Mum’s the Word

IMG_1728I mentioned some time ago that I was looking into using the Blurb photo book format to make a physical copy of my blog for ready reference. Apparently Blurb enables the direct import of blogs – which it does, but if you blog most days and use more than one photograph it becomes completely unwieldy and difficult to edit, as well as quite pricey. So, a nice idea but unfortunately not practical.

Since then, it occurred to me that I could instead use Blurb more simply for my blog poems, not just for my own records but as a present for my Mum on Mother’s Day. As it was compiled in retrospect it still took more than just a little time to put together, as the poems and photographs had to be retrieved individually from the blog and computer picture library – not only this, but my usual poetry format did not always fit easily onto the pages. It was, however, time well spent as apart from a typo and a couple of formatting issues the end result was most satisfactory. These were readily corrected online (in case I decide to have more printed – just two this time!) and for any future volumes (if there are any!) a separate folder can be kept with poems and their pictures to make production easier.

Do have a look at the Blurb site – it takes a little getting used to but is easy to use once you have got your head round it – and the books make a lovely present or keepsake, or you can of course go the whole way and make them available for sale….

MumstheWord

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Gardens, Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Mum’s the Word

  1. pbmgarden says:

    Congratulations on your book! It looks nice and bet your mother will be so delighted.

  2. Kris P says:

    What a beautiful memento of your garden and a thoughtful gift. The poems you shared are wonderful.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Kris – the book was two years’ worth of poems from my blog so perhaps in another couple of years there will be another one!

  3. Christina says:

    What a lovely Mother’s day gift! I’m sure she was really pleased.

  4. Annette says:

    Bravo, Cathy, well done! I bet your mum was delighted…I’d have been!

  5. Chloris says:

    A lovely idea. A bet your Mum was delighted. It’s also a wonderful way of having a permanent record of the garden.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Chloris – and it would have been good to have had the whole blog as a book too. Perhaps I will just print out a paper version of the posts at some – will take ages to do them all though!

  6. It looks beautiful! I have made Blurb books for our business highlighting our trees we have for sale as well as a business portfolio of sorts. The hard part for me was selecting just a few photos to go in the book. It is fairly easy as you stated but I do agree you saying it does get pricey at times. Enjoy them!

    • Cathy says:

      I was really pleased with the quality of them though – I had the hardback with the ‘wrap around’ printed cover, but basic paper. I haven’t known of anyone who had had them done before now.

  7. croftgarden says:

    Lovely idea – I’d never considered putting a collection of posts and photos together – thanks for the tip.

Something to say after reading this?

