Fluttering By Wisley

IMG_4325It wasn’t difficult to capture Wednesday’s WW shot as the butterflies were sitting targets at Wisley, where the Golfer and I met up with Elder Daughter and The Poppet and where butterflies in the glasshouses have been a feature for several weeks. It was certainly a surreal experience having these fragile creatures fluttering around your head and ankles from all angles, but photographing them with their wings open to appreciate their full finery wasn’t always easy. Below we have an Achilles Morpho, a Scarlet Swallowtail and what I think, from then helpful RHS guide, must be a Citrus Swallowtail; to give an idea of scale the Achilles Morpho has a wingspan of approximately 100mm. However, it didn’t make much of an impression on The Poppet as she slept through it all…

butterfliesAs we were only down for the day we focussed the rest of our visit on areas of particular seasonal interest and were impressed by stands of Rubus cockburnianus, highly attractive but needing a setting like this to appreciate them:

IMG_4318 IMG_4319The Golfer thinks we have a large fatsia, but it’s nothing like this one:

IMG_4321I had to zoom in with my camera to see what sort of viburnum this was, with its beautiful jewel-like berries (Viburnum betulifolium):

IMG_4315I wonder how many of those who have treated themselves to ‘Anna’s Red’ have labelled it as Helleborus Rodney Davey Marbled Group ‘Anna’s Red’, as it was here:

IMG_4322A trio of Daphne bholua ‘Jacqueline Postill’ should perhaps have their own security guard as they are currently impossible to buy:

IMG_4324Smaller versions of this stunning Edgeworthia chrysantha seemed to be flying off the shelves in the plant centre, but it was the first time I had come across it and haven’t decided what to make of it yet:

IMG_4330I haven’t been to Wisley at this time of year before and having ED living fairly near makes seasonal visiting viable and RHS membership even more worthwhile – so a good day out all round!

IMG_4327

 

This entry was posted in art in the garden, Gardens, Visiting gardens & days out and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Fluttering By Wisley

  1. Pauline says:

    Having relatives near Wisley makes it so easy for visiting! The butterflies are so beautiful but it can be a challenge photographing them.
    The Rodney Davy in the name of H.Anna’s Red, is the man who owns the nursery RD Plants and Anna’s Red is one of his hybrids, the nursery is about half an hour from us near Axminster.

  2. Helen Johnstone says:

    Thanks for sharing. I went this time last year and enjoyed my visit. I didnt go into the butterflies though as all that fluttering around freaks me out, especially the larger one! pathetic I now.

    We were discussing the other day at the HPS meeting about Jaqueline Postil being hard to find, apparently it is hard to propagate even by tissue culture. I am on the look out for one.

    • Cathy says:

      I was told at Bluebell Nurseries last year that scarcity of JP was a propagation issue but I had forgotten the details, so it was interesting to read about your HPS discussion ps I have learned over the years to respect all phobias, Helen…

  3. croftgarden says:

    Edgeworthia is a stunning plant and I’m sure you can squeeze one in somewhere. If it will grow for you, you won’t regret it.

  4. Brian Skeys says:

    Thanks for the tour of Wisley. I wish we lived closer to a RHS garden, they are suppose to be looking for one here in the Midlands.

    • Cathy says:

      Oh I hadn’t heard that Brian – I suppose in the Midlands we are as far away from them all as we could be, except for our Scottish neighbours that is. It would make sense to take over some existing garden I suppose – is it a recent discussion, or just a vague suggestion?

  5. Chloris says:

    A lovely look at Wisley, I would love to see the butterflies. Rubus cockburnianus is lovely but horribly invasive.
    I have tried the gorgeous Edgeworthia twice and both times it died, killed by frost. It is so expensive to buy that I am reluctant to risk it again.
    Lucky you having ED and baby living so close.

  6. Kris P says:

    It must be wonderful to see all those butterflies close up. Perhaps the Poppet needs to visit when she’s a little older. Thanks for sharing your visit.

    • Cathy says:

      They are only about 20 minutes from Wisley and ED is considering membership as it is a pleasant place to visit even for non-gardeners (which at the moment she is!). The butterflies seem to be an annual event so yes, a return visit is more than likely at butterfly time!

  7. bittster says:

    Thanks for sharing the visit with us, and lucky for you to have it so close. The edgeworthia is an interesting thing but unfortunately not hardy for me. If it was I’d surely be tempted!

  8. Amy says:

    Wonderful post, Cathy! I am not sure why butterflies prefer to be photographed with their wings shut, but it always seems they do! That viburnum must be lovely. I would like to think of growing plants with berries a little more…

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Amy – I was surprised to see all those berries at the beginning of March and assume they don’t appeal to birds otherwise they would have been gobbled up ages ago

  9. What a lovely day out, and so lucky that you can do it so often. (Hope ED likes gardening too!) The “Anna’s Red” that I bought recently was labelled up that way, but, to me, she’ll always be “Anna”! Edgworthia is a shrub I’ve hankered after for a while, but I’m not sure where to plant it No space, no space! I’m sure I’ll succumb and worry about that small detail later. (It’s called gardener’s restraint!) I’ve seen it at nearby Stone House Cottage Garden, (sadly not when in flower!) so I know where I can get one.

    • Cathy says:

      ED is not yet a gardener (small garden and dogs – and now a baby) but I would hope that in time she and/or her sister will develop the same enthusiasm I have! She is still happy to stroll round Wisley some of the times we go down to visit her. I enjoyed the visit to Stone House we had a few years ago – on your doorstep, you say?

  10. Lovely blog about Wisley visit, I hav eonly been there once and that was a long time ago! Edgworthia is a beautiful and curious plant. i first saw it in Ireland. We used to sell it at the nursery I worked in until last year, but it needed a lot of protection here in central Scotland.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks for your kind comments. Several people have mentioned the tenderness of the Edgeworthia, so I hope there won’t be a lot of disappointed purchasers, tempted by the performance of the one at Wisley… 😉

  11. Katie B says:

    Looks like a gorgeous trip, those butterflies were just waiting to be photographed! I was hoping to visit Wisley in springtime, there’s so much to see!

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Katie. The first time we went we tried to see too much, so it was good to concentrate on just one aspect (and the butterflies) this time. Different areas will peak at different times

  12. Anna says:

    Sounds as if you had a fabulous day out Cathy. I’d be on the outside with Helen as I can’t cope being enclosed with flying creatures be they butterfly or bird wimp that I am. My ‘Anna’s Red’ has the shorthand label as does her sister ‘Penny’s Pink’. How old is the Poppet now? Is she crawling/walking?

    • Cathy says:

      Are you OK with butterflies and birds outside Anna? I know people who can’t take being anywhere near any bird. The P is nearly 10 months and is just developing a crawl now – still a little dot like her Grannie and Auntie though!

  13. Annette says:

    Neither have I but it’s always worth a visit with the varied plantings and perfectly maintained borders. Glad you’ve had an enjoyable day out with your family, Cathy. Have a good week! PS: The dragon sends his best wishes…waking up and looking very happy 😉

    • Cathy says:

      Oh I am so pleased the dragon is doing well – it is so good to be able to share plants with fellow bloggers like this. Your cerinthe and sweet pea seeds are doing really well, having been planted a month ago.

  14. Pingback: People, Places and Projects: Remembering 2015 | Rambling in the Garden

Something to say after reading this?

