Garden Bloggers Blooms Day: Hangers On and Staggers On

August14Looking at the garden as I rambled with my camera and then at the photographs taken to illustrate Garden Bloggers Blooms Day (kindly hosted by Carol at May Dreams Gardens) it struck me that there wasn’t much in the way of cohesion this August. Obviously the wet winter, early spring and dry summer have produced very different conditions to last year, the first August I made a GBBD contribution, and I can look back and see a rather different range of plants, or certainly plants in a very different stage of growth.

This year there are the ‘hangers on’ – those that have been flowering for weeks and are still going strong, like the sweet peas and the zinc planters and the cosmos – and our good friend Annabelle of course; and there are the ‘staggers on’, those having a bit of a second flush like the Blush Noisette and Guinée roses. For the first time I have really noticed that Parkdirektor Riggers (not shown in this collage) has flowered almost continuously and that Danse de Feu (also not shown) is flowering as extensively in its second flush as it did in the first, and it is pleasing to see that the new Snow Goose, tucked into a narrow space against the wall, is showing signs of flowering almost continuously too. The various echinops stagger on a bit too, as even when they lose their colour the heads make a dramatic statement until the foliage dries and they keel over. The clematis, with some of the later varieties like Ernest Markham, Lord Neville and jouiniana ‘Praecox’ now extending the clematis season, go on a bit as well – not that I am complaining about these or any of the others that stagger on, of course!

There are still some newbies, like the Ruby Eclipse sunflowers and Bishop of Llandaff dahlia, both of which have been shown off this week and also – alas! – clumps of Cyclamen hederifolium which are a gentle reminder that summer is on the way out. Whatever month of the year there are blooms to be found in the garden – and I am grateful for them all, favourites or not!

 

This entry was posted in Garden Bloggers Blooms Day, Gardens. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Garden Bloggers Blooms Day: Hangers On and Staggers On

  1. Chloris says:

    I love your collage, what a great way to display your flowers. I think this is the great thing about a gardening blog, being able to compare how things progress from year to year and noticing when everything flowers.. It also makes you more observant. If you had asked me last year which of my roses would repeat and look great again in August I wouldn’t t have been quite sure.
    I love your title. Hanging on and staggering on sums up a lot of August flowers.

  2. Pauline says:

    Thank goodness for the rain, if this had been 2 weeks ago I wouldn’t have much to show at all !
    You have such a good selection of flowers in your collage, love them all.

  3. I love that headline! Just about sums up my garden too. But your flowers look fabulous.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Cynthia – I struggled to find an appropriate rhyme for ‘hangers’ but ‘staggers’ was a reasonably apt ‘near rhyme’ 😉

  4. I love your collage, too. Staggers on? Love it.

  5. With all our cool rain the flowers are better than I would have supposed given our winter and spring…you have a nice menagerie of blooms still going.

  6. rusty duck says:

    Who’d be a Cyclamen hederifolium eh? I had just the same reaction when I saw them yesterday, pretty as they are.

  7. Kris P says:

    Happy GBBD, Cathy! I wish I could say I still had both sweet peas and an abundance of roses in my garden at the moment. I’ve gotten into the habit of checking my current Bloom Day subjects against the prior year’s post as well. Sometimes that’s reassuring – but sometimes it’s disconcerting. This month, the look back reminded me that the Acanthus that saw me through the worst of last summer hasn’t bloomed at all this summer.

    • Cathy says:

      It is indeed good for comparing – and if it’s any consolation my acanthus has been rubbish too and it certainly hasn’t featured in any posts this year 😉

  8. Love it! I love the collage – it’s a great way to display all your wonderful photos. It really focuses what is happening at this moment in time. Maybe an idea for a monthly feature? It’s a thought!

    • Cathy says:

      A thought indeed – and used this time round to keep my post shorter as I didn’t have a lot of time to write. A bit of a cop out really!! 🙂 ps thanks for the kind comments, appreciated as it is hard to be objective in our own gardens

  9. Anna says:

    Oh some most attractive bloom and as you say I like your post title. It could almost be me that you are describing Cathy. It is certainly interesting to compare and contrast August 2013 against August 2014. Would like to know the name of the little clemmie in the second row of photos.

    • Cathy says:

      Hi Anna – thanks for your kind comments. The clematis is C integrifolia ‘Pastel Blue’ and is beginning to settle down nicely in that spot although I need something better for her to clamber over.

      • Anna says:

        Thanks for the id Cathy. The colour caught my eye. I’ve just noticed that the first sentence of my comment makes no sense! The typing fingers sometimes work quicker than the brain 🙂

  10. Rick Nelson says:

    Liked your comment about Cyclamen hederifolium Cathy, unfortunately I only have to look out of the window to know we are done for, the weather has definitely changed! In my “woodland” garden, after the traditional woodlanders which flower early and disappear, I have a few harbingers of Winter which sometimes never get to flower before they are decimated by early frost including Kirengeshoma palmata and the Tricyrtis cultivars and both are now budded up!

    • Cathy says:

      Let’s hope the frost is late coming then! From our windows you can only see a small part of the garden so anything could be happening beyond there if I didn’t go and have a ramble to see! 🙂

  11. Christina says:

    The collage is a great snapshot of late summer (is August late summer? I suppose it is, Great that all your roses are doing so well too.

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, I would say it was late summer, Christina. It was interesting to see how different the roses were, as some are a bit tired – and the ones outside the front door seem to get bleached by the sun

  12. bittster says:

    You have quite range of flowers still carrying on the show and the collage really sets them off!
    I sometimes resent the lingerers. I can’t quite cut them back, but the sparse flowers keep reminding me of the fresher days of summer which saddens me as we turn the corner.

    • Cathy says:

      I know what you mean about almost resenting the lingerers, as there comes a point when I just want to tidy the borders up and those single flowers look at me and plead for mercy….

  13. you still have a lovely lot of blooms, and as your garden is so many different areas these would not be blooming next to each other as they are in your collage, the roses you mention sould lovely, Frances

Something to say after reading this?

