Sherbet Dib Dabs and Love Hearts

IMG_4548It may have been a damp and gently drizzly day today but I have been in my element on rambles round the garden – like the proverbial child in a sweet shop! Regular inspections of the burgeoning buds of Clematis alpina on the colonnade have paid off and the the first swollen bud is now splitting, this one being ‘Ocean Pearl’ – and there will be many more to follow in the days and weeks ahead.

Throughout the garden buds are appearing on tulips – and not just the smaller species, although they will generally be the first to flower. Look at the shape of the nascent buds of this one, which I think is Tulipa ‘Praestans’ – what elegance, what style!

IMG_4551Perhaps not as numerous as the clematis buds or as elegant as the tulip but still equally welcomed on my rambles are buds on (clockwise from top left) Erysimum ‘Bowles Mauve’, cowslip Primula veris, Camellia japonica ‘Nobilissima’ and long awaited Viburnum bodnantense ‘Dawn’:

SwellSherbet Dib Dabs and Love Hearts? No, not these days – a garden in early spring holds more appeal and is better for my teeth!

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens, Spring. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Sherbet Dib Dabs and Love Hearts

  1. Brian Skeys says:

    A lovely ‘Pick & Mix’

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Brian – the focus of the post seemed to change as I wrote it as it was the swelling of buds everywhere that prompted it. I had to change its title too!

  2. Ah, the promise of Spring! 🙂 Thank you!

  3. rickii says:

    Your plants are posing prettily for your rambles, and even donning jewelry in the form of raindrops.

  4. Amy says:

    What better pick-me-up than some well-loved flowers showing buds??

  5. Cathy says:

    Lovely Cathy. A spring garden always looks best with some raindrops anyway, I think! I’ve heard the American expression “eye candy” – seems fitting!

  6. Annette says:

    Beautiful details well captured, Cathy. Happy Easter 🙂

  7. Noelle says:

    I agree with you, a visual treat reaches those parts of the soul that sweeties cannot.

  8. Lovely photos, it’s such an exciting and lovely time of year seeing everything emerge from winter 🙂

  9. susan troccolo says:

    You’ve captured some really beautiful images, almost like the camera is loving the view….The raindrop balanced perfectly on the tulip reminds me of the screen saver on my computer. I keep it there to remind me of the fragility of life. You are such a fun writer too!

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Susan – and I have the photo I use as my header for my screensaver, one of the first batch of digital photos I took way back in 2003 or thereabouts. I never tire of it…

  10. jenhumm116 says:

    What gorgeous photos. I particularly love the tulip bud.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Jen – and some of the detail you don’t always notice until you look at close-up photos. I love the way the petals appear twisted…

  11. Its such an exciting time of year, isn’t it. I’m hoping to buy clematis for my park border tomorrow, which will force me to tackle the trellis staining and the bramble situation. The reward will be in the flowers!

    • Cathy says:

      Oh yes indeed – I bought various Clematis alpina last year and they are all in bud and looking good. Do let us know which one you decide on…

  12. Monica says:

    Beautiful close ups Cathy. Nice picture taking 🙂

Something to say after reading this?

