A Quick Tree Update

IMG_4341 IMG_4343IMG_4340There is little change on the tree I am watching for Lucy’s Loose and Leafy meme, but the pretty flowers on the Hamamelis ‘Amethyst’ are now past their best and will gradually shrivel and die like those on ‘Magic Fire’ (left) which started flowering earlier. Last month I referred to the clusters of 3 buds, wondering if they always occurred in threes – but watching them open I realised that each group of three open to form the one flower. How had I not noticed that before?!

Observing on a month to month base and comparing the different witch hazels has been such a useful experience as it has made me more aware of other things too – like the relative flowering times. Some were beginning before Christmas this season, whilst others kept me waiting but are still full in flower now, like ‘Arnold Promise’ and ‘Ruby Glow’:

IMG_4334IMG_4335

Much observation has been reserved for H ‘Zuccariniana’ which seemed to have suffered from last year’s dry summer, but scratching the bark confirmed it was indeed still alive and two flower buds have gradually developed and are just opening. Along with new leaf buds it looks as if more new flower buds are also beginning to form but, if so, are they for this season, or next? Rubbish photos I’m afraid, so no close-ups of these buds, but perhaps all will be clear when I join in the meme next month. Could flowering just be really delayed this year? In the meantime do go over to Lucy’s blog to see what is happening to other people’s trees this month.

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens, monthly tree post and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to A Quick Tree Update

  1. Lea says:

    Witch Hazel blooms so early it says Spring is just around the corner!

  2. I find small new trees hard to photograph too….I am hopeful mine will flower this year. Actually I just hope it has survived the constant battering from this winter.

  3. susan troccolo says:

    I’m still amazed by your discussion of Witch Hazels. I don’t believe I’ve ever seen one. Their flowers are very interesting looking, almost tropical. I’ll google it now, but how much shade do you expect this tree to provide once full grown? I assume it is in a part of the garden that won’t mind a shade tree above. I wish I could say the same for mine—so many big-leafed Maples and Pin Oaks that are now three stories tall, beautiful to be sure, but it has effected my sun. Fortunately, all of the vegetable bed is in full sun.

    • Cathy says:

      It won’t produce any shade at all as they are not dense trees at all – very open indeed. We have, however had to cut down various self seeded hazels and hollies which we welcomed at first as young trees, plus the couple of trees we took down from the little woodland I planted. I love trees, but a completely shady garden is another thing altogether! Will you take out any of yours?

  4. susan troccolo says:

    Oh, a P.S., the home in the background of the last photo is so very charming.

    • Cathy says:

      I had to check back to see what you meant – my little treehouse, miniature of course! It looks very lopsided in that picture – I must go and check it is not falling out of the tree!

    • susan troccolo says:

      Just reading this again Cathy. Even with all the trees, the vegetable gardens and the Perennial flower beds are all in full sun, so that is a blessing!

  5. Tina says:

    That’s the great thing about following a tree–you notice! It’s funny how a plant can reside in your garden, maybe for years and unless you specifically watch it, what you miss. I love the witch hazels that are grown in the UK, so lovely.

  6. Cathy says:

    It’s a fascinating meme, isn’t it, Cathy? And an odd time of the year as we all assess what plants have ‘made it’ through the winter – and those that haven’t. Interesting to see the flowering sequences of the witch hazels too.

  7. Anna says:

    I do like the colour of ‘Ameythst’ 🙂

  8. I still haven’t decided yet on a planting site for my Hamamellis! Poor thing’s still flowering away in its pot! 😦

  9. Chloris says:

    Lovely to follow a Witch Hazel. It makes you pay attention to flowering times. My Arnold Promise is still flowering away and looking lovely. He is the latest by far to bloom.

    • Cathy says:

      I feel I am becoming intimately acquainted with all my witch hazels by doing so, Chloris! My AP is definitely not on the wane yet and I am feeling fairly confident now that H zuccariniana is just going to be VERY ‘late’….

  10. Lucy Corrander says:

    Because my laptop is only hit-and-miss-ingly working (and I still haven’t sorted out how it will be repaired) I’m late coming to this post. I imagine things will be different already!

Something to say after reading this?

