Eclipsed

Eclipsed 20-03-2015 10-21-57With each
Ray of sun,
Each small
Mercurial rise,
Each drop
Of gentler rain
Another bud appears
And swells,
Another leaf bursts out,
Unfurls.
Stems push higher
Skywards
Every day,
When light
And dark meet
As equals,
When Spring
Makes her
Official entrance
And snowdrops
Are at last
Eclipsed
By hellebores.

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens, Poetry, Spring and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Eclipsed

  1. Bit of an anticlimax here in London. Your pictures are much more enjoyable to look at!

  2. Christina says:

    Clever, love the images. I’m on Rome today, lovely sunshine and a museum visit, missed the eclipse so nice to see yours!

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Christina – you didn’t miss a lot with the eclipse, nothing like the 1999 one! Glad you had sunshine for your visit (even if you were in a museum some of the time!) – probably the sunniest day of the year here, after an early overcast start. A real spring day, in fact!

  3. bittster says:

    Nice! Spring has arrived for you hasn’t it 🙂

  4. johnvic8 says:

    Very creative use of images and prose. I am going to have to determine how you did it.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks John. The photos were already edited in Picasa so I made them into a collage using graduated sizes of each, then cropped the finished collage (again in Picasa) to get the placing I needed to fit next to the poem. Once inserted in WordPress I just had to adjust the sizing – so it was just a bit of fairly simple manipulation really and not as taxing as some of the effects I try to achieve! 🙂 Hope it sounds as simple to you 😉

  5. Christina, please say hello to Roma for me! Wonderful poem, I will remember “eclipsed by hellebores” because it came as such a nice surprise at the end. Fabulous pics!

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks, Susan. I am glad the hellebores surprised you as I like my poems to have a twist to them sometimes – they weren’t a surprise to me though!

  6. Cathy says:

    Love that Cathy – especially the last line! Perfect for today. I didn’t have the glasses to watch the eclipse but I did notice the dimming of the sunlight and it was quite eerie…

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Cathy. It didn’t really darken here and there was no change in bird activity, which I would have expected – but we did have clear skies unlike many other oparts of the UK so it was just visible with my impromptu ‘pinhole in card’!

  7. Maria F. says:

    Simply beautiful.

  8. How clever! Love the poem and the layout. It doesn’t seem that simple to me!
    We had clear skies here, for the eclipse. Did you? But it did mean, that because we didn’t have the right glasses, it was too bright to make anything out, even using the iPad. But it did get darker and much colder at the time. Still an amazing experience!

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Ali. Yes, it was clear here but it hadn’t really warmed up enough to get colder and I don’t think it got any darker either. I did punch a hole in a piece of card and it was surprisingly easy to make it out through the tiny hole, considering how hard it was to notice the effect without it.

      • Aah! So that’s how to do it! Must remember that for next time! 😉

        • Cathy says:

          I always thought it was purely to protect your eyes so was astonished at how clearly I could make it out through the tiny hole – the 1999 one was a total eclipse and there seemed to be plenty of those glasses around so I haven’t used the pinhole trick since the …er… 1950s. I remember the card and pinhole and warnings about not looking at the sun, but nothing else – and I wouldn’t have had a clue what an eclipse was then anyway!

Something to say after reading this?

