Garden Bloggers Blooms Day: Cor!!

IMG_3119I nearly forgot to photograph Colchicum ‘Water Lily’ for Garden Bloggers Blooms Day (for which I am a day late) which would have been a shame, as she is a real stunner – in the absence of a brolly, though, she won’t look quite as delectable once we get some rain. Thanks to Carol at May Dreams Garden for hosting this meme, which is a brilliant way of reminding us what is flowering in our gardens from month to month and year to year.

IMG_3100The roses in the vase that I posted yesterday were a heap of petals when we got back from our jaunt, so the surviving cosmos foliage and buds were replaced with a bundle of sweet peas which are one of this year’s success stories.

Elsewhere in the garden there are a few other successes and one or two surprises, but the dry summer has taken its toll on much of the garden.

Outside the front door, climbing rose ‘Pink Perpetué is flowering well for the second time, whilst outside the back door Annabelle continues apace:

Cor.1Also outside the front door are three baskets of petunias, also flowering well despite not receiving the regular watering they deserve, as is the big zinc container full of bargain fuchsia and petunias at the back:

Cor.2Looking down, there are lots of clumps of Cyclamen hederifolium.….

IMG_3107….. and looking up you can see climbing rose ‘Madame Alfred Carrière’, the subject of yesterday’s vase, and Clematis jouiniana ‘Praecox’:

IMG_3113IMG_3105A big surprise today, though, was to see random flowers on two of my newish Clematis   alpinas, ‘Pamela Jackman’ and ‘White Columbine’ – what a pair of sillies they are flowering in September!

Cor.3Successes in the cutting beds are Cosmos ‘Candy Stripe’ and, very belatedly, Zinnia ‘Purple Prince’ and Tithonia rotundifolia ‘Torch’ which are both forming lovely branched plants but perhaps too late in the season to produce much in the way of flower –  I hope I am wrong…

Cor.4And that’s about it for September, apart from a few isolated spots of colour – whereas increasingly colour is beginning to creep into the garden in the guise of foliage, but that’s another story……

 

 

This entry was posted in Garden Bloggers Blooms Day, Gardening, Gardens. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Garden Bloggers Blooms Day: Cor!!

  1. Kris P says:

    That Colchium is spectacular, Cathy! And I can’t get over the fact you still have sweet peas in bloom…

  2. Lots of lovely flowers to enjoy. I love Mdme A de Carriere, and yours is looking really splendid for a second flush.

  3. Liz says:

    Hi Cathy,

    I really need to get in gear and plant some later blooming Clematis; they’d really add a lot at this time of year for me and of course they are lovely. I should also get some autumn crocus… hrm, maybe I should just get everything you have 😉
    I think Alpine Clematis can/do flower later in the year too sometimes, at least I remember when I got ‘willy’ it said it may also bloom in autumn and I assumed it’s the same for all the early ones but perhaps not.

  4. So much color and still loads of blooms destined for many vases.

  5. Anna says:

    Oh isn’t that colchicum fabulous Cathy and as you suggest all the more glamorous for the lack of rain. My one and only alpina usually has a second flush.

  6. rusty duck says:

    The blue Clematis alpina is really lovely. I really must get one for next year.

  7. Jane Brewer says:

    How beautiful! And may your zinnias keep on blooming!

  8. That wall of Clematises is gorgeous! It looks like a welcoming, fertile corner of the garden. Those last three blooms are three of my favorites! I hope you continue to have many more blooms from those and your many other beautiful plants this season!

  9. Looking good, Cathy. The colchicum is fabulous – such a gorgeous colour! Sad they get battered and eaten, so easily. All the annuals are playing their part well, and helping to keep the show going.

  10. Christina says:

    Hope your good weather continues and you do get more flowers from the cuttings garden. MAC is a lovely rose but she does want to climb ever upwards!

  11. Pauline says:

    It’s always a bonus when flowers rebloom when we aren’t expecting it, lovely to have your clematis flowering now. Your Waterlily Colchicum is so pretty, do you find the stems can hold the double flower or do you have other plants holding them up, I find the singles flop so easily? You still have so much flowering, they are all beautiful!

    • Cathy says:

      There is nothing propping the colchicum up, and I fear that once it rains they will suffer immediately for it 😦 so I will just have to enjoy them while I can!

  12. bittster says:

    What a nice surprise the clematis are, I have the same thing happening on a kniphofia planted this summer, I think sometimes water and cool after drought or heat trick the plants into a new flush of growth.
    The peas look so fresh and flawless. Also a nice early fall treat.

  13. Chloris says:

    Lots still to enjoy in your garden, Cathy. I don’ t know how you managed to keep your sweet peas going, mine gave up the ghost ages ago. Isn’ t Tithonia marvellous? Next year I want lots.
    I do love Colchicum Water Lily but I do wish it wouldn’ t collapse in a heap so quickly. Well none of them last very long really.
    I don’ t know what Clematis alpina is doing in bloom now but how lovely.

    • Cathy says:

      I deadheaded the first bloom on my tithonia today and was wondering just WHY the stem was the shape it was…? As I have never had any success with sweet peas before I am definitely chuffed with these – and I have not given them any extra attention either. Definitely worth autumn sowing though, as the Purple Pimpernel have been flowering since May.

  14. You still have a lot of color for September. Beautiful.

  15. Julie says:

    Your Colchicum Water Lily are beautiful Cathy – I have a few in flower but no where near the clump you have! The tithonia is a flower I have never grown – perhaps I should add it to my Cutting garden list for next year?

  16. I have a lot of confused plants at the moment, one of my dogwoods is flowering profusely, and my new sorbus has both flowers and berries! Love the cyclamen, I really must get some in this garden, Sue has inspired me to try growing them from seed.

    • Cathy says:

      Could send you some (cyclamen, that is)…

      • Week! Careful,woman, you are singlehandedly filling my woodlandy bit!! Seriously, if you have some to spare I’d love some. How about I do some cuttings of my lovely Anthemis tonctoria E. C. Buxton in return? Or how about some bronze carex? Or an anemanthele lessoniana seedling? I should also have some penstemon Blackbird cuttings rooted come spring…

        • Cathy says:

          I read your comment and thought….what on earth had I offered you?! 🙂 Plenty to spare and they need dividing and spreading around, so spreading to Anglesey is no problem. I shall have to look up some of your potential offerings as I don’t know them, but I shall let you know. Thanks. You will be interested to know that after you mentioned successful growing of teucrium from seed I have done the same – they are doing great so far.

Something to say after reading this?

