Hurrah for the Bishop!

IMG_2759Despite following guidance and advice I have still been bereft of dahlias so far this year – until I spotted this flower on ‘Bishop of Llandaff’ today. This is at least a small success story as it must be the third season in office for the Bishop – the first winter he snuggled down underground for the winter but last year he was lifted and spent a warmer few months drying out in the greenhouse, like an alcoholic at a rehabilitation clinic. The pink and purple Sarah Raven dahlias I treated myself to are still struggling amidst crocosmia foliage and may or may not get round to flowering – but I have spotted a single bud on a sown-from-seed ‘Bishop’s Children’ so that could be something to look forward to. Janet at Plantaliscious has recommended dahlia tubers from Peter Nyssen as well as growing them in pots – so at least I could get them to flowering stage before placing the pots amongst other foliage. Disheartened? Not me!

Another pleasant surprise today was to find the sunflower bud from my Monday vase opening up, certainly something I did not expect – hurrah! for the sunflower as well as the Bishop!

IMG_2760

This entry was posted in bulbs, corms and tubers, Gardening, Gardens, In a Vase on Monday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Hurrah for the Bishop!

  1. The Bishop of Llandaff is now on my plant bucket list. My grandparents’ farm was in Landaff, New Hampshire. πŸ™‚

  2. TheDigger says:

    It’s gorgeous πŸ™‚

  3. Liz says:

    Hi Cathy,

    Lovely, your patience as surely paid off. I meanwhile don’t have the patience required for looking after Dahlias, this however does not stop me coveting their lovely, large blooms. They’re so impressive, especially when they’re almost as tall as me! One year at Chatsworth I stumbled on a maze planted with Dahlias at its entrance. Very impressive.

    • Cathy says:

      It’s the only one, though, Liz, and I did buy it as a plant originally – if I don’t do better with pots next year perhaps I will stop trying…. The dahlias at the maze entrance sound lovely – have they still got the sculptures at Chatsworth, or were they a temporary installation?

  4. Hopefully, your “Bishop” will go from strength to strength. It just needed a bit of settling in!

  5. bittster says:

    The bishop looks great, that’s one which has been on my list for a few years, bold color and dark foliage… awesome!

  6. The dahlias do take a bit of settling in and a while before they become prolific bloomers.

  7. Christina says:

    I’ve bought Dahlia tubers from PN too and they grew beautifully. I dug up one of my original tubers (bought about three springs ago) to find enough tubers to make six plants now in the cuttings bed. Love the sunflower Cathy.

    • Cathy says:

      That’s good to hear about the PN tubers, Christina – and I am pleased to say that I did follow Sarah Raven’s instructions with the ones I had from her and took cuttings from the new shoots, some of which were successful although they are still tiny. Um, think I should move them out of the tiny pot though…. πŸ˜‰ Chuffed with my sunflowers too!!

  8. Susan says:

    That particular bishop hashas been gracing gardens for at least fifty years that I’m aware of, it was one of the first plants that I fell in love with while still a teenager, yet I’ve never grown it, sad! The others are welcome latecomers. Currently I restrict myself to a couple of incredibly hardy, ebullient, unnamed big golden, orange and soft pink dahlias that flower from Christmas till the first frosts take them out, but I have plans to finally acquire the original bishop. We are in the depths of southern hemisphere winter here and I keep meaning to plonk some straw on the tubers that are sitting on top of the soil — but then I console myself that they’re protecting the ones underneath and right now I have too many, I believe they’re edible? πŸ™‚

    • Cathy says:

      So if the dahlias don’t flower well we can cut our losses by eating them…..?! πŸ™‚ I am certainly learning from all my blogging friends that they are worth persevering with, particularly once we find some favourites.

  9. Annette says:

    I shall definitely plant some Dahlias again next year – possibly in the potager where the tubers can be retrieved easily. They just look so good in a vase. Have a lovely weekend, Cathy πŸ™‚

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Annette, you too. I need to rethink the contents of my cutting beds and perhaps include some permanent residents like dahlias – if not in pots next year.

  10. Chloris says:

    I am very fond of the Bishop and always grow some of his seeds. I have gradually got some really dark ones from his great grandchildren. They don’ t all have his dark leaves but I love the flowers of some of them that are almost black. I also have one which is almost white but I keep it well away from my dark ones.
    I never dig my dahlias up. I put several layers of newspaper over them covered with compost. I am convinced that it is usually winter wet that kills them rather than cold.
    I love your cheery sunflower.

    • Cathy says:

      Have you collected the seeds yourself? Do you have any tips for collecting the seeds? The one you showed on your blog was lovely. Now, would it be wise to keep the dahlias overshadowed by crocosmia leaves in the ground – if they grew in conjunction with each other perhaps they might do better? Several layers of newspaper – all sections of the Sunday Times perhaps? πŸ˜‰

  11. Pauline says:

    Love the sunflower, a lovely shade. I must try growing some seed from the Bishop, mine is still very young as yet, hopefully it will get stronger next year like yours.

  12. Anna says:

    Good on the Bishop! Did you plant the tubers directly into the ground Cathy? If so I wonder how early you planted them. Like Janet I keep mine in pots where they either stay or venture down to the allotment to be planted. My biggest problem is that the leaves get chewed so much 😦

    • Cathy says:

      I lifted the Bishop last year and started it and the others in pots, only planting them out when there was the requisite number of shoots. I suspect the slugs have been at the others too, but they are not easy to get at to check. I am very undecided about how to deal with them this winter….

  13. Pingback: The Future is Sunny | Rambling in the Garden

Something to say after reading this?

