your miniatures when they are fully grown!

  13. My mini Hostas got eaten by rabbits last year so I am preparing to cage them so I can enjoy them this year. Loved your post about the cutting garden and the milk bottles. I think I will have to try this. I envy the space to set aside for cut flowers. Mine come from the garden beds so I usually think a while before I clip. But I love flowers in the house so I can usually justify a fair amount of clipping!

Something to say after reading this?

