Wordless Wednesday – Tree Following: Coming Out

IMG_3931IMG_3929

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

…and a word of thanks to Lucy at Loose and Leafy for hosting this monthly tree following meme!

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens, monthly tree post and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Wordless Wednesday – Tree Following: Coming Out

  1. Erika says:

    Pretty flowers. And curious.

  2. Chloris says:

    Your Amethyst out at last. How lovely. I think I have caught your compulsive witch hazel -buying disease.It is a very expensive addiction. I just bought Livia which looks very like this beauty.

    • Cathy says:

      Me, with a compulsive witch hazel buying disease? Whatever gives you that idea, Chloris? ๐Ÿ˜‰ Amethyst showed just spicks and specks a few days ago but the temperature must have risen enough since them for them to begin to unfurl – I am pleased that as they have done so they definitely are purple although they look as if they will be a little smaller than the flowers we are used to. I have looked up Livia and she seems to be a different colour in each illustration – how would you describe her apart from beautiful? I am waiting for a half price offer before my next purchase ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • Chloris says:

        I will show you a picture of her next week. She is gorgeous. Dark red with a touch of purple. Quite similar to Amethyst. It is funny how they vary. The nusery I went to had Jelena from 2 different suppliers and they were quite different.

        • Cathy says:

          Mmm, she does sound adorable, and she is not an H vernalis is she? Strange about those Jelena. I have admiring my Orange Peel today which I have had about 2 years and is establishing nicely and is a lovely orange, and last year’s Magic Fire which is SMOTHERED in blooms. Gorgeous!

  3. This is the first time I’ve seen witch hazel flowers–they are like strips of colored paper popping out at a birthday party! I suppose I can google them and learn all, but I’d love to know from your personal experience: where are they most happy? How big will they become? What a treat, thank you.

    • Cathy says:

      That is exactly what the flowers are like – a great description! They are thought of as woodland edge trees but prefer more sun than that really. They can grow 3 or 4 metres tall but are very slow growing, perhaps only a metre or two in 10 years, and can spread nearly as wide in time but are very open so don’t really cast shade. The flowers come before the leaves and in the coldest months of the year so are even more of a joy and there is good leaf colour in the autumn.

  4. Christina says:

    Very pretty; how many is it you have now????

    • Cathy says:

      Um, let me see….11, I think, but I hope to squeeze (not literally) another into the new shrub border, if I can get one at the right price… ;). I am still a little concerned at the lack of flower buds on one but perhaps it really is just late this year

  5. Anna says:

    How lovely Cathy and so different from the usual yellow/orange shades. I could be tempted ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Cathy says:

    Such a long time since I visited you Cathy. And lovely to see that ‘Amethyst’ is living up to it’s promise!

  7. What an unusual shade for a Witch Hazel! I love it! This may be the next one I try to grow – as long as it’s scented. I must find that out! The buds are gorgeous too.

  8. Amy says:

    Hurray! That is a lovely colour for late winter!

  9. rickii says:

    Oh dear, I may need to add that one.

  10. bittster says:

    What a great color. I’ve never seen anything with a purple shade to it in my neck of the woods. The yellow ones are hard enough to find and reds are special order.
    I’d be dangerous if I ever found myself amongst witch hazels during a half priced offer. I’m a little envious ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Cathy says:

      Sorry witch hazels are so hard to find in your part of the world. Fortunately for me it was not a half-price witch hazel sale but I had a half price voucher to use against ANY plant so did the sensible thing and bought a witch hazel rather than saving a pound or two on something smaller ๐Ÿ˜‰

  11. So unique, and so interesting.

  12. coastcard says:

    What a fabulous Amethyst jewel to brighten up these stark winter months! Happy New Year, Cathy!
    http://carolinegillwildlife.blogspot.co.uk/2015/01/tree-following-silver-birch-in-december.html

    • Cathy says:

      Hi Caroline – as Amethyst was new to me in early 2014 I was really pleased to see what her flowers were like. Not exactly the colour of amethysts, but definitely purple!

  13. Sara says:

    Hello from Southern California! I can see I will be learning a lot about trees this year, now that I have decided to follow a tree (at last). I am quite sure I have never seen a witch hazel, and am amazed at those unusual flowers. Can’t wait to learn more as the year progresses.

    • Cathy says:

      I was late joining the tree following too and chose my little witch hazel as it was new to me (I have others though) and it would make sure kept an eye on it! I believe Hamamelis virginiana is the native American witch hazel which grows much taller but this is H vernalis

Something to say after reading this?

