In a Vase on Monday: I Can Sing a Rainbow

IMG_2118With time being limited today, rather than searching out enough roses with stems suitable for cutting I took advantage of the geums that are currently holding the fort in the bold borders and added other material to create a rainbow vase. The red and orange geums are ‘Mrs Bradshaw’ and ‘Totally Tangerine’, with single stems of ‘Lady Stratheden’ (yellow) and ‘Queen of Orange’. There was obviously plenty of choice for the green element, but seedheads of the more structured Hellebore foetidus were the chosen ones, with the Aquilegia ‘Black Barlow’ lookalike for indigo and Phlox divaricata ‘Clouds of Perfume’ for the violet. The ‘vase’ had come with a hyacinth in as a present last year, and the sphere is rainbow obsidian.

IMG_2113rainbow.vaseIt is such fun choosing things from the garden or thereabouts to put in a vase on Monday, so if you would like to join in and share what you have picked then just include a link from your post to this and a link to yours in a comment on this post. It would be lovely to see you!

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens, In a Vase on Monday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to In a Vase on Monday: I Can Sing a Rainbow

  1. Pingback: In a vase on Monday – purple circle | Duver Diary

  2. jenhumm116 says:

    Hi RitG, I love your rainbow arrangement, it suits this glorious weather we’re having! My first ‘In a vase on Monday’ attempt is here, http://duverdiary.wordpress.com/
    Many thanks for hosting. Jenny

    • Cathy says:

      Hi Jenny – thank you for joining in. I look forward to popping over to see your vase – we seem to be providing inspiration to each other week by week and really look forward to the challenge so hope you will too 🙂

  3. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday – A very perfumed vase | Creating my own garden of the Hesperides

  4. Christina says:

    Very pretty Cathy, it looks grat against the wall-paper; is that where it will stay? Here’s my link, I didn’t choose roses either but I did have things from the cuttings bed, which is really fun. http://myhesperidesgarden.wordpress.com/2014/05/19/in-a-vase-on-monday-a-very-perfumed-vase/
    Thanks for hosting!

    • Cathy says:

      Hi Christina – after its photo shoot it was moved to the kitchen table where I can look at it frequently, but that is a good spot for a little posy so perhaps as the year goes I should fill more than one vase. I am eye-ing up my autumn sweet peas which have the first sign of buds, but otherwise no flowers from seed in the offing here yet

  5. johnvic8 says:

    I am joining your Monday sharing. You can see my offering at johnsviccellio.wordpress.com. Thanks for leading this effort…a wonderful way to share.

  6. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday: A Red Peony | Words and Herbs

  7. Cathy says:

    I love colour, and putting everything in a vase together is such a great idea! It looks very pretty against your background too Cathy. Here’s my post for this week: http://wordsandherbs.wordpress.com/2014/05/19/in-a-vase-on-monday-a-red-peony/
    Thanks and have a good week!

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Cathy – it was a very quick effort for today, but it still worked out quite well. The peony season seems to be starting – although not here as my buds are tiny! Look forward to seeing yours

  8. Kris P says:

    Your rainbow composition is just like a stroll through the garden, Cathy. Thanks again for hosting. Here’s my contribution this week: http://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2014/05/in-vase-on-monday-agapanthus-takes-lead.html

  9. Pingback: In A Vase On Monday – Peonies and a Winner | Peonies & Posies

  10. pbmgarden says:

    I like how your brighter colors are balanced with the softer blues in front and they all play off the floral paper background. So lovely Cathy! My vase is:
    http://pbmgarden.wordpress.com/2014/05/19/in-a-vase-on-monday-sweet-william-and-peony-buds/
    As always thanks for hosting. Susie

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Susie. It’s good how ideas just suggest themselves – the bright geums just shouted ‘rainbow’ at me and the rest was easy! Ooh – more peonies I see in your vase….!

  11. Julie says:

    What a beautiful colourful display Cathy – I expect it reflects your mood. The flowers work so well with your wallpaper! Isn’t it lovely to have so much to choose from that a quick arrangement can be made without much preplanning.

    You can find my contribution this week at http://peoniesandposies.com/2014/05/19/in-a-vase-on-monday-peonies-and-a-winner/

  12. Chloris says:

    Lovely rainbow colours. I love your Geums.

  13. Chloris says:

    Success! Most of my comments have been going into people’s spam the last few days but that one worked. I love that Phlox, it is a new one on me, is it fragrant?

  14. For something you say was so rushed, it appears to have had a lot of thought – so lovely!

Something to say after reading this?

