Missing the Cut: Neither Use nor Ornament

IMG_2595IMG_2593Well, OK it’s pretty when you look at it close up, but when it’s up THERE (about 8 feet) and I’m down HERE (about 5 feet) AND it’s in the middle of a wide border AND there’s about 8 feet of stem and beetle nibbled leaves between those satin pink flowers and ground level one must surely wonder what the purpose of these ‘tree lilies’ are…. Even the lily beetles have balked at scaling its full height and I certainly couldn’t tackle any of them if they did make it to the top – not safely, anyway! They demand more in the support stakes too, outgrowing the tallest stakes we have, hence this 40ΒΊ or so list.

At least, I thought, they could appear in a vase on a Monday, or indeed as individual flowers in several vases – now that WOULD make a statement, both useful AND ornamental. This was not to be, however, as all the heat and sunshine we have been experiencing has chivvied them up and now the buds are opening in a sudden flurry and I have already mentally planned next week’s vase whilst the following week will be a vase-away-from-home on Monday….

Neither use nor ornament, like I said.

This entry was posted in bulbs, corms and tubers, Gardening, Gardens and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Missing the Cut: Neither Use nor Ornament

  1. Well, they’re just showing off!! You’d need a step ladder to get up there to appreciate them!

  2. Liz says:

    Hi Cathy,

    I assume this is a tree lily? Unless you have super ornamental lilies there!

    Cut it, go on. Might as well πŸ˜‰

    • Cathy says:

      But we are away from mid week, Liz, so they may as well stay on the plant and I’ll see if they are still cutting worthy when we get back πŸ™‚

  3. Chloris says:

    I think you are a bit hard on it. It can’ t help being tall. I think it is wonderful; very ornamental and I bet it smells heavenly. We sat out until gone 9 this evening and the smell from all the lilies was intoxicating. Go out and sniff your lovely giant.

    • Cathy says:

      OK, it must have sounded very heightist – and I should be more sensitive to those with height issues, shouldn’t I….?! I have to admit I did smell something which could have been lily smell, and although distinctive was not especially intoxicating. Glad you enjoyed your intoxication though…. πŸ˜‰

  4. Those are crazy!! Never seen anything like them… i think they are a must show stopping must have!

  5. bittster says:

    If I lived closer I would gladly relieve you of your troubles πŸ™‚

  6. I’m with you Cathy, a nice space for something more accommodating and less prone to being nibbled.

  7. sueturner31 says:

    I had some years ago and found that they spent longer on the ground than propped up, soon got rid….plus lily beetle is rife…. πŸ™‚

  8. Pauline says:

    Your lily is beautiful, but way up there……no I don’t think so. I have seen so many offered in catalogues and thought, what is the point of them in the sky, I want to be able to sniff each time I walk past. I also wouldn’t be able to see the lily beetle up there! Cut it for your vase, or would it need a giant vase to hold it?!

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, ‘what’s the point?’ is how I feel about it now! The individual flowers are huge – 6-8″ across – and are on relatively short stems, but if it is still in flower when we get back from our travels then I will cut them then

  9. Annette says:

    What on earth possessed you to choose such a giant, my dear? It’s even to tall for me otherwise I’d offer to take it from you πŸ˜‰

    • Cathy says:

      Now that is a very pertinent question, Annette, and I am surprised no one else has asked – I expect I was drawn in by a special offer price or something like that. Should know better, shouldn’t I?! πŸ™‚

  10. Anna says:

    I’ve just come in from sitting outside finishing a book off whilst himself is glued to the Open as perhaps The Golfer is too. Whilst out there I was breathing in the scent from my ‘Robina’ tree lilies which looks most similar to your lily Cathy. Admittedly the foliage has suffered from the ravishes of the lily beetle but grown in a big pot, they have only made about six feet this year which would be more manageable for your tiny frame πŸ™‚ I would not write them off just yet but consider a move to a container.

    • Cathy says:

      Ahah – now that is an excellent idea, Anna. I could happily tolerate it if it was several feet shorter. A wonderful solution (not that it was a problem, just an enigma) Anna – thank you so much!! πŸ™‚

  11. I’m with you! Off with its head!
    I have waaaayyyy too many plants that are way too tall for my liking. As soon as it cools here, my gardens are getting overhauled to include species of more manageable proportions!

    • Cathy says:

      In a huge garden with deep borders you can probably get away with much taller things – but you are quite right. I have bought some young delphiniums – but to be honest, delphiniums are too tall for my liking, so why did I buy them…?!

Something to say after reading this?

