Conventional Wisdom

IMG_3941-001The garden and I are still waiting patiently for the snowdrop specials to open up – several of them are in bud but none have yet braved the January weather to do so despite days of above average temperatures. ‘Ophelia’, one of the Greatorex doubles bred by Heyrick A Greatorex in the middle of last century, always fascinates me with those fat buds just waiting to open and reveal their frilly underwear. Greatorex crossed Galanthus nivalis ‘Floro Pleno’, a double form of the ‘common’ snowdrop, with Galanthus plicatus to produce a number of new varieties to which he gave the names of female characters from Shakespeare or other classical names. I also have (had) Dionysus and Hyppolyta but both have failed to thrive, more’s the pity.

Anyone who reads the comments left on my blog might have noticed one from Helen at Hodsock Priory, inviting me to a media and bloggers day during their special celebrations at the priory which is well known for its snowdrop displays (which we visited last year) and which is celebrating 250 years of ownership by the Buchanan in 2015. I contacted Helen to find out more but have not heard back yet and would be interested to know which other bloggers have been invited as it would be an opportunity to meet.

I have already got other visits in mind for this year which will bring opportunities to meet up with blogging friends, but I am well aware that if there was some sort of convention or get-together for garden bloggers in the UK I would be interested in joining in. As far as I know, however, there isn’t – so I have decided to put out tentative feelers to see if anyone else would be interested. Any suggestions or comments would be helpful, whether such an event could be one day or two, what people might like to do if there were such an event (visits, speakers, etc) – just general thoughts in the first instance, either in a comment or email. I’m game if you are!

This entry was posted in bulbs, corms and tubers, Gardening, Gardens, Visiting gardens & days out and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Conventional Wisdom

  1. Though we have a couple of these events here I have yet to attend…timing and distance, but they always seem such fun that I must get to one here someday.

  2. Julie says:

    Hi Cathy, are you on twitter and Facebook? There is a group called the Old Horts, they are “a group of like minded gardeners, interested in sharing their experiences” I believe Helen who writes The Patient Gardener blog is an active member and may be able to give you a better insight into this group. I think it might be what you are looking for as they do meet up in various gardens.

    • Cathy says:

      Hi Julie – thanks for that. I don’t ‘do’ Facebook or Twitter but I shall look into Old Horts although getting blogging friends together as a group really appeals

  3. hoehoegrow says:

    Loving those big fat buds and looking forward to viewing the ‘frilly underwear’.
    I like the idea of a garden blogger’s day, as the Portland ones seem so interesting.

  4. Anna says:

    Oh I imagine that those ‘drops will be tempted to open this weekend Cathy as it looks set to be even warmer. A lovely invitation from Hodsock – perhaps mine is still en route 🙂 I’m aware of Old Horts and intend to join at some point. Back in 2010 I was one of a number of garden bloggers who met at the Malvern Show in May which was a most enjoyable experience. It was lovely to put faces to names and chat plants with like minded souls. Will email you with more details over the
    weekend 🙂

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks in anticipation of your email Anna – and you were right about the snowdrops as some have taken the plunge today and opened up a little!

  5. I do love snowdrops…I wait all year for them to come again. It looks like you are getting close.

  6. Christina says:

    Meeting up is a fun idea, I would be prepared to come if I had enough notice, work permitting. This year I already have quite a lot of holidays planned (lucky me) but it would be great to meet at a garden when I’m in the UK to visit family.

  7. Chloris says:

    It would be great to all meet up somewhere , although where might be a problem as we come from places as far apart as Scotland and Devon. But still they manage it in America with even vaster distances. Nice plump buds you have there, I love snowdrop time, it is so exciting watching them all emerge.

  8. kate says:

    I like the idea of a meet-up too – wonder would be central enough?

    (But I only like the idea if people promise not to brag about their snowdrops, ;-), as mine are either being very shy or have been dug up by the Dog from Hell.)

    • Cathy says:

      Does anybody brag about snowdrops Kate? Surely not… 😉 Having asked the question about meeting up I shall let it brew for a little longer then take it from there

  9. rickii says:

    Getting together with fellow bloggers has been a total delight. We do it often locally, with a spring and fall plant swap and a few other spontaneous events in between. All it takes is a core group to get the ball rolling. The ‘Fling’ is a bigger undertaking, with bloggers from all over invited to participate. Most of the organizing for that goes through Facebook. It was in Portland last summer and we had people from UK, Canada, Italy and all over the US.

  10. Yes!! Yes, definitely, would love to get to meet up with fellow bloggers, loved meeting you (and the Golfer), and meeting up with Kate and Karen, but yes! I’m sure I saw somewhere a discussion about a potential UK Bloggers Fling at Sissinghurst, (http://www.awkwardhill.co.uk/2014/07/home-thoughts-from-abroad.html) but I’m not sure whether it is gaining any momentum.

    • Cathy says:

      I will look up the Sissinghurst fling thing but I would be happy to organise something a bit more central if need be. Yes -it was lovely to see you last year too and so many other bloggers feel like friends too even though I have never met them

  11. VP says:

    Hi, I’ll be at the Hodsock event, so see you there? I organised the blogger get together Anna mentioned. There’s been informal get togethers since, usually organised via Twitter. Old Horts organises get togethers too, for anyone interested in horticulture rather than just for garden bloggers. They’ve been great fun. I’ve been to a couple of the USA Flings too which are fab. They’re trying to persuade the UK to host the Fling in 2017 which is where the Sissinghurst reference comes in.

    • Cathy says:

      Good to hear from you and look forward to meeting you at Hodsock and talking about other things apart from snowdrops! I certainly don’t want to tread on anyone’s toes in terms of get togethers but I am happy to be involved in organising any such event 🙂

Something to say after reading this?

