One Direction

IMG_2299Taking advantage of the delayed but promised rainfall I had another afternoon taking stock, sorting out and tying up those loose ends – like moving this one directional weather vane from its previous overgrown home to somewhere it can actually be seen. A day or two of rambling past will be enough to determine whether the post needs to be hammered in any further than it was.

After today, most of my seedlings will have been planted in their final homes, although I am leaving tomatoes in their 3″ pots until the first flower, something suggested in a recent article in a IMG_2298gardening magazine. Mourning the potential loss of the large multi-stemmed Viburnum bodnantense ‘Dawn’ I decided to plant the last of my sweet peas around the base so they can climb up the stems whether dead or not – if there is still no sign of life later in the year the stems can be cut back once the sweet peas have finished flowering. The earlier sweet peas were much taller than this when they were planted out, but by now I want closure on my sowings!

IMG_2297Taking stock has included planting out the three roses bought last week – two ‘Guinée’ to supplement struggling ones in the rose garden and Rosa ‘Susan Williams-Ellis’, a rose mentioned by several other bloggers, which was planted adjacent to the Hydrangea arborescens ‘Annabelle’ with the intention that it flowers through the canopy of the hydrangea. I am indebted to another of you out there for this planting suggestion, but so many of us have written about roses recently I can’t remember who it was – thank you anyway!

Whilst mooching I have been pleased to see stacks of buds on the stunning bluey-purple Campanula ‘Sarastro’ and the re-emergence of Gladiolus ‘The Bride’, the latter now well-sheltered and supported by adjacent plants – the sun has taken away its glory in the photo, but at least you can see how at home it looks with the geranium and tradescantia (the former a named variety but the latter long having lost its label). I might even spare a spike to put in a vase on Monday….

budsandthings

 

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to One Direction

  1. What a shame about your Viburnum bodantense dawn. My neighbour has one that is stunning in winter so I have planted a very small one this year and am looking forward to good things from it in years to come. What happened to it?

    • Cathy says:

      I bought one after lots of bloggers praised it – it is in a big pot and it was a mild winter and although it was also wet it definitely wasn’t waterlogged so I really don’t know what happened. It produced buds over winter but they just dried up on the stems 😦

  2. Christina says:

    Shame about the Viburnum, usually it is a very tough shrub, were there signs of anything in the roots? Might be worth tipping the pot out to check. I envy you the rain!

    • Cathy says:

      I shall wait till later in the year to look at the roots now that I have put the sweet peas in 🙂 And we didn’t get any rain 😦 but did get a very strange and very strong wind that came from nowhere and went again in about 5 minutes!

  3. Anna says:

    I have just chuckled at your wish to have closure on your sowings. I know that feeling well. After a while that feeling of love and glowing pride can turn into some rather negative thoughts 🙂 Your new white rose should look a treat when it takes off.

  4. I’ve chosen a similar combo with “Annabelle”, using pink “Gertrude Jekyll”. The unopened buds of Annabelle give a frothy accompaniment to the blowsy rose blooms. Nice! I’m saddened looking at your Campanula ” Sarastro”. Last year, after not doing much in its 1st year, I was concerned, but it came up and flowered incredibly well. This year? Nothing! Hardly even any leaves. I’m blaming the slugs!

    • Cathy says:

      Ah, so it was YOU! Thank you – such a good idea and an excuse for another rose! Shame about your Sarastro – fortunately the slugs haven’t discovered mine yet. Certainly more buds than last year so it is beginning to bulk up nicely.

  5. Didn’t realise it was me! Thank you – though I’m surprised you need an excuse to buy a rose while visiting David Austin! Hope the combo works well for you too.

    • Cathy says:

      Unless someone else has planted one next to their Annabelle – had you mentioned it on your blog recently? It’s a different rose for me though, as I was sticking with white.

  6. Yes, I did! Glad you like the idea. I think the white combo will be stunning!

  7. I was so impressed to see your ingenuity to think ahead and plant the sweet peas as a bit of camouflage! Good planning. I just love all the green! I know the flowering plants are the centerpiece, but in our dry southwest, I’m missing the color green! 🙂

    • Cathy says:

      Oh but in fact it was quite the opposite – I didn’t really have anywhere for them to go! But yes, I agree it ended up being an inspired location! Ironically I looked out at the garden the morning I wrote that post and noticed the huge mount of green and almost wished there was just a little less – the more leafy the trees are the more shady the garden gets! I would expect you might like some shade though!

Something to say after reading this?

