Garden Bloggers Foliage Day: Fresh

IMG_4466Before focusing on foliage, I would like to thank everyone who commented on my blogging anniversary post – I took the decision not to reply individually as you were all saying such complementary things and I just accepted them graciously, the point inherently being proved about how supportive our blogging community is.

Today, the 22nd of the month, we are invited by Christina of  My Hesperides Garden to look at the foliage in our gardens, so following on from my recent foliage posts I am looking at just one particular aspect which for this month is new foliage. I never cease to be amazed by the new foliage on roses (above) – all of mine seem to start out pink as the leaves unfold before greening up and leaving just distinctively pink serrated outer edges and veins underneath the leaves. Do these turn green too in due course? That’s an observation to be made in the future.

That pinkness seems to occur in the fresh foliage of many plants – who could not admire the expectant shoots of this dicentra (sorry, it’s ‘new’ name does not yet trip off my tongue) and the first signs of Campanula ‘Sarastro’ are definitely rhubarb coloured too, something I have not noticed before:

GBFD.March15.1Many honeysuckles (left) seem to start out with a bit of a blush too, and when you consider the usual almost metallic grey foliage of Artemisia lactifola it is particularly odd to see the colour of the same foliage early in the year:

GBFD.March15.2I especially enjoy the easy recognition of leaf shape on fresh foliage, even as soon as the first true leaves appear on seedlings – like the molucella, malva, tagetes and hellebore seedlings in the greenhouse:

GBFD.March15.3Perfect miniatures of full grown leaves, as I also found outside today on Astrantia ‘Roma’, Aquilegia ‘Green Apples’ and tiny candelabra primulas – I was particularly pleased to see the latter as they were grown from seed last year, planted out in the autumn and had duly disappeared!

GBFD.March15.4At this time of year I will have been watching out for the first signs of wood anemones emerging in the woodland for a couple of weeks – they tend to be so well camouflaged that they often take my by surprise, but they are certainly here now, in their hundreds. Fortunately, holly seedlings like the one shown in the second picture are not nearly as numerous!

GBFD.March15.5I have today planted out the rest of the Poppy ‘Swansdown’ (left) grown from seed, and have been admiring that crinkly scrunched up foliage for a number of weeks – if the slugs find them now they won’t be admiring them for that long as they could disappear overnight (the poppies that is and not, despite wishful thinking, the slugs!). Equally worthy of admiration is the fresh foliage on all the early clematis, regular recent inspections having been made on the lookout for buds on the alpinas, many new last year and flowering eagerly anticipated – this one is Clematis alpina ‘Rosy Pagoda’:GBFD.March15.6There are already signs of activity in the buds on trees and shrubs so perhaps this will be a focus for next month, as spring will definitely be in full flow then. In the meantime do visit Christina’s blog to see her foliage this month and find links to foliage posts in other blogger’s gardens too.

 

 

This entry was posted in Garden Bloggers Foliage day, Gardening, Gardens. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Garden Bloggers Foliage Day: Fresh

  1. Christina says:

    Others have noticed the lovely pink new foliage on roses Cathy, I almost included mine too but didn’t want to repeat last year’s post. It is wonderful how the first true leaves on seedlings are easy to identify and also strange that the first two leaves of almost every other plant are the same! Your molucella look about the same size as mine. Thanks for so consistently joining GBFD.

  2. susan troccolo says:

    What miracles in our world. I remember my very first year as a gardener when I recognized a tomato seedling by its fuzzy little stalk and its powerful aroma. I was beside myself with happiness. Some may not know, but Portland, Oregon is called “The City of Roses.” -:))

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, these miracles of nature – and what joy they bring. I inspect the seedlings in my greenhouse 2 or 3 times a day to experience the sheer pleasure of all these little miracles. I didn’t know that about Portland – I assume there must be a particular reason it has this name?

  3. Great blog, I spend alot of time going around my plants at the moment seeing who is poking out of the soil and has survived another year. My favs at the moment are the Erythronium dog tooth violets with their spotty leaves and the hairy fuzzy Meconopsisi 🙂

  4. I really enjoyed your photos…My favorite time of year is when the first foliage pokes it’s head up through the ground.

  5. Anna says:

    Oh that dicentra(I can’t get my head round the new name either) is rather rosy Cathy. Which one is it please?

    • Cathy says:

      It’s just a ‘bog standard’ pink one, D spectabilis. Interestingly, I don’t think my ‘Alba’ has the rosy tint – must check that out.

  6. The first of the wood anemones are up here too, and this is The Year of the Rhubarb, i.e.I finally get to cut and eat some, can’t wait. Must go and see if my dicentra are reappearing yet. Well, maybe tomorrow, when it is light again!!

    • Cathy says:

      It always surprises me how early the dicentra are – and it never seems to take long from emergence to flowering either. No rhubarb here this year, sadly, as I have just replaced the ancient crowns – a shame, as I discovered last year how gorgeous ‘poached’ rhubarb was… Still, it should pay off in the long run

  7. Tina says:

    There’s little more beautiful than emerging foliage and you captured yours well. Love those of the “rhubarb” coloring.

  8. rickii says:

    Fun approach to a foliage post. Leaf shapes are endlessly fascinating, aren’t they?

  9. Kris P says:

    Oh no – Diecentra has a new name too?! The fresh foliage is just as exciting as the flowers in spring.

    • Cathy says:

      ‘Fraid so, Kris, although in this instance I am not quite sure why, as I can understand the amaryllis/hippeastrum case. I agree with you about its foliage though

  10. Amy says:

    It is fascinating about so many plants having red tones to the new foliage. And like you, I find it exciting to pick out the seedlings by their first true leaves 🙂 Sometimes – like Susan’s tomato! – the scent is enough to identify the seedling…

    • Cathy says:

      I don’t grow many veg and smell is not anything I have noticed with my flower seedlings – but yes, I have noticed it on tomatoes and rocket. Just another of those little miracles…

  11. Cathy says:

    Lovely to look at seedlings too, as they look like perfect models of their parents without any of the nibbled or blemished leaves. It’s still too early here, but nonetheless I will be out looking for my dicentra shoots later now that I have seen yours!

  12. Pauline says:

    You have such a lot of wonderful new growth, it’s a marvellous time of year isn’t it when everything starts growing again! I haven’t started any seedlings yet, you are far more organised than I am!

    • Cathy says:

      The new growth rushes up on you at this time of year, doesn’t it?! I have learned from previous years sowings, Pauline, so I am hopeful of better success this year

  13. wellywoman says:

    Great photos. I love the collection of seedlings – brings a smile to my face. 🙂

  14. Alas, everything in my garden is buried under an overnight snowfall. That rose leaf is so beautiful I did not even recognize it. And I am with you on Dicentra. I am not going to bother to learn the name at this point. I understand the changes but can’t keep up with them anymore.

    • Cathy says:

      More snow – oh I am so sorry Linda 😦 We have had so little in this part of the UK – really just a sprinkling, and I think it is unlikely we will get any more now. Rose foliage is gorgeous, isn’t it?

Something to say after reading this?

