Garden Bloggers Blooms Day: The Others

IMG_4402I could so easily have filled this post with snowdrops and hellebores, but instead it has been declared a S******* and H******** Free Zone for GBBD this month, a meme kindly hosted by Carole at May Dreams Gardens. Follow the link to her blog to find other links to garden blooms around the world.

With no garden at the front of the house, I often neglect to photograph what is growing in the baskets and the little raised bed next to the front door – but now we have the sudden appearance of flowers on my grown-from-seed violas and a fat bud on Narcissus ‘Rip Van Winkle’ they deserve to be featured today. The raised bed is full of Narcissi Tête-a-Tête, flowering their socks off, although the photograph below is off them under the apple tree at the back. It is not often that they and the crocus are in flower at the same time but the Tête-a-Tête have just caught the tail end of the latter so that has been good to see.

IMG_4394IMG_4372Hamamelis ‘Spanish Spider’ scurried into this picture too, one of 4 witch hazels still flowering, their season having extended from December this season. The Crocus tommasinianus ‘Barrs Purple’ suffered from half an inch of overnight rain on Thursday night, but they have been glorious this year and adding more would do no harm whatsoever. I don’t think I will add any more white crocus to the hedge border where these Snow Bunting are easily dug up by the squirrel and where they look a little lost in the bare soil, unlike the pretty Iris ‘Katherine Hodgkin’ in the shrub border which I showed in my last post.

GBBD.March15.1Suddenly appearing in the last day or two are the first flowers on various pulmonaria, all unnamed except for ‘Sissinghurst White’ (the white one!):

GBBD.March15.2I love all pulmonaria whether named or not, both the flowers and leaves. I also love to see the clumps of primroses appear and although not as fond of the native primrose’s brighter and brasher cousins I do like the splash of colour they give at this time of year, particularly before the birds spot them and destroy the flowers:

GBBD.March15.3Flowers are just beginning to appear on the daphne I bought from Hodsock Priory last month, Daphne mezereum ‘Rubra’….

IMG_4401…whereas winter flowering honeysuckle Lonicera fragrantissima has been in flower since before Christmas and just gets better and better…

IMG_4396IMG_4398Not making such an impact but nevertheless very pleasing is the humble comfrey, Symphytum ‘Hidcote Blue’, which produces flowers off and on throughout the year. There were only a couple of flowers when I featured it in a miniature vase last month but it has a good sprinkling of them now – this is such a great groundcover plant and I don’t find it invasive at all.

See – there is definitely more than s******s and h********s in my garden in March!

This entry was posted in Garden Bloggers Blooms Day, Gardening, Gardens. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Garden Bloggers Blooms Day: The Others

  1. Oh how I wish I could “enter” something but am still celebrating the fact that at long last I can see a patch of muddy grass! LOL at the S- and H-free Zone! Thanks for the photo of Lonicera fragrantissima and reminder of its lovely fragrance. It usually started blooming for me in early February in my previous garden (sited against a south wall). Wouldn’t be doing so this winter though, that is for sure. 🙂

  2. Great post. Your garden is definitely awakening for spring and it is so nice to see all the colorful blooms. The buds on your Lonicera fragrantissima are also very welcomed sight at this time of year. The garden here is just starting to show signs of spring within the past week with bulbs breaking the soil, making your blooms very encouraging! Happy GBBD!

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Lea – even though I am aware these days that there will always be something flowering in the garden the pace of change in early spring is something special. Hope your garden throws off the bedclothes soon!

  3. hoehoegrow says:

    Lots of lovely flowers to enjoy in your garden, and I particularly love that pure white pulmonaria ‘Sissinghurst White’ and it is one I will be looking for. All my Pulmonarias are also unnamed and are self set all around the garden. I do, however, have ‘Blue Ensign’ which is the most glorious clear shade of cornflower blue, and I love it unreservedly !

    • Cathy says:

      SW seems to take longer to get established than some and I am sure I have tried it unsuccessfully in the past. I do have Blue Ensign somewhere too – can’t remember where though!

  4. Pauline says:

    Your honeysuckle is beautiful, such a pretty flower at this time of year. Spring has certainly arrived in your garden, what a wonderful time of year it is! I too have some bright and brash Primulas, but I try to keep the, away from my wild primroses otherwise all sorts of muddy colours might arrive, they do brighten the garden though.

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, that’s an interesting thought about the primulas, although my wild ones aren’t in the same part of the garden – not that that will necessarily make any difference!

  5. Liz says:

    Hi Cathy,

    Definitely more to see than just H and S… My Pulmonaria ‘sissinghurst white’ aren’t even beginning to appear yet. Each year they look completely dead with just some stumpy dead growth remaining, but they always surprise me by popping up at the last minute just as I begin to lose hope of them appearing. However, my blues have had buds for a few weeks now, but still no flowers.

    Odd you should mention the primroses being attacked by birds; I’ve never experienced it here (although my vulgaris seem to have died) but my nan had them doing it. She doesn’t often have flowers in her garden but one year she decided she wanted some pots and such, planted various spring plants and the birds destroyed all the primrose flowers! I think she blamed the Sparrows, but I have a lot of sparrows but don’t have the same problems.

    • Cathy says:

      That’s interesting Liz – I have never actually seen the birds doing it but the ones nearer the house always get destroyed… It’s fascinating watching pulmonarias come to life, isn’t it?

  6. The winter flowering honeysuckle looks like it will be stunning! Will it retain a darkish pink/mauve color? I had a funny thought when you banned hellebores and snowdrops from your post today. When I was a gardener just starting out, I thought that my flowers were all sooo very special. I didn’t know that they were the same all over the world! It makes me want to try and see them with beginner’s eyes, you know? In a way, it’s kind of emotional thinking about people in like zones having the same wonderful flower experiences.

    • Cathy says:

      🙂 Banned is quite a strong word to use – I just didn’t want to bore people or upset them by the sight of my beautiful hellebores and snowdrops…again…. Sharing gardening experience across the world has indeed been a real eye opener

  7. Anna says:

    Well I would have been more than happy to look at piccies of snowdrops Cathy especially as most of mine have gone over now. We had that same heavy rainfall on Thursday – there were some huge puddles the next day. My pulmonarias have just been getting into gear this last week too – like you I love them all too 🙂

    • Cathy says:

      I may share another snowdrop or two yet, Anna, although my specials are on their way out too – there will definitely be more hellebores though!

  8. Chloris says:

    I love pulmonarias too and although you start off with named varieties they soon seed around and you have all different ones. I have lots of colourful primroses which my friends think are very vulgar, but I love them. After a long Winter we are starved off bright colours.
    I think we would all be happy to see more H and S.

    • Cathy says:

      Several of mine DID have labels, which were lost in the mists of time, more’s the pity. There was an interesting article about primroses in the RHS magazine this month – did you see it? I was given a very blue one for a present a couple of years ago which I am hoping will be in flower soon

  9. Christina says:

    Lots to show for GBBD this month Cathy; I don’t think yoou have to spare us the Hellebores yet, I love seeing all the different colours.

  10. Amy says:

    Like Chloris, I admit to loving brash primroses! Also your pulmonaria look wonderful 🙂 I can’t help asking about growing the violas from seed; how difficult are they? I’m always in two minds about it as the seeds are often a little pricey, whereas the plugs are so cheap! But growing from seed would give more options, and they always look so tempting in the seed catalogs…

    • Cathy says:

      They were surprisingly easy, Amy – and I bought my viola seeds from eBay. They germinated well and quickly bulked up when pricked out and potted on. I planted most out in the autumn but kept some back in the greenhouse just in case.

  11. rickii says:

    I was starting to OD on your banned blossoms, so this focus on everything but is like a breath of fresh (spring) air.

  12. So many things to look at even leaving out those that will not be mentioned here! Lovely.

Something to say after reading this?

