Wordless Wednesday: Persian Pearls

Tulipa humilis 'Persian Pearl'

 

This entry was posted in bulbs, corms and tubers, Gardening, Gardens, Wordless Wednesday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Wordless Wednesday: Persian Pearls

  1. Christina says:

    Persian Pearls are lovely, but I find they only flower for a very short time here; how long do they flower for you? We both picked tulips today!

    • Cathy says:

      Ah, not sure Christina. These are in planters with some dinky roses and last year, their first year, it was mid April before they flowered but I can’t recall how long they lasted. The T clusiana certainly flower for a few weeks. I’ll let you know about these – I only noticed them this morning so it was another welcome surprise!

  2. readerbuzz says:

    That’s a perfect name for those beautiful flowers.

    Here’s my Wordless Wednesday: Crayons.

  3. Sheryl says:

    Oh the potential!

  4. Simply beautiful! I’ve never grown them. I’ll have to check their hardiness zone. 🙂

    • Cathy says:

      The little species tulips tend to be hardier than the taller tulips – they flower earlier and can be left in the ground in the UK. I like them a lot, these T humilis and T clusiana too

  5. Julie says:

    These are stunning Cathy – another one for my list! I haven’t planted any species tulips yet – I expect that these will appeal to rabbits and chickens like the bigger tulips do so I will need a safe place for them.

  6. Chloris says:

    I love Persian Pearls and just wait until they open in the sun, their insides are so pretty.

Something to say after reading this?

