Fit to Burst

IMG_1989There are many delightful examples of buds bursting open like this Allium atropurpureum, or heaving and straining to get out like these other alliums, christophii and nectaroscordum , the latter with an emerging leafy background of thalictrum (probably aquilegifolium).

Fit.to.burst2I am well-pleased with these promising buds, of which there are several – Aquilegia ‘ Green Apples’, grown from seed last year. Seeing a picture on the front of the packet and seeing the real thing are very different so my anticipation is mounting!

IMG_1980Equally exciting is the recent discovery of the bud (only one) below left on what I think is a white ranunculus, although I have never successfully achieved a flower on a ranunculus and it must at least a couple of years since I last tried, so this corm has been sitting around twiddling its thumbs at least since then. Below right is another beautifully hairy bud, this time herbaceous Papaver ‘Victoria Louise’ who was not in flower till the end of May last year but will soon be resplendent in salmon pink frills after a few more days of sunshine.

Fit.to.burst3The number of buds on the rhododendrons in the woodland edge border is a surprise follow-on from last year’s hot and dry summer – the one below right is R yakushimanum Vintage Rose’ – whilst in the blue and white border the punk hairstyle of Centaurea montana will soon be swapped for the blue Afro of the fully-open flowers. This centaurea has clumped up almost too happily and will need to be reduced as other additions to the borders mature, but will have more than earned its keep in the meantime.

I wonder what will be bursting out tomorrow….?

Fit.to.burst1

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Fit to Burst

  1. Liz says:

    Hi Cathy,

    My Allium are also beginning to burst from their skins today… Looking forward to plenty of purple pom poms very soon!

    I’ll have to check my Poppies to see if I have any buds yet; at last check no Patty’s Plum or none on an unknown/unnamed large red one.

    Green apples looks interesting and I’m looking forward to seeing more of it soon.

    • Cathy says:

      I need to check the labels on my allium as I get mixed up with some of the purple ones and have remnants from previous years plus some new in last year. No buds on my PP yet, although mine have always struggled – must get more of the big blousy poppies as they make such a statement when in flower, don’t they?

  2. Christina says:

    Yes, the anticipation when the bud is just about to open is exciting, my alliums are at a similar stage which is ineresting as I also have roses and bearded Iris in flower now.

  3. Pauline says:

    Yes, it looks like a ranunculus to me. I got some mixed ones last year, put them in pots as I wasn’t sure if they were hardy or not. I then forgot to bring them in over the winter and now have them flowering, most are white with one pink. As we didn’t have any frost, I still don’t know if they are hardy or not, maybe you can tell me?!

    • Cathy says:

      I think they need mildish winters which is why I have had little success in the last couple of years when I tried. I was going to order some more this year but then the dilemma is whether to put them in pots or take the risk and plant them outside….. Why this single one has survived I don’t know!

  4. I’ve been wandering around my “Estate”, thinking the same thing. How many flowers just waiting to explode! I, too, am anticipating poppies, alliums and nectaroscordums as well as irises, aquilegiums and my first roses. I’ve been thinking of photographing them in their pregnant state. Now, I may just do that tomorrow, if they haven’t “popped” !

    • Cathy says:

      You might miss the moment, otherwise – I guess some more warm sunshine (and today has been the sunniest day of the year so far, according to our solar panels) and they will be opening faster than we can photograph them! I have a few unnamed aquilegia about to open too – but it’s Green Apples I am waiting for!

  5. Chloris says:

    I love your shot of the Allium about to pop and all the other buds. In fact your post sums up the garden this week; lots and lots of nice plump buds and all the anticipation and excitement of the daily walk to see what has opened.

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, Chloris, it’s wonderful isn’t it? And yet some people don’t feel the excitement like we do…. sad, very sad…! 🙂

  6. AnnetteM says:

    Love your photos, especially the allium. I have been counting the buds on my poppies too – they will be a while yet though. I think it is the same phenomenon as a watched kettle….

    • Cathy says:

      I found another poppy bud today – but only on Victoria Louise and none of the few others. I know what you mean about kettle watching – I am doing a lot of that, particularly in the greenhouse!

  7. pbmgarden says:

    Nice allium Cathy. I’m watching for mine to pop as well. This time of year brings daily surprises, doesn’t it?

  8. The Allium atropurpureum is simply spectacular! I have some blue alliums, but I have never seen this color. It’s very special. Yes indeed! I’d say you have spring bursting out all over. 🙂 Beautiful photos.

  9. Great photos Cathy, it is such an exciting time of year, particularly when you finally get to see plants flowering that you grew from seed. I remember being delighted with “green apples” when I grew her, I’m sure you will be too. I must sow poppy seed, I’ve left it so blasted late!

    • Cathy says:

      Hope you get your poppies sown – I have just planted out the ones I sowed in January (Black Beauty) but a later sowing of anther type has done nothing yet.

  10. Anna says:

    Isn’t it just great fun guessing just when bursting will occur. ‘Green Apples’ looks as she will make her debut this week Cathy – the anticipation must be mounting.

  11. Amy Saab says:

    I’ve never seen Allium in that stage, I don’t have it in my garden. But now that i’ve seen yours. Off to the nursery today. Beautiful photography. ~amy

    • Cathy says:

      Thank you Amy – although some nurseries may well sell alliums in flower they will be much cheaper bought as bulbs and planted in the autumn. Hope they do well for you!

  12. Christina says:

    Aren’t buds such a tease and a promise of wonderful things to come?

Something to say after reading this?

