Posy, Poppet and Pickle

IMG_2120Firstly, apologies for not replying to many comments in the last week or so – all comments are read and appreciated but sometimes other things get in the way of responding to them. Yesterday was another such day, although having instigated Monday’s vase theme I made a point of following up all the vase posts and comments am bowled over by how much everyone is enjoying the experience.

IMG_2119 As well as the flowers in a vase  on a Monday I am also enjoying putting together posies for friends and family – and above (and left) is a posy I constructed yesterday to take down to Elder Daughter to welcome the arrival of the new Poppet (or Pickle, depending who is cuddling her). The posy included the versatile Astrantia ‘Buckland’ , aquilegia (probably ‘William Guinness’), a single stem of Allium aflatunense, seed heads of Hellebore ‘Harvington White’ and flowering stems of Luzula nivea, tied together with string. It’s almost more satisfying than the vase – well, it’s easier, as there is no arranging to do! I am looking forward to putting together more posies this summer, particularly once there are flowers to cut in the cutting beds – and vases don’t have to be restricted to a Monday anyway!

IMG_2140We were only paying a short visit to the new arrival so made a stop on our return journey at Hughenden, Benjamin Disraeli’s home in the Chiltern Hills in Buckinghamshire. As members of the National Trust even short stops for loos, tea and a stroll round the grounds are viable, and it was too hot to delay the rest of our journey for long. Mrs Disraeli was the gardener of the family, but favoured formal layouts so there wasn’t a lot of plant interest, although the walled garden and picnic orchard were home to 57 different  varieties of apple tree and there was an attractive and very large bug box in the former:

IMG_2136

 

This entry was posted in Being Creative, Gardening, Gardens, In a Vase on Monday, Visiting gardens & days out, Wildlife and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Posy, Poppet and Pickle

  1. AnnetteM says:

    I love the bug box! Makes my bee hotel look tiny!

  2. Christina says:

    I don’t think you know what you’ve started with ‘in a vase…..’ I now can’t bare not to have flowers indoors and as you say no need to restrict myself to Mondays. Congratulations on the new babe.

  3. Anna says:

    Oh I’m so sorry Cathy. I’ve just realised that I was so pleased for you that the camper van is a step nearer to reality that I was most remiss in not congratulating you on the more important event! Hope you enjoyed cuddling the new arrival and wishing her a long, happy and healthy life full of flowers. Your posy is just the perfect starting point for her to feast her eyes on.

  4. Congrats on your little “Poppet”! The family are sure to love their posy – such a nice thought! I’m so inspired by all the arrangements I see and amazed by what can be achieved with a little imagination. As you say, no reason to restrict it to once a week!

    • Cathy says:

      Thank you – and I know I would rather have a hand picked posy than shop bought flowers, certainly now I am hooked on the Monday vases 🙂

  5. Kris P says:

    Congratulations to all!

  6. Chloris says:

    How wonderful to meet your new granddaughter. You must be so excited.
    There is a Colchicum called ‘Disraeli’. I wonder how it got its name.

    • Cathy says:

      It was indeed – but even more exciting for Elder Daughter 🙂 I am always intrigued to know what/who plants are named after too ps the library failed me on the Reginald Farrer book

  7. wellywoman says:

    Congratulations! And what a lovely posy. We used to live near Hughenden Manor. Some stunning views if I remember rightly. That’s a fantastic bug box. One day I’ll get round to making one.

  8. croftgarden says:

    A lovely posy, the hint of purple from the allium is a great combination with the white and green. I’m very taken with the white Astrantia.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Christine – and that astrantia is a tough as old boots. I can’t fault it – it’s everything I would want to be if I was a plant!

      • croftgarden says:

        After 3 years my Astrantias have decided to survive and flower. I think that a white one would be a useful addition to the borders which are definitely “over-heating”.

        • Cathy says:

          Ahah – would you like me to send you some A Buckland and perhaps some Shaggy? I certainly have plenty of the former so you would be very welcome.

  9. bittster says:

    I also love the astrantia! Congrats on the new arrival, and I’m also a big fan of the vase in Monday. I don’t partake but it’s always interesting to see what others are doing to start the week!

Something to say after reading this?

