An Hour or Two at The Dower House, Morville: a Taster

IMG_3022One of our planned visits on this Shropshire ramble was to the garden of the Dower House, Morville Hall, a garden now more widely known since the publication of ‘The Morville Hours’ by garden historian and writer Katherine Swift. She took on the lease of  a 1.5 acre field in the grounds of the hall in 1988, as well as of the Dower House, and her book very movingly describes the making of the garden interspersed with her own history and that of the Morville area of Shropshire. The garden was past its peak today, but I shall be able to go home and re-read the book with a greater knowledge now that I have seen it in person. If you have not read the book I can thoroughly recommend it, as I can the cream teas made and served by Katherine herself, with a choice of jam from virtually every fruit growing in her garden. As I said, just a taster today – more about the garden when we get home.

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens, Visiting gardens & days out and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to An Hour or Two at The Dower House, Morville: a Taster

  1. Chloris says:

    What an interesting place to visit. I love that book. I shall be interested to read what other gardens you will be visiting. What fun.

  2. Cathy says:

    Look forward to hearing about it. Mmmm, cream teas…..

  3. Anna says:

    Oh I must be psychic Cathy 🙂 I imagine that the garden still had lots of interest even at this late stage of the year. We missed out on a cream tea. Maybe next year. Look forward to reading more about your visit.

  4. I must look into there, and the book. Enjoy your stay!

  5. gardenfancyblog says:

    How lucky you are, to be able to visit her garden! I read her book and was entranced with her descriptions of her gardens, as well as the photos of it I saw online after reading the book. It’s definitely on my (admittedly lengthy) list of English gardens I want to visit someday. I look forward to reading your post about your visit. Thanks! -Beth

  6. bittster says:

    Sounds like a great story, I’ll need to remember this when winter settles in and reading returns.

  7. Pauline says:

    I’ve read both her books, I think there is a third in the pipeline. It is a garden that I have longed to visit since reading her books, I look forward to reading more on your blog!

  8. a1 appliance says:

    When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added
    I get three emails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove me from that service?
    Thank you!

    • Cathy says:

      I don’t know why this happens but I am afraid you would have to stop it from your end – perhaps something to click within the email? It is an automatic WordPress email and I have no control over it – sorry

Something to say after reading this?

