The Jigsaw

Scan.BMPScan-002.BMPI remember a time,
A plot of grass,
A lot of hedge,
An apple, a plum,
But little else.
Unrecognisable now,
A jigsaw
Of different shapes,
Slotted together,
Piece by piece,
Edges and corners,
Sky, trees,
Shades and textures and colours,
Examined,
Tried, then
Rejected
Or tapped in place
With satisfaction.
map.2No picture and no box,
Just guesswork –
Or intuition.
A magic jigsaw,
This garden –
Exchangeable pieces,
Interchangeable pieces,
Pieces to lose,
Pieces to find,
Pieces that change with the seasons –
A jigsaw to endlessly entertain.
And yet one day,
Just perhaps,
The jigsaw could be broken up,
The pieces tossed in an unmarked box.
One day,
But not in my time.

This entry was posted in garden structure, Gardening, Gardens, Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Jigsaw

  1. Kris P says:

    A creative poem to describe a creative process – well done!

  2. How wonderful, Cathy! It’s fascinating to peruse a map of your garden and to put everything into perspective. It reminds me, too, of when we first moved into our house, and our garden was also a long green wilderness. Not to mention envisaging my Dad doing his jigsaws and “tapping” the pieces into place with a sense of satisfaction! 🙂

    • Cathy says:

      The map is a few months out of date now, but you can see it on a larger scale under The Garden tab. I will revise it once the current schemes are complete! Looking back, it’s easy to forget that we didn’t touch the garden (other than cut the grass) for a couple of years as we were renovating the house and then building the extension. Did you take any photographs as you worked on yours?

  3. johnvic8 says:

    I always wonder what will come after. Who will inherit the heirloom plants in my garden? Will the next owner (and their will always be one) care as I care? I have had to give up a garden in which I planted my heart. I had to come to the conclusion…and quickly…that it wasn’t my garden anymore.

    • Cathy says:

      That must have been tough, John. We developed this property and the garden along with our own relationship so that has deepened our roots all the more, and
      we plan to have our ashes scattered here…. After that, well who knows…?

  4. Such a dramatic transformation you have wreaked Cathy, and what a lovely way to describe that intensely personal and intuitive creative process.

  5. Annette says:

    You’re a woman of many talents, Cathy, and I’m very glad to have met you in outer space 🙂
    What a remarkable transformation!

    • Cathy says:

      I am pleased we took so many photographs during the renovation of the house and building the extension as well as developing the garden – sometimes we can forget just how much we have achieved

  6. Anna says:

    What an excellent comparison Cathy 🙂 Gardens like jigsaws can be magical, challenging and frustrating but no there is no definitive way to put to put them together and unlike jigsaws the picture is forever changing in our minds.

  7. Helene says:

    I also wonder what will happen with my garden when I move – and I will have to move quite soon as I struggle with my stairs. I dream about a bungalow with a nice garden that can accommodate as many as possible of my plants – but I know in my heart that I won’t be able to take more than about half of my plants with me at best. Will the next ones living here take care of the plants I leave? Will they be interested in gardening at all?? A garden is just on loan, and will be here long after we are gone, but for me it has become something I do think about.

    • Cathy says:

      Sorry you will have to make a move and hope someone will love your home for the garden as much as the house – and that you find somewhere new to put down roots again. One of the reasons we are blitzing some of the trees here is to take advantage of our relative fitness while we still can – and trust I can still ramble in my dotage…

Something to say after reading this?

