Digging Deep

IMG_4037Probably making for one of the most boring photos ever posted on this blog, I have now got to the bottom of the 2013 compost heap, no doubt turning up compost from several years prior to that in the process. Having already added barrowfuls of this heap to the new shrub border and the extension to the bold borders as they were being created, the majority of the rest has been bagged up for easier distribution around the garden.

IMG_4038Today’s final effort was used today to mulch round most of the roses and clematis, which will hopefully thank me for it. After a week of negative overnight temperatures and chilly days this next week promises an improvement and although only reaching about 6ºC this afternoon it felt more than that and made for a good couple of hours muck shifting and general pottering. Combined with the noticeable longer days it provided more than just a hint that we are nearer spring than a few weeks ago – various bulbs certainly think so too, with allium, tulips, narcissi, crocus and ranunculus pushing their way happily out of the soil (as well as all those snowdrops of course!).

This entry was posted in bulbs, corms and tubers, Gardening, Gardens and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Digging Deep

  1. ann noble says:

    its been a good day for moving compost about, a bit of sunshine makes you feel like spring cant be far away

  2. sweetpea2love says:

    Hello there, well I might be an odd bird, but I do love seeing compost being put to a good use and I’m sure your flowers are overjoyed as well .. Happy gardening to ya, from Laura ~

    • Cathy says:

      Hurrah for compost! It never ceases to amaze me that it is the end product of all those banana skins and vegetable peelings 😉

      • sweetpea2love says:

        Hiya Cathy, I know … it still amazes me after a long winter to go out in the spring and look at my compost bin and see everything composted beautifully, and it’s ready for gardening.. lowers the cost of buying garbage bags too.. (and no stinky garbage can either) always a bonus.. Take care and happy blogging from Laura ~

        • Cathy says:

          Thanks Laura. In the UK we have wheelie bins for ‘green waste’ where I put perennial weeds, hedge trimmings, small branches – and excess leaves too. I have always recycled what I can, so they are a great resource to have.

          • sweetpea2love says:

            Cathy, that sounds wonderful.. I love the name wheelie bins… I must make a sign for my compost bin and call it that.. awesome…
            Take care and happy blogging to ya, from Laura ~

  3. Well, it may seem boring to some, but to a gardener, it is pure beauty. Working the soil is what we do. I love your pictures. I have called it “Doing unto your Dirt.” in some of my essays.

  4. Pingback: WORLD ORGANIC NEWS | Digging DeepWORLD ORGANIC NEWS

  5. Loretta says:

    I do believe gardeners love the sight of compost, and I’m surely loving yours. How large is your bin for composting?

    • Cathy says:

      This one is probably about 4ft by 2.5 ft. Now it is empty I can start filling it and leave 2014’s (similar size) to rot down. I don’t turn the compost at all, just leave it for a year – it is such a wonderful process, the way it breaks down. I love it 🙂

  6. I “accidentally” began composting leaves in a wheeled, plastic trash container. It has a lid with a small hole in it. After mowing the leaves late in the fall I stuffed the whole can full to “do something with later”. When I opened the barrel (wondering what might be inside! duh) they were almost fully composted and the aroma was heavenly! There’s just something fresh and renewing about compost.

    • Cathy says:

      Oh yummy – leaf mold is possibly even more exciting than compost 🙂 I have various black bags with last year’s leaves, not fully composted yet.

  7. Kris P says:

    It’s always wonderful to have an ample supply of homemade compost on hand. I inherited a large compost tumbler with the house but even it can’t keep up with my needs so I have to resort to buying bagged stuff from the nursery as well but it’s never the same.

  8. It is things like composting that makes any garden flourish…It is great to see anyone go the distance and do it right. You set a very good example.

  9. You’very definitely worked off the Christmas excesses! I must go and lift the lid on our bins and see what they hold.

  10. Brian Skeys says:

    It looks as if both you and the garden will be starting the new year in good shape Cathy.

  11. Helen Johnstone says:

    I got Hugh satisfaction from emptying one of my bins earlier this year. I was only thinking the other day rest I ought to have a go at emptying the others.

Something to say after reading this?

