Times They Are A-changin’

IMG_3362Although barely visible on the above photo, trees that have resolutely remained green despite losing leaves over the last few weeks are subtly beginning to change colour, and the changing of the clocks last weekend seems to bring with it a sense of urgency, both in the garden and in our lives. Suddenly garden tasks that might previously have been left till the afternoon are now being curtailed because the light is going soon after 4 o’clock, and a policy of not being concerned if the greenhouse doors are accidentally left open overnight needs to be reviewed in case of sudden drops in temperature – not that this has been an issue this week as temperatures remained above 11 or 12ºC last night and reached about 19ºC today. These are expected to drop by about 10º over the next few days so perhaps we are in for our first frosts soon.

I am pleased to say that I got the bulk of the first batch of bulbs planted at the weekend, apart from some free alliums (which are going in the cutting beds) and the tulips, which I don’t intend to tackle yet. I have also sorted through seed packets from earlier in the year to see what spare seeds there are and considered which could be planted now for early flowering, and have some idea in my head as to what I might want to buy for next year – although for the first time I have saved some of my own. Following the dislodging last week of some of the climbing roses by the wind I have also taken the opportunity to tie in any lax new growth on all of the climbing roses, so am generally quite chuffed at getting these little maintenance tasks out of the way – when all I really want to do is get on with my Project….

This entry was posted in bulbs, corms and tubers, Gardening, Gardens, projects, trees and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Times They Are A-changin’

  1. Christina says:

    You are a tease Cathy! But well done in completing a good many tasks. This week has been cold here with wind from the NNE which is always the coldest. Do remember to share what you are sowing early, I don’t know which things will work early, so far i’ve only followed the planting times of Sarah Raven, but I’m happier to follow what other gardeners suggest.

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, I will do a rundown of my sowings soon, in conjunction with with what I have learned from the first year of the cutting beds – I too have picked up suggestions from other bloggers and use the electronic post-it notes on my laptop to make a note as soon as I read about a plant or seeds that are recommended

  2. Julie says:

    Hi Cathy, we have been blessed by warm weather too, bright blue skies and t-shirts again. I see its a dip and rain tomorrow then over here its up to dry and 19c again on Friday. But I am also expecting a frost anytime soon, ever the sceptic on weather forecasts. Although the new weather forecasting computer announced today will hopefully be more accurate. Well done on getting a lot of your new bulbs in, I hope to get that finished by the next weekend.

    • Cathy says:

      It would have been warm enough for a T shirt but I have a pair of overalls for messy garden jobs or an old sweatshirt for those not quite as messy and put them over whatever I am wearing as a matter of routine. If it rains my Project will be on hold tomorrow 😦

  3. rickii says:

    Rain, rain, rain…keeping me from a good many pressing chores. At least that’s my excuse. You will be in the cat-bird seat come spring.

    • Cathy says:

      I try to use the rain, rain, rain for inside jobs – and there are plenty of those as the garden tends to take precedence, Rickii, and sometimes I am glad of rain for that reason! I have never heard the expression ‘cat-bird seat before’ but I assume it means an advantageous position… perhaps, but there are still the tulips, and quite a lot of them too…. 😦

  4. Cathy says:

    Oh, you are keeping us on tenterhooks Cathy! 😉 I got a few more bulbs in today, and have also left the tulips till last. It’s very cold here tonight, but I’m hoping the frost will stay at bay… it was only 2 degrees when I looked at 10pm, so fingers crossed!

  5. bittster says:

    Good for you on the bulb planting, I managed to do the same this past weekend. Our forecast is calling for colder weather, I hope it’s not too much of a rude awakening. Someone even mentioned the word snow, which I am completely against.

  6. Pauline says:

    Well done getting your bulbs planted, mine are having to go into pots as I don’t want to slice the ones I already have in the garden. Once they show their shoots in the new year, I’ll know where to plant them! At least, planting them this way, I can do it in the greenhouse while it is raining.
    We are having such mild weather at the moment, night time temperatures are almost the same as daytime, I’ve never had the greenhouse door open for so long at night time.

    • Cathy says:

      That’s one of the reasons I don’t like planting bulbs – but most of the ones I have planted went into beds that aren’t completely crammed with other things. Not sure about the tulips yet – I may be doing as I did last year and as you have done and plant them in pots to drop into place later. I enjoy doing greenhouse jobs when it is raining – there’s something about being surrounded by rain but remaining dry. Shame the greenhouse is at the bottom of the garden though!

  7. Anna says:

    Well done on that bulb planting Cathy. I’m hoping to get going tomorrow – mind you I told myself that yesterday. I imagine that the first frost will probably arrive in the next couple of weeks. It was decidedly chilly here first thing this morning.

    • Cathy says:

      I had several days of intending to get the bulk of the bulbs done but found something more enjoyable to do… 😉 Hope you have managed it now…

  8. Chloris says:

    Well done, it is so satisfying to get your bulbs in, I still haven’ t finished planting mine.. Looking forward to seeing your big project.

    • Cathy says:

      Tjanks Chloris – still the tulips to do, but I feel I have broken the back of it with the others. The Project is going well after a nice dry day today….

  9. Hah! I think this “project” of yours is either mythical or you haven’t quite decided what it is yet 😉 I’e not planted any bulbs at all yet, but there again, with forget-me-nots flowering maybe I am as confused as the garden!

Something to say after reading this?

