Rural England

IMG_2317I count myself fortunate to be living on what could be classed as ‘the rural fringe’, a small village a couple of miles outside the nearest town; it’s not what you might consider a particularly pretty village but it’s surrounded by fields and is definitely Countryside, but with the convenience of easy access to everything, whether daily or less frequent activities or needs. I never thought in my previous marriage that I would one day be living in the countryside in a characterful property with a decent size (of course it could be bigger) garden, and that on days like this I could be outside deadheading roses and all I would hear would be birdsong and the occasional ‘baah’ or ‘moo’ (depending on the current occupants of the nearest fields). Admittedly the breeze can also bring the persistent hum of traffic on the motorway if it is in a certain direction, but when the birds are happy they soon drown out any extraneous noise.

‘Rural England’, the rose above, is on the pergola attached to the side of the sitooterie at this point, but which continues along the side of the paved area behind the house with the stream on the other side. Described as a continuous flowering rambler, there are two plants which I hope will eventually clamber over the supports and onto the roof of the sitooterie; this is probably their third year here, and like ‘Blush Noisette’ in the rose garden they now seem to be taking off as they are a mass of bud and flower. A continuous flowering rambler with a scent – what more could one want?!

IMG_2316

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens, roses and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Rural England

  1. Christina says:

    Another misconception on my part! I thought from other things you have written that your house was more in a town! I obviously don’t read carefully enough. I would love a rambler that flowers continuously and was scented, but where would I put it?

  2. Pauline says:

    Your Rural England rose is beautiful, amazing that it is repeat flowering and perfumed too, what more could anyone want! I’m trying to think of where I could squeeze on in, but all my uprights already have something scrambling up, I will just have to enjoy yours!

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Pauline, and today I was looking at it from the window and visualising what it would look like when it reached the overhead supports…. Like you, it certainly makes me wonder where I could fit more roses…!

  3. Julie says:

    I have never had a rambling rose in any of my gardens, although I do remember a beautiful one in an aunt’s garden where I spent childhood holidays. I need to put this right but have been dithering over varieties – a repeat flowered rambler sounds perfect so I will add Rural England to my very long list!

    • Cathy says:

      There is a Rambling Rector here which was one of the few things we inherited – it is in full flower now but only lasts about a month. Even so, it is so stunning for that short time that it is worth it – Rural England ticks even more boxes though!

  4. AnnetteM says:

    I too would love that rose. I have a pink rambler, but it flowers for such a short time. Yours looks so much better. I don’t think I could actually throw out my rose though – I wonder if they would get on together?

    • Cathy says:

      Why not give them a try… There is a scrap of an old dark pink rambler right in the middle of our hedge, virtually smothered amongst the holly and ivy there. Last year I tried to access the roots to see if I could move it but the hedge was so thick I couldn’t get to it; this year the Golfer accidentally chopped a piece off when he was trimming the hedge so I am trying some cuttings, something I have not done before – but where to put it if they root..?!

  5. Chloris says:

    Rural England looks fabulous on your pergola. I like the way that the ramblers are just coming out, they seem to be a bit later than the climbers. And aren’ t we lucky to enjoy rural England in the places we live? The only place to be, as far as I am concerned, specially in June.

  6. your rose looks beautiful Cathy, with perfume too makes it perfect, I know just what you mean about ‘never imagined’, I longed for a garden and hoped I’d get one but until I did I didn’t really believe, sometimes in the early years living here I would pinch myself to prove I wasn’t dreaming, may you long enjoy your little bit of rural England, with visits to Scotland of course, Frances

    • Cathy says:

      Of course, Frances. And I hope you can remind yourself of your ‘never imagined’ feeling when the weather or fears about devolution are getting you down…

      • I do Cathy, the rain and this year it has continued into May and June, the previous 2 years at least May and June were dry, the rain and snp are like the maggots in a much prized apple from your own tree, they truly are the ‘blot on the landscape’, Frances

  7. It sounds and looks like heaven, Cathy! I feel a bit like that too about where we are, though it’s not such a small village. And I would agree with your comment, being a Scot, as well! So thank you, too, Chloris – enjoy the wedding! (Hopefully with lots of kilts!)

Something to say after reading this?

