End of Month View: Getting Ready to March

February always seems to be over in a rush, those few less days somehow making a big difference, and now it’s time for a quick monthly overview, kindly hosted by Helen at Patient Gardener. I have found it a great way of keeping a regular photographic record of the garden as a whole and often check back on previous year’s EOMV posts to compare times of flowering. It has also illustrated that there is always something going on, something to be quietly or enthusiastically excited about – currently the onset of more spring blooms to join the earlier snowdrop specials, and the native snowdrops coming towards their peak.

From the back of the house the view across the paved area also encompasses the flotsam and jetsam arising from work on the raised bed for the snowdrop specials – block paviors, rope edges and sections of the little picket fence which had been at the back of the border. In the tubs, tulips are pushing their way through and new foliage is unfolding on the roses.

IMG_4268To the right of this area, the streamside grass and the shrub border are resplendent in Crocus  tommasinianus, mostly ‘Barr’s Purple’, the milder temperatures of the last couple of days really bringing them forward. Seeing them in profusion like this I realise how attractive they look next to the grasses in the shrub border, making me change my mind about moving them all to the streamside.

IMG_4269The woodland is displaying several clumps of primrose with lots of bluebell foliage showing too but no sign of wood anemones yet:

IMG_4270Bill’s chimney in the bothy gives a good view over the main borders.These and the blue & white borders are the last areas of the garden that need forking over and compost added to them and hopefully this can be achieved this week now the raised bed is completed.

IMG_4271The view standing in front of the main borders, with all the hosta pots in the foreground – I wonder if hosta is on the slugs’ menu this year?

IMG_4272The recently purchased clematis were planted out yesterday, most of them in the clematis colonnade. There are definite gaps in the hardy geraniums at their feet, something to be remedied later in the year:

IMG_4274The woodland edge border is moving towards its period of spring abundance, with the common snowdrops all opening up and the hellebores starting to make a statement. Hamamelis ‘Arnold Promise’ is still in full flower in the foreground of the last photo and on the left in this one:

IMG_4273The same border from the other end:

IMG_4275The left and right bold borders with various new shoots emerging. Although I have already reduced the size of clumps of crocosmia I have read advice since then which suggests dismantling the clumps altogether to rejuvenate them, so they may be re-tackled in due course.

IMG_4277IMG_4276Leaving the greenhouse, fruit cage and cutting beds for other posts, we move on to the blue & white borders also with various new shoots emerging:

IMG_4278Like the pots on the paved area there is plenty of evidence of fresh foliage emerging on the roses in the rose garden, and the availability of bags of slate chippings again at JTF meant I could get the areas next to the ‘bus shelter’ here tidied up:

IMG_4279IMG_4280

 

 

 

 

Back towards the house is the special snowdrop bed, already featured this week, and the hedge border with a few Crocus ‘Snow Bunting’ in flower:

IMG_4263IMG_4281

And that’s it for February 2015. To see how the various sections of the garden fit together don’t forget that there is a map (under The Garden tab above) to help you get your bearings – and thanks once again to Helen for hosting the meme. Do look at her blog for links to other bloggers’ gardens and what is happening in them today.

This entry was posted in End of Month View, Gardening, Gardens. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to End of Month View: Getting Ready to March

  1. Brian Skeys says:

    Thank you for the end of the month tour of your garden. I do like the fence/trellis to the right of your summer house in the first photo. I think slugs will always like Hostas!

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Brian. All the woodwork is made to my exacting requirements by the Golfer – I would have preferred horizontal rather sloping slats, but it made it more practical for attaching the structure to the sitooterie. Eventually the Rural England rambling roses planted at the base should grow overhead too ps I am sure you are right about the slugs – but I am hoping last year was just a particularly bad year 😦

  2. rickii says:

    This is a good time to get a look at all the hardscaping that gives your garden its good “bones”.

  3. Pauline says:

    You’re a lot further on tidying up than I am, I must make more of an effort! Your woodland border with lots of snowdrops looks lovely, but then I would say that wouldn’t I? You certainly look as though you are ready for all the exuberance of spring, it won’t be long now!

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, we particularly like our woodland borders, don’t we?! It helps having hard paths around the garden as I can ramble round it regardless of the weather – and there are ‘stepping stones’ through the woodland border so that is accessible too. I love the gradual build up to spring with the witch hazels, then snowdrops, then hellebores and so on….

  4. rusty duck says:

    Lovely to see your witch hazels still going strong, mine have long since given up the ghost.

    • Cathy says:

      They started flowering at different times, so some are finishing – overall it looks as I will have them flowering over a 3 month period or so. Lovely!

  5. I love looking back at your map as you take us through the various areas/rooms Cathy. I really love the look of hardscape and structure in each area as it is bare right now. You get a sense of such wonderful creativity there even before the plants and blooms show up.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Donna – and for some reason this winter is the first time I have really appreciated the structure in its own right. There may seem to be a lot of hard landscaping but I like to think it pulls it all together

  6. christina says:

    Dear Cathy, I truly enjoyed seeing the photos from your garden at the end of February! I think the grey/blue color that you painted many garden structures with is such a good choice for your garden. I also admire the many garden rooms with different themes that you have created. They make your garden very interesting and also very diverse. There seems to be always something new to discover. I think my favorite view today is the one of the woodland border. The cheerful snowdrops are simply irresistible to me! Thanks for the garden tour! Warm regards,
    Christina

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks for all your kind comments. I do love the woodland edge border – and it needs little attention, which is even better, although I do divide these snowdrops regularly and cut back spent foliage of other perennials or deadhead as required. The stain is Cuprinol Heritage Garden Shades in ‘Wild Thyme’. It took a lot of testing different colours but as soon as I tried this one I knew it was perfect.

  7. You have been busy! You’re making me so ashamed! Your garden looks so interesting, Cathy, with all its lovely, different areas and “bits and pieces”. The Woodland Edge border is looking fabulous just now!

    • Cathy says:

      I do like my bits and pieces, Ali – there is more to a garden than just plants, isn’t there? The woodland edge border at its best can be stunning and is one of my favourite parts of the garden.

  8. Annette says:

    Your woodland looks just fab, Cathy! So much variety in a rather small place, well done. Do you think the slate mulch will deter the slugs? Have you tried it before? By the way, February has always been the longest month of the year for me and I’m sooo glad it’s over! Hello to spring 🙂

    • Cathy says:

      Sorry February is not a good month for you – but it is done and dusted now, so upwards and onwards!! I added the slate to the hosta pots last year and it was an awful time for slugs after the wet winter, so no, it doesn’t, but it looks nice!

  9. Anna says:

    I enjoyed your EOMV Cathy. Your woodland border is looking rather gorgeous. Now February is over the garden is really on its starting blocks. Hope that you are having a good weekend and that you have better weather than we have this afternoon.

    • Cathy says:

      Rain and hail this afternoon, Anna, after a bright but blustery morning – I was out elsewhere this afternoon so hadn’t planned any gardening jobs fortunately! The hellebores in the woodland edge are surprising me with new flowers on a daily basis so I might do a WW round up of their pretty faces

  10. Helen Johnstone says:

    I think your new raised bed is a triumph and your woodland border looks good already. Thanks for joining in with the meme again

    • Cathy says:

      It’s such a useful meme, Helen, and I often look back on previous months and years to check on something so I really appreciate you hosting it as I know from hosting In a Vase on Monday how much time this can take.

  11. ceres says:

    A very interesting “walk” around your garden, I really like all the wee rooms and different areas, my favourite kind of garden. Once I get my own garden again, that exactly the colour I was planning to paint the wood work 🙂

    • Cathy says:

      Aw thanks, Ceres – sometimes I try to look at it objectively, but it’s not easy! It took me ages to find the right colour for the woodwork, but I wouldn’t use anything else now. Sorry you are without a garden for the time being 😦

  12. Chloris says:

    I enjoyed the tour of your garden Cathy. It is such an exciting time of the year isn’ t it with more and more treasures coming out? My Arnold Promise is looking great now, I am so glad I have it to extend the Witch Hazel season. I went to Anglesey Abbey again yesterday and Hamamelis ‘Barmstedt Gold’ was looking absolutely wonderful. I think I need it.

    • Cathy says:

      Oh it is indeed, and of course we now see the advantage of some witch hazels beginning to flower ‘late’ – my AP is in full flow too, but some of the others are over. My desire to add another witch hazel this year has been put on hold ever since you showed us your probably mislabelled Vesna and said it looked like your old ‘Strawberries and Cream’ – S&C went instantly to the top of my wish list but will be a long time coming, I fear. I need it like you need ‘Barmstedt Gold’! See what you have done, Chloris…

  13. threadspider says:

    It is lovely to see your end of month view. My eye was caught by the beautiful colour on your wooden structures too- it pulls all the elements together as well as setting off the plants. I really like the early crocus, especially Barrs Purple and that gorgeous witch hazel. I looked at one last week but when I picked myself up after reading the price tag, I left it where I found it. I’ll try to find a smaller one! The map is a great idea.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Threadspider. That colour works really well – lets hope Cuprinol never drop it from their colour range! Witch hazels are slow growing so it’s certainly worth spending more than you would on other shrubs. My oldest one I have had for about 12 years and it may be about 1.5 m tall now, perhaps half that size when I bought it

Something to say after reading this?

