Greenhouse Exposure

IMG_3967Julie at Peonies and Posies is intending to post monthly about her greenhouse and its contents and has invited other bloggers to join her, usually around the 10th  of the month. I thought it might encourage me to start re-organising my greenhouses if I joined her so here is what is happening in my greenhouses at the moment, no holds barred.

The larger 6 x 8 greenhouse is as it was when the tomatoes and peppers were taken down and composted, with the canes, pots and holes in the greenhouse border exactly as they were left. The only change is the addition of some small fuchsias rescued from pots this week, which I hope to overwinter for the third time – although admittedly they did not flower very well last year.

IMG_3969The smaller 6 x 4 greenhouse, cut down from the larger one we bought a year ago, has proved invaluable, providing space for potting on and sowing new seeds last year when the bigger one was stuffed with fruity things. As it is smaller and would prove easier to keep warm if necessary this is where all the seedlings and young plants are at the moment. The paraffin heater has been abandoned after its short trial and The Golfer has rigged up a new power point so the tubular heater can be used as required to keep it frost free.

Currently growing here are Sweet William, centaurea, poppy, teucrium and some pansies, all started from seed in the autumn, sweet peas started a little later and trays of tiny Californian poppy, clary, Ammi visnaga and bupleurum seedlings sown at the beginning of November. The only late sowing that suffered was a pennisetum, but I have hedged my bets with all of these and kept seeds back for a later sowing. Half of the centaurea, poppy and pansies were planted out some months back, but already the poppies have been enjoyed by slugs so again I am playing safe with those held back. All the young plants though are very healthy with great root systems and some could perhaps do with being potted on again, but I do wonder whether all the Sweet William could have been planted outside – autumn sowing is mostly a new experience for me so it is all a learning curve. One definite success is the use of cells for much of this late sowing, starting with 12 cell trays, and potting on to 9s or 6s – these have been bought on the internet in packs of 50 and have proved invaluable.

IMG_3970 IMG_3971 IMG_3972Also in this small greenhouse are some overwintering pelargoniums (which need to be cut back), some more fuchsia, pots of small alstroemeria which didn’t make it to being planted IMG_3977out last year, more pots of Paperwhites at varying stages of growth, two pots of hyacinths, a hellebore offshoot I was hoping might flower earlier (it hasn’t) and overwintering dahlia tubers tucked up to keep warmish. Maybe an odd waif or stray too – but writing this post has triggered the desire for some organisation, so the small plants and overwintering pots will now be moved to the larger greenhouse, leaving space for me to begin this year’s sowing – sorting out seeds being the next task. Thanks Julie, for facilitating this activity!

 

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens, greenhouse, seed sowing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Greenhouse Exposure

  1. johnvic8 says:

    Thanks for the update, Cathy. I am trying hard not to be jealous. I just don’t have the space for a greenhouse, but it’s interesting…and fun…to see how you are taking advantage of yours.

    • Cathy says:

      And it is only in very recent years that I have begun to take full advantage of having one, certainly in terms of seed sowing which I hadn’t really bothered with for a long time

  2. rusty duck says:

    I also envy you the space. I can hardly get in the greenhouse at the moment with all the things I keep stuffing in it to protect them from frost/rain/wind* delete as appropriate. The latest waif is a witch hazel I dug up as it was getting dark this evening as I fear I put it somewhere too wet.

    • Cathy says:

      I wonder if you have been able delete any of the frost/rain/wind today, Jessica! I have realised that witch hazels don’t like to get dry, but I am not sure about excess rain – they certainly need some sun though.

  3. Christina says:

    I have already been shifting things around in the greenhouse to make more space or although my greenhouse is large I was rather envious of your empty space, but it won’t last long once you start sowing flower seeds. I look forward to seeing your Paperwhites in a vase soon, I’m really kicking myself that I didn’t buy any this year!

  4. Anna says:

    I’m envious of that second greenhouse but much always wants more 🙂 I need to get into mine pronto and do so much overdue sorting and cleaning before the new season really kicks into touch.

    • Cathy says:

      Hmm, cleaning, now that’s a different issue…. ps have you space for another greenhouse? eBay or your local paper will always throw up a bargain, particularly if you are prepared to dismantle – the second one was only about £100 and far better quality than the first one!

  5. Brian Skeys says:

    You are brave Cathy with your greenhouse exposure, mine seems to become a dumping ground for every thing that may be useful in the future (Along with the potting shed). Thanks for the motivation to go and do some sorting out.

    • Cathy says:

      I am not going to pretend it’s any different, Brian – and it has motivated me to get on and do some moving things about (well, tomorrow, maybe!) 🙂

  6. Helen Johnstone says:

    Oh excellent, I’m glad someone is hosting a greenhouse meme, will try and remember to join in. I don’t know that blog so will go and check it out.

    • Cathy says:

      I know you thought about doing a greenhouse post regularly yourself – for any of us a meme is a good incentive to get ourselves organised in some way or another. I know I would like to do more planning ahead with mine, particularly now I have started autumn sowings.

  7. Chloris says:

    Yyou certainly are making the most of your greenhouse space. I am interested to see how your Autumn sown seedlings come on.

  8. You seem to have done really well with your Autumn sowing Cathy, and I second the cells comment, so useful, I always find that plant growth is slow enough that I can often get them out in the ground straight from the cells. Not this year though, its been so mild that the cuttings are going nuts, and I will soon have to be potting on seedlings too. Not sure if I will manage to join in another meme, with a year of fewer posts I risk never getting round to posting about anything other than memes, and I always feel dissatisfied by that, but I shall enjoy reading other people’s posts. I always learn loads that way.

  9. Julie says:

    Thank you so much Cathy for joining in and what a lot you have growing in your small greenhouse – you are clearly planning ahead for your vases! Your larger greenhouse is a lovely space – think of all the bulbs you could have growing in there right now that would make use of the space without interfering with your summer vegetables! I am looking forward to seeing how things change in the two greenhouses throughout the year.

    • Cathy says:

      I didn’t even consider using the greenhouse border for bulbs Julie – that’s an idea for next year. And although I fully intended to keep some tulips for pots for some reason I now realise I completely forgot 😉

  10. mossfighter says:

    A most enjoyable post, informative too. I’m a greenhouse novice and will join the meme to post on my progress and, inevitably, failures this coming year. My greenhouse arrives on Friday coming, 30/1/15, and I’ve previously posted on choosing it and getting the base laid. If you’d like to know about my escapades my blog link is here
    https://mossfighter.wordpress.com/
    with the greenhouse posts on the Gardening page.
    Here’s hoping I learn fast as I’ve never gardened in a greenhouse before.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks for commenting – although this is a new meme I am sure you will learn a lot from it as bloggers are very honest and supportive and will happily answer any queries if they can.

Something to say after reading this?

