All I want for Christmas is a Big Black Box

IMG_3720One of our neighbours called round this morning with a parcel that must have arrived yesterday when we were out. I say ‘parcel’, but it was really a large black cube, surprisingly light too. Racking my brains to remember what outstanding items I had ordered for Christmas presents, or if there was any likely present-giver who had forgotten my birthday, I tentatively ripped open the edge of the package…..then made the connection. Elder Sister had warned me a present would be arriving directly from Amazon but I had assumed Amazon=book, and this was certainly no book. It shows though that ES must have registered the demise of some of my lead effect pots during one of our conversations – which is lovely, because it is always nicer if people use their personal knowledge of me to choose appropriate gifts rather than ask what I would like (Elder Daughter please note, this does not preclude buying me the Naomi Slade snowdrop book I requested!) – not there is room for anything else under the Christmas tree now the big black box has arrived….

IMG_3721

This entry was posted in Christmas, Gardens and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to All I want for Christmas is a Big Black Box

  1. This sort of takes away the fun of “shaking the Christmas box” to try and figure out what is inside!!

    • Cathy says:

      Oh Susan – I much prefer surprises and didn’t deliberately peep! I had no idea if it was something I had ordered and forgotten about so had to check, but didn’t expose it any further than the photo shows!

  2. Pauline says:

    You opened it ! I’m like Susan, I shake and feel for ages, trying to guess what the parcel is. What a good sister to have made a note of what you really wanted, I wish I had a sister!

    • Cathy says:

      Noooo! I didn’t, honestly! I had no idea what it was or who it was from and didn’t expect it to be a present. It is still firmly wrapped up apart from that corner and I am only sorry that I won’t now be able to go through my usual shaking or prodding ritual trying to work out what it is 😉

  3. Christina says:

    It does look very intriguing Cathy, I love surprises!

  4. johnvic8 says:

    I give up, Cathy. What is it? Do I have to wait till Christmas for the answer?

    • Cathy says:

      If you read the post again John you will probably realise – I didn’t want to mention it specifically as I now want to try and pretend I don’t know what it is at all!

  5. AnnetteM says:

    How lovely. What are you going to put in it?

  6. rickii says:

    This is kind of like “should I or should I not let the doctor tell me the sex of my baby”.

  7. Anna says:

    Oh I’m sure that your sister will forgive you Cathy and after all you’ve only had the smallest of peeks! Here we were cursing my sister who I saw at a family do this last weekend. She gave me a present that weighed a ton, which we then had to lug on and off two train journeys home. Birmingham New Street is bad enough with luggage let only extras 🙂 Hope that ED has taken the hint.

    • Cathy says:

      I trust the present will be an acceptable one after all the effort getting it home – something for your garden do you think? A bag of rocks for your gabions?! :0 ps I am optimistic about the book 😉

Something to say after reading this?

