A Fonder Heart

IMG_2389As always, it was a joy to be back home on Thursday after my few days away, not that absence could make the heart any fonder than it already is of course! Despite being ready for an afternoon nap after my exertions with Elder Daughter and The Poppet a ramble was still a necessity, although before I could get to the back door the Golfer had called me to the window to look at this newcomer : climbing rose ‘New Dawn’, climbing up one of the pillars of the pergola that is currently smothered by ‘Rambling Rector’. There had been a few blush pink buds before I left, but the warmth had teased them out and they were now vying for attention with the Rector’s creamy white abundance.

IMG_2390I sometimes forget about New Dawn, hiding as she does on this pillar not just with the Rector in her hair but half smothered by Clematis jouiniana ‘Praecox’, the latter periodically gathered up and discretely bundled together with a length of soft flexible wire. Also, she was a present and not a planned purchase, the pillar being the only place to plant her I could think of at the time. With my current enthusiasm for roses, though, I now find myself wondering about the other pillars here…..

Leaving the kitchen window for a closer inspection of New Dawn, a  ramble the garden soon reacquainted me with all my Preciouses, including the glorious deep purply-blue and HUGE pendulous blooms of this Campanula ‘Sarastro’, so far untouched  and unmunched by slimey slugs and snails:

IMG_2393

 

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens, roses and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to A Fonder Heart

  1. How DID you manage it? My Campanulas were gorgeous last year, but this year, didn’t even get to the leaf stage, courtesy of the slimy ones! New Dawn is lovely!

  2. Christina says:

    What a beautiful colour the Campanula is!

  3. MCH says:

    Oh, I love New Dawn. I planted one years ago and it did well for a while until a very aggressive variegated euonymus threatened to smother it. For two years it did not bloom well but this year I
    pulled up the aggressor and once again I am enjoying the lovely blooms of New Dawn with the
    sweet scent.

    • Cathy says:

      I am so glad it is flowering for you again – mine is actually in quite a restricted space but its roots must be spreading under the adjacent paving as it seems to be quite happy

  4. Sally says:

    It’s really fun to check out the garden after being away…and such a nice surprise….New Dawn is beautiful! The soft pink petals look like velvet.
    How large is your Campanula? It looks huge in the picture.

    • Cathy says:

      I have been out to measure the flowers – they are about three and a half inches (9cms) from sepal to furthest petal tip. There are 3 spikes on my plant which is about 30″ (75cms) tall.

  5. rusty duck says:

    Oh my, how I yearn for ‘Sarastro’. But alas, the molluscs have already been at my ‘Pantaloons’…

  6. Pauline says:

    New Dawn is so beautiful, mine too is up the first pillar of the pergola, she flops down and looks us in the eye! Your Campanular is such a gorgeous shade, really vibrant, I didn’t know they were slug caviar, so far my other varieties haven’t been touched, fingers crossed!
    Coming back from time away is always such fun trying to see what the garden has been up to in your absence.

    • Cathy says:

      My other campanulas have been OK but this was generally quite ragged last year. I am really beginning to appreciate New Dawn – the difference between a planned purchase and a gift. It sounds a popular rose, from what the comments have said.

  7. bittster says:

    Those pinks and blues really sum up June for me. New Dawn is such a vigorous rose over here, I can’t imagine it losing ground to anyone!

    • Cathy says:

      And that’s why I like the photo I use as my ‘gravatar’ so much, which I guess would have been taken in June several years ago

  8. Annette says:

    New Dawn is one of my favourites and is vigorously conquering our pergola at present. Not only is the flower of utmost perfection, the scent is heavenly as well. I had to flinch when I came to poor Praecox being bundled with a wire (!)…it’s not meant to be treated thus, it’s a wild spirit and should be free to ramble, my dear 😉

    • Cathy says:

      I can assure you that Praecox was bundled very gently, like a big hug, and carefully cossetted with soft plastic coated bendy wire that is now no longer visible – just like one’s favourite underwired bra! When I planted her there I had no idea that she was a sprawler, but once I did she readily accepted this gentle handling. No flinching required, Dearie! 🙂

Something to say after reading this?

