In a Vase on Monday: Six Scents

IMG_1778A dull dreich day made photographing today’s vase difficult, particularly as one of my favourite spots on top of the woodburner-effect gas stove was out of the running as the Golfer had been toasting himself in front of it and it was too hot to place the glass on!

As in recent weeks, I knew in advance who the main contenders for the vase were – knowing that if it wasn’t today these hyacinths, culled from the ice cream planters, wouldn’t be around long enough for any future vase. The bulbs were virtually freebies to me and of an unknown variety so I had no qualms about cutting them – and indeed was IMG_1775looking forward to enjoying their fragrance inside as well as out. What receptacle to use? A bit of dithering led me to one of the few ‘real’ vases I have (and possibly never used before), Royal Brierley cut glass, and in turn this seemed to demand something sprawling or trailing that would not detract from the chunkiness of the hyacinths. The wild plum blossom that had been a mass of white in the hedge had suddenly fallen after the rain, but a quick ramble prompted the use of a number of strands of the dark leaved Clematis montana ‘Warwickshire Rose’, which is  budding up nicely through the magnolia and dangling down in unwary faces. The single prop is a Caithness Glass perfume vase, not only linking with the title but also picking out the colour of the hyacinths.

IMG_1770I quite like the shadowy almost faded version of the vase too, but clearly still need to work on my indoor photography! What do you have in your garden that you could bring inside to give added pleasure to this grey Monday – or to share your sunshine? If you would like to join in, just post as usual but with a link to this blog and leave a link to yours in a comment so we can share in your joys. My Rhapsody in Blue went on playing nearly all week – the pulmonaria were brilliant as a cut flower as was the comfrey after initially drooping. A great success!

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens, In a Vase on Monday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to In a Vase on Monday: Six Scents

  1. Christina says:

    I can imagine tht the hyacinths must smell delicious indoors, although sometimes they can even be a bit over-powering. Here is the link to my post: http://myhesperidesgarden.wordpress.com/2014/04/07/a-vase-on-monday-needs-must-2/ thanks for hosting Cathy, this is becoming more fun with each week.

  2. Pingback: A Vase on Monday – Needs Must | Creating my own garden of the Hesperides

  3. croftgarden says:

    I couldn’t decide whether this one had a touch of the Constance Spry or 17C Dutch Delft School – sort of Vermeer with attitude. I particularly liked the third photograph with the flowers appearing to glow in the dark. Sounds a bit like “damning with faint praise” but I happen to like dark 17C Dutch paintings.

  4. Chloris says:

    Christine is right it does look rather like a Dutch painting. The Hyacinths are a lovely colour and I bet they smell lovely. If it wasn’t raining I’d go and pick some myself. You never get to smell them outside. I love your title!

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Chloris – and it was raining when I picked these, so you’ll need a different excuse! I had no choice about the colour of these hyacinths – but I do like a good title 😉

  5. Delighted to be following you with these excellent posts every time! Thanks for all the time and creativity it takes to give your readers something worthwhile.

    • Cathy says:

      Oh thank you Stepheny – I really look forward to these Monday posts, not just finding something myself but seeing what other people have come up with 🙂

  6. I can almost smell them from here! Lovely. Take a look at my effort on http://digwithdorris.wordpress.com/22014/04/07/in-a-vase-on-monday-5

  7. Kris P says:

    Your hyacinths look lovely! I often have difficulty photographing bouquets in the house too – I tried 4 different spots for today’s creation before returning to my usual spot on the kitchen counter. My creation this week is also scented: http://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2014/04/in-vase-on-monday-sweet-peas.html

  8. Pingback: In A Vase On Monday | Peonies & Posies

  9. Another wonderful display! It never ceases to amaze me, what can work well in flower arrangements. Who would have thought of using clematis, in a vase? Inspired! Well, I certainly am! I’m getting so many ideas from all of your vases.

  10. Julie says:

    It was a good idea to use the hyacinths today Cathy as mine have already finished and what a good idea to use clematis stems – another one I will steal at some point! I particularly like your third photo – dark and moody backgrounds are very popular in flower photography at the moment. Thank you again for hosting this lovely weekly event!

    You can see my contribution at http://www.peoniesandposies.com.

  11. Cathy says:

    I love that last photo Cathy – it looks like an oil painting! I do love hyacinths outdoors, but find them a ittle too scented for indoors. They are so pretty though. I have also joined in again this week: http://wordsandherbs.wordpress.com/2014/04/07/in-a-vase-on-monday-white-blue-and-yellow/ Thanks for hosting this meme – inspiration for me indeed!

  12. Sarah says:

    Just adore this vase. I love sprawling and trailing! Adds a touch of humour and lightness to a display. I’m waiting for the rain to clear then I’ll be busy planting hyacinths in the Chicken Walk….

    • Cathy says:

      Oh thanks you Sarah – I do like a bit of subtle humour. I am now wondering whether the clematis buds might actually open during the life of this vase – they are a dark pink and would be a stunning addition if they did. I can pick more though, and use them in another vase. Are you planting any particular colour of hyacinth?

      • Sarah says:

        I think I’m going to plant white ones to go with bluebells I’ve been encouraging to naturalise and perhaps something yellow…. I remember making a “twig tree” for Easter in the UK. I hung eater ornaments on it and chocolate and eventually it came into bud and was covered in fresh spring leaves. Perhaps your clematis will bloom in the warmth of your house 🙂 By the way…. the lily that featured in my last vase with the amazing scent is actually an Amaryllis ‘Belladonna’!!

  13. Pingback: Minarets & Lion’s Tail | Petal & Pins

  14. pbmgarden says:

    The hyacinths look very elegant in your “real” vase Cathy. You captured lovely images of the flowers I think. I agree it is often difficult to photograph these indoor arrangements. I am late posting tonight but here is my arrangement this week: http://pbmgarden.wordpress.com/2014/04/07/in-a-vase-on-monday-branching-into-spring/ Thanks for hosting. It’s always fun.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Susie. It’s good to use things that aren’t ‘real’ vases though – but it made me realise how infrequently I have used proper vases in the past! The hyacinths are lolling about nicely now in their real vase!

  15. Anna says:

    A most vivid colour splash Cathy and the bonus of scent too. It was indeed a ‘dull dreich’ day but hopefully today will see an improvement. Interesting to read about the pulmonaria’s staying power.

  16. Annette says:

    I can even smell it here! How wonderful, Cathy, and it certainly brought lots of colour into a dull day. Hope the sun shines for you again 🙂

  17. Pity there’s no smellyvision… We had a rather ghastly bicoloured pink hyacinth popping up in a couple of places this year. TNG laughed at me moaning at them – and I came in to the lounge to find he had cut them and put them in a vase by my seat!! Rotter… No scent either… The flowers, not TNG.

Something to say after reading this?

