Wordless Wednesday: (another) Crime Scene

IMG_1784

Image | This entry was posted in bulbs, corms and tubers, Gardening, Gardens, pests and weeds, Wordless Wednesday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Wordless Wednesday: (another) Crime Scene

  1. Christina says:

    Oh! that is sad. Any idea of the culprit this time?

    • Cathy says:

      The snail trail gave the game away – although it must have had a bit of a shock when it ate all the way through the stem it was nibbling!

  2. A Garden of Threads says:

    Squirrel!!!!

  3. Oh, my! You ARE under attack! It looked so lovely too! I’d like to think it could be salvaged in a vase, like my hellebore, but the stem looks a bit too short. Which reminds me, when talking about garden pests, I must add cats to the list!

  4. croftgarden says:

    Oh no – a serial offender!

  5. readerbuzz says:

    Who’s under suspicion? Cat? Dog? Possum?

    Here’s my Wordless Wednesday!

  6. Pauline says:

    I think you need the Garden Police to stake out your garden overnight!

  7. sueturner31 says:

    pigeons…..!!!!…????

  8. Chloris says:

    I think you have a slug or a snail whose got a grudge against you.
    I see someone has suggested a possum. We are quite lucky with just the odd rabbit or pheasant. It could be worse, we could have possums. Er… what exactly is a possum?

  9. Cathy I was thinking a bird and I think may be Sue has it, starlings can do nearly as much damage to the flowers on some of my small plants as Jessica’s pheasant does to her larger flowered plants, a starling striped a very flowery oxlip plant 2 weeks ago, leaving all the flowers scattered around the plant, I hope you either find the culprit or it changes it’s habits,
    as to why certain plants, I wonder that too as slugs have taken to my newly emerging echinacea leaves but no others, not that I want them to eat the others, Frances

    • Cathy says:

      One of the quirks of nature – with the fritillaries one clump is at the edge of the border but the other is more hidden – so someone knew how to find it. Interesting about your starling damage as we do tend to get gangs of them visiting in the summer but they just make a mess of the bird food without damaging plants

  10. Elizabeth says:

    I know slugs do a job on my hostas, but I never knew they could do this kind of damage. The “footprints” do suggest their presence, tho. Ugh, how frustrating!

  11. rusty duck says:

    The clue must be in the white deposit… bird dropping or slug trail?

  12. Anna says:

    Methinks that the menu provided chez Rambling is simply too tempting. Hope that there are no more nocturnal nibblings.

  13. Julie says:

    What a shame Cathy! I am constantly under siege from all sorts of attackers so I know how you feel. I get particularly upset when rabbits bite the heads of my hellebore flowers – they never eat them, so like your tulip I just find them lying sadly on the ground. At least you have made use of this little beauty.

Something to say after reading this?

