Garden Bloggers Blooms Day: All Right for Some

IMG_2573There may be a bit of a floral lull in the garden in July, but nectar loving creatures are still finding what they need, as the above butterfly on Inula hookeri (last week’s Wordless Wednesday’s Citrus Swirl) shows.

The majority of the roses may be past their best but are beginning to throw up a few new blooms, always welcome, and around the garden there are splashes of colour, particularly in the bold borders where the above inula combines with sweet pea ‘Winston Churchill’ and Geum ‘Totally Tangerine’ to make a statement, as does its taller cousin Inula magnifica with the equally magnificent Crocosmia ‘Lucifer’:

CaptureAlso in the bold borders is this unknown hemerocallis (left) – perhaps I will find a label when all the foliage has died down. Any ideas, anybody? Equally bold but in the cutting beds is this dwarf sunflower ‘Topolino’ and French Marigold ‘La Bamba’ (the latter growing next to Briza maxima), both 99p trial packets. The sunflowers are looking promising but the marigold although attractive needs a bigger clump to make an impact:

GBBD.July14.1The current stars of the cutting beds despite not yet being cut are Ammi majus and Orlaya grandiflora, both being grown for a Which? Gardening trial – and after taking the picture of this echinops in the blue & white border I noticed some orlaya planted flowering there too:

GBBD.July14.2The main herbaceous borders are dense with foliage but blooms are getting sparser although I am enjoying this bed with Penstemon ‘Just Jayne’, Veronica spicata ‘Barcarolle’ and stalwart astrantia:

IMG_2566Pots provide additional colour, with the big galvanised tank now crammed with fuchsia and petunia and other bits and building up to a grand display, and four containers with fuchsia, petunia, impatiens and verbena – all planted up essentially with Aldi supermarket bargains:

GBBD.July14.3Thank you to Carol at May Dreams Gardens for hosting this monthly blooms meme – do follow the link to her blog to find out what is blooming elsewhere in the world on the 15th of July. As always there are other delights I have kept to myself this month, but I must just show you that another bud has indeed opened on the hemerocallis in yesterday’s vase, the orange petals blending brilliantly with the crocosmia flowers and persicaria foliage and reflected in the amber of the hyacinth glass:

IMG_2579

 

This entry was posted in container & basket plants, Garden Bloggers Blooms Day, Gardens, In a Vase on Monday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Garden Bloggers Blooms Day: All Right for Some

  1. Christina says:

    Ammi majus and Orlaya grandiflora are plants I want to grow next year. When did you sow them? Others have said they may be better treated as a biennial. I don’t think of the UK having a lull in July but I may just be kidding myself because there is usually nothing here and lots there!

    • Cathy says:

      I think because things have generally been earlier this year and it has been warm and dry they are just a bit tired. The ammi and orlaya were sown about the third week in April and were virtually flowering in two months; there is also Ammi visnaga for the same trial but although that is growing well there are no buds yet. Defintely amongst my (few) seed sowing successes this year – but I too have read about autumn sowing so perhaps I will try both.

      • I’m going to try autumn sowing these this year, I’ve been disappointed in my ammo so far. Fab to get that new bud opening in your vase! I really like that veronica, I think I will have to try one myself.

        • Cathy says:

          The veronicas might not seem ‘exciting’ in any way but they are reliable and that’s a useful attribute! As you say, this pink one is a bit different from the more usual purpley blue ones – I got it/them from cheap and cheerful J Parkers to help fill gaps after my garden revamp a couple of years ago.

  2. Kris P says:

    I love the photo at the top of the post, Cathy – it looks like something I’d see in an expensive garden book. I’m glad to see that your daylilies are blooming in the vase too! Happy GBBD!

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Kris – it was just a lucky moment and the butterfly just happened to be there, so I quickly took a shot closer up as well and was chuffed with how well it turned out, which is why I chose it as the opening photo on the post 🙂 There are 3 more buds on the day lily so hopefully that means another 3 days of flower!

  3. acuriousgal says:

    Beautiful pics, Cathy…I love that galvanized planter

  4. Chloris says:

    I found that my self seeded Orlaya grew much taller than the Spring sown ones. I think this and Ammi are better if they are sown in Autumn. Penstemons are great for this time of the year, yours looks lovely with the Veronica. I love the butterfly on the Inula. Aren’ t there a lot about at the moment. The trouble is they just won’ t sit still.

    • Cathy says:

      Butterflies don’t usually stop long enough for me to try and identify what they are, so this was probably a one off – not that I know what this one is either, with its wings closed! I will try both autumn and spring sowing of ammi and orlaya – and hope I get some self seeders too! I still have immature penstemon that haven’t flowered yet but I am looking forward to when they do!

  5. Sally says:

    You have a wonderful garden! So much is blooming but I especially love the daylilies and your sunflower blew my mind! I love July in the garden…..

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Sally – I think it’s the lack of roses that makes it feel like a lull, as they were stunning last month. My daylilies are all small clumps, but even a single flower is lovely, like that red one.

  6. Pauline says:

    No July lull here, the garden is firing on all cylinders at the moment! I don’t think my Inula is flowering yet, I must go and have a look for it. I do like your unknown daylily, nice slim petals!

    • Cathy says:

      It has been so dry here, Pauline, and I think things are just a bit tired – I only water new things and pots, and only with rain water. I wonder if the day lily is H Stafford?

  7. rusty duck says:

    Glad to see your Geum TT still flowering. Mine has gone on and on this year, just getting started on the second flush. I love it.

  8. ricki grady says:

    The colors in that last shot absolutely vibrate.

  9. Patrick says:

    Well hello to another passionate gardener,

    What a beautiful bevy of blossoms you’re sharing via May Dreams Garden. Love the gold spinning inula in all its glory. I have always wanted to grow echinops but never got around to doing it. Love the strong architectural feel of them.

    I’d be honored if you visited my blog to see my first GBBD post, only five years in the making, with a truly unique backstory,

    Best,

    Patrick

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Patrick – I will pop over and visit your blog as soon as I can and well done for working up to your first GBBD. It can be quite scarey if you have kept a low profile on your blog up to then

Something to say after reading this?

