Surprises Come in Smaller Packages Too

IMG_3750… well, smaller than the big black cube anyway – and certainly a surprise, or at least the contents were. I had been expected a ‘postage only’ offer from Thompson and Morgan but not a label-less rose, pruning DVD and plant food, but I guess someone else was. An email and a return phonecall confirmed I could keep the contents and also identified the rose as ‘Queen Elizabeth’ whilst a look on their website suggested it was a Daily Mail offer that the unknown third party had ordered. Slight problem – where to put another rose, as I planted out nine new David Austin roses just a few weeks ago…

The ridiculously mild weather mid week with temperatures of 14 and 15ºC (in December..?!) brought some more surprises. After finding Harry’s unexpected shred on GBBD I felt a pang of guilt praising his merits when I found several blooms on Hamamelis ‘Jelena’ just a day later – maybe I missed them earlier, or perhaps they were encouraged by the balmy temperatures as several of the others have got into gear now too. Also shown are two of last year’s acquisitions, Hamamelis ‘Magic Fire’ and the more well known H pallida.

Jelenamagicfire.pallida

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Surprises Come in Smaller Packages Too

  1. Pauline says:

    I think you must definitely be warmer than us! My witch hazels are doing nothing, not a thing! How nice to get a surprise pressie, I’m sure you will find somewhere to plant it!

    • Cathy says:

      The witch hazels are definitely the earliest I have remembered them here… And yes, the rose is planted, but ‘shoved’ at the back of the woodland edge border!

  2. johnvic8 says:

    I am sure you will find just the right spot for “Queen Elizabeth.”

  3. sueturner31 says:

    I had a Queen Elizabeth rose 18 months ago … it grows so tall and the colour is a little too bright pink but the shape of the rose is nice. Mine was also a postage only rose so I can’t complain but it has to be moved…. 🙂

    • Cathy says:

      I looked in my David Austin catalogue for more details of QE and I think it used the word ‘indestructable’, which made me smile when I think how long its namesake has been on the throne…;)

  4. 15C is balmy?! I clearly have very thin blood – you should see how we bundle up in response to temperatures like that! The misdirected delivery is certainly a lovely surprise. I got one of those one year. It turned out to be a “tower” (several boxes) of chocolates. I so would have preferred your package. I almost wish the vendor had elected to pick up the package. After eating too much of them, I gave the rest away to the chocoholics among friends and family.

    • Cathy says:

      I did have my tongue in my cheek with the 15C, Kris – it’s just rather too mild for December here! I have had a nice pair of clematis as a misdirected delivery last year but your chocolates certainly seem to be too much of a good thing – not that I have come across a ‘tower’ of chocolates before. Must be an American thing! 😉

  5. Good fortune certainly…Like to see pictures in the spring.

  6. Annette says:

    Nice surprise, Cathy. How did that come about? It’s far too mild here as well and will continue wet and dull until this evening so still time to enjoy my books. Spotted some whorls on Hamamelis Primavera, very early, someone said it’ll be a hard winter but I wonder…

    • Cathy says:

      It was presumably a packing mistake as it had the correct invoice (for my order) inside – the clematis I I mistakenly received last year had a completely different name and address inside – I trust the non-receivers got a duplicate in due course, but perhaps they had to ‘complain’ first? I am off to look up the Hamamelis you mentioned….

  7. Chloris says:

    All those little buds of promise on your witch hazels, how exciting. I can’ t wait for mine to show some colour.
    An unexpected free gift is always exciting but Queen Elizabeth grows very tall indeed and is rather upright and gawky. Still the flowers are nice for cutting.

    • Cathy says:

      That’s the impression I got of QE which is why she is tucked into the back of the woodland edge border, where she can redeem any gawkyness by flowers for a vase next year! So your witch hazels are not showing colour yet either, like Pauline has found too? Strange how mine are definitely earlier, as Jelena is almost fully out now..

  8. AnnetteM says:

    Always nice to get a surprise , though I suspect you will know all the information on the pruning DVD. Hope you find the right spot for your rose and that it isn’t too cold to get it in the ground.

  9. Cathy your December 15C is just a couple of degrees lower than our summer high! if you haven’t room for another rose can you donate it to a garden where there is room for it, Frances

    • Cathy says:

      It’s a ridiculous temperature for December, Frances! I have popped QE into the woodland edge border, but without any ceremony, certainly not befitting of Her Majesty! 🙂

Something to say after reading this?

