In a Vase on Monday: Twist and Shout

IMG_1698There was a three-pronged approach to this vase: a desire to use the ‘Tête-à-Tête’ before they were past their best, the contrast of the fresh green leaves emerging out of the twisted hazel stems retained from a previous vase, and the rediscovery of these two vintage pots with a drip glaze the colour of which cried out for daffodils to complement them. Full size daffodils would swallow up the pots as they are only tiny and even the ‘Tête-à-Tête’ had to be trimmed more than I expected – having tried to find buds that weren’t fully open there were only a few so a generous collection of whatever came to hand was used instead. Curiously, there seemed only to be a handful of stems out of all of ours that did actually have flowers that were ‘head-to-head’.

The title suggested itself from the twisted hazel – and of course daffodils shout ‘Spring is on its way’ to anyone who cares to listen. I did think we had a copy of the original ‘Twist and Shout’ single, but it must be one of the records that disappeared when we took the remnants of our separate record collections to a car boot sale some years ago, so today’s props are a pile of other 60s singles and a book to provide more detail about them!

A simple pair of vases, but ones that will bring pleasure over several days. Inevitably the choice of material will gradually be getting wider as the year goes on, so let’s not forget these simple understated pleasures. If you would like to share something you have picked from your garden and pop it in a vase on Mondays then do join in too – whether simply or expertly created, it is encouraging us not only to be creative but bringing some of the outside in and reminding us to look outwards as well as inwards. Either regularly or occasionally it would be lovely to share your creations, so do include a link to this post and vice versa. Enjoy your Monday!

This entry was posted in Being Creative, bulbs, corms and tubers, Gardening, Gardens, In a Vase on Monday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to In a Vase on Monday: Twist and Shout

  1. pbmgarden says:

    I love this Cathy–my husband and I just completed a great Coursera online class, The History of the Beatles, so I’m with you on this Twist and Shout theme. The daffodils look right at home in these pretty vintage pots. I hadn’t thought through the reason for the name, Tête à Tête. In my garden I too have seen only a few arranged in that manner and thought it was an anomaly. Thanks for hosting again. My post is found at:
    https://pbmgarden.wordpress.com/2014/03/24/in-a-vase-on-monday-drifts-of-color/

    • Cathy says:

      How lovely for you and your husband to do a course together – it’s good to have a mix of shared and separate interests. My Younger Daughter was telling me she and her boyfriend have arranged a w/e in Liverpool for their anniversary, with Beatles places on their itinerary of course! Thanks for joining in – I look forward to seeing your drifts

  2. Christina says:

    You know I love daffodils so your creation today really appeals to me. Simple one type of flower vases are very attractive, with just the twist of the hazel. Perfect. Here’s my link: http://myhesperidesgarden.wordpress.com/2014/03/24/a-vase-on-monday-a-mix-of-colours/

  3. Chloris says:

    Hello Cathy, I love your Twist and Shout. What gorgeous pots, as you say just right for daffodils.
    I am linking with you today with a Vase on Monday,.except I don’t know how to it from your blog, but I have linked from mine.

  4. Kris P says:

    Your ‘Twist and Shout’ arrangement is great. I love the vases. I found you via Chloris’s page and I’ll keep your meme in mind – I appreciate opportunities to arrange flowers from my garden and haven’t done so in a few months now.

  5. Pingback: In A Vase On Monday – French Fancy | Peonies & Posies

  6. Julie says:

    Your Tete a Tete look fantastic in those containers Cathy – they must have been made with daffodils in mind. Most of my Tete a Tete have already gone over, so you are lucky to still have some. I do agree that it is very important to savour the moment in our gardens – things move on so quickly and it is such a long time till we see them again. Thank you again for hosting this inspiring meme!

    My contribution this week is at http://www.peoniesandposies.com.

  7. Sarah says:

    So lovely to see the brilliant yellow of spring daffs Cathy!! I am in between seasons with the tail end of summer roses, dahlias and cosmos and the Autumn leaves starting to think about changing colour 🙂 Not sure if there’s a Beatles song to cover that!! Love your themes!

  8. Pingback: An Autumn Weekend | Petal & Pins

  9. Petal & Pins says:

    I love seeing what each Monday brings from your garden Cathy. You have inspired me to create one from mine.
    http://www.petalandpins.com/2014/03/31/an_autum_weekend/

Something to say after reading this?

