The Philosopher’s Puzzle

puzzleAt dusk –
Or later –
The garden is
A different place,
Or so it seems.
The sights,
The smells,
The sounds,
The feel of it,
Are different,
Our senses heightened
By the stillness
And the grey-black palette.
Shapes,
Silhouetted by
The half-moon
Against the deepness of the sky,
The damp-earth smell,
The microclimate
Of the soil,
The rustling of leaves
As unseen creatures
Creep and crawl and climb,
An awareness of form,
Soft and pliable
Or densely immoveable.
As rambling eyes expand
They see beyond the darkness,
Hear the trees,
And straightway
Know the answer
To that age-old
Philosopher’s
Puzzle.

This entry was posted in Being Creative, Gardening, Gardens, Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to The Philosopher’s Puzzle

  1. Christina says:

    That’s a very positive way of thinking about the dark evenings; I must try to be more positive about them too. Monochromatic images are a good way to demonstrate what you see.

    • Cathy says:

      Ironically, I tried out the ‘night’ setting on my camera but the results were too light for the effect I wanted so I used the b&w setting in Picasa with a soft focus. I am quite chuffed I made the effort to do a bit of experimenting! During the summer I often had dark rambles to go and close the greenhouses but most of the time now they won’t be left open of course 😉

  2. Laurin Lindsey says:

    A wonderful poem and perfect read ton start my day!

  3. Cathy says:

    Loved this Cathy. I really enjoy your poems and hope you’ll put them in a book one day. 🙂 This took me outdoors to a foggy November night, listening to all the rustlings around me. Maybe the answer really is out there!

    • Cathy says:

      Thank you Cathy. I have in fact put together a Blurb book of some of them for my own and family/friends’ enjoyment and will do a second volume when I have enough poems. You can make these Blurb books available for sale and as someone else asked about it I have started looking into it. Thanks for your encouragement.

  4. Beautiful words and photos, Cathy (loved the B&W!) So atmospheric! We ventured out last night – beautifully crisp and clear – but it was definitely not still! Full of light and bangs! Aah! Bonfire night!

    • Cathy says:

      Glad I didn’t post it yesterday, as the timing of the poem was incidental – I had written it a few weeks ago but it needed tweaking 😉 . Could hear fireworks last night but couldn’t see any – well, that’s not strictly true as I didn’t venture outside and might have seen them if I did! Good evening for them like you said, definitely crisp and clear and a gorgeous full moon.

  5. That is completely chariming. Thanks. I like the Black and white photos too.

  6. AnnetteM says:

    The images really complement the poem. Lovely. I was out there smelling the soil and leaves.

  7. Annette says:

    Both images and words are a little work of art, Cathy! Superbe!

  8. Lovely poem and the photos make a great accompaniment.

  9. Anna says:

    Your poem captures the essence of the night time garden Cathy which is a completely different and sometimes alien territory. The black and white photos illustrate your words so well. Thank you for sharing it with us.

  10. Very evocative writing Cathy.

  11. CathyT says:

    Ashamed to say that this is the first poem of yours I’ve read Cathy! But lovely, and perfectly complimented by the b/w photos. Your experiments with the camera paid off – would be good to have images of your garden with each poem if you do that book eventually? One thing it did make me wish was that I could step directly out into my own garden. Sometimes, if it’s a dark night, I’m too nervous because the steps are slippery. But I can enjoy the stars from our balcony. Looking forward to your next poems!

    • Cathy says:

      No need to be ashamed at all, Cathy – and if you did want to read more you could search ‘categories’ and they would all be under ‘poetry’ (as well as some other references to poetry). Thanks for your kind comments about this poem anyway. You can’t see our garden from upstairs at all, so you are one up on me with your balcony!

  12. Pauline says:

    Your words and pictures are beautiful, monochrome seems to capture the atmosphere exactly.

  13. Cathy I love this verse and I too look at the garden at night, watch the skies and listen to the rustling leaves as critters walk about.

    • Cathy says:

      Thank you Donna – sometimes I think I don’t walk in the garden in the dark often enough (not that the dampness has been very conducive to it recently!)

  14. Wonderful Cathy. I agree with the commenter who wrote that monochrome seems to completely capture your feeling. Night is such a different world! (Quite novel with the bathing suit ads that followed lol-:))

    • Cathy says:

      🙂 I never see any of the adverts and have no idea whether they appear after every post – I suppose WordPress have to make some money somehow. I think we can pay for an upgrade which would give extra space for uploading and also exclude ads! Apologies for them anyway 🙂 Thanks for your kind comments about the poem.

Something to say after reading this?

