Not In My Backyard

notmybackyard

Thank you to everyone for your best wishes on my two year blogging birthday – so nice to read all your lovely comments. The experience has certainly exceeded any expectations I might have had when I started out two years ago – not difficult, as my expectations were zilch, the blog having been started as a means of recording what was happening in the garden and perhaps as a vehicle for expressing myself in poetry every so often.

Like Topsy, it has grown since then and taken me on a wholly unexpected journey – not only have I been supported and encouraged in my gardening exploits and developed my knowledge and skills but in doing so have built up a number of on-line friendships which have already included meeting up with one blogger (thanks, Janet – and for the biscuits!) and also the receiving or exchanging of plants and seeds (thanks Anna, Sue, Louise and Janet). Integral to the blog has also been the sheer pleasure of writing, using words to their best advantage – including the poetry I had hoped for – and the taking of photographs, something I may try and improve on in the future.

Both the latter were essential to the original reasoning behind the blog, keeping a record of the garden, and this has undoubtedly been achieved, bringing with it the joys of observation, discovery and wonderment – and a renewed closeness to the earth and everything that comes from it, leaving me even more grounded than I was before I started my ramblings.

All this has come at a price though, and as Rambling in the Garden has become such an integral part of my life it has also taken up an increasing amount of time – not that I resent the time of course, but there are other things I would like to do which I haven’t made time for, particularly on the creative line. I have diligently posted every day, always having something to say (and hopefully worth saying), so perhaps I could reduce the number of posts – old habits die hard though – or keep them shorter, which I have tried to do in recent weeks. Reading and replying to comments are met with equal diligence, as are the reading and commenting on other blogs –  bringing pleasure, knowledge and laughter, none of which I would like to stop. Regardless, Rambling in the Garden will continue apace!

The unusually early posting yesterday was the result of an equally early start travelling up to my Mum’s, in whose garden the above ‘lake’ is – despite installation of a land drain the lake arrives almost every time it rains (which tends to be frequently) but disappears fairly quickly in dryer spells, a product of a high water table and the rocky (slate) substrata. I suspect it has more than outstayed its not-even-lukewarm welcome this winter!

This entry was posted in Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Not In My Backyard

  1. Ben @ QGS says:

    Sadly there doesn’t seem like much can be done about this sort of thing, my old back garden used to floor in exactly the same way – a proper pain

  2. Christina says:

    After reading that your blog was two years old I realised that mine was 4 this month – I can hardly believe it. Following others and reading their comments have been essential to me, not now living in a gardening community. I do think of regular commenters as my friends and appreciate their honest comments even when they are criticisms which is what you want from friends. I’m not as diligent as you, posting every day but do know that it takes time and effort. I love reading your ‘ramblings’ and hope you continue to find time. Have a nice break with your mum. Christina

  3. cheryl says:

    Blogging indeed opens up a whole new world. I also know just how addictive and time consuming it can be.

    Enjoy your time with your Mother……..

  4. croftgarden says:

    I would not be alone in missing your daily post, although sometimes it is a struggle to keep up.
    As soon as I saw the picture I knew it had to be an “island garden”, a bit water logged at present but by June it will be glorious.

    • Cathy says:

      I thought you might recognise it! Unfortunately Mum’s garden is never likely to be glorious these days – but the weather might be occasionally! Thanks for the varied exchanges over our blogging time together – always enjoyed!

  5. AnnetteM says:

    It is an amazing journey isn’t it and I am only at the three month stage. I don’t think I could post every day without other things suffering, even if I had enough to say. I have been very impressed at all you find to write about. However, even halving your posts would be easier on yourself and give you more time for other things. Do please keep commenting, though – it is much appreciated.

    • Cathy says:

      After only three months you must only be touching the surface of the wider pleasures of this blogging community, Annette! I don’t think much will change here, although I am saving catching up on other blogs till we get home 😉

  6. Chloris says:

    I Know it is time consuming but it is lovely to talk to other gardeners and see what they are doing. It is also useful to have a record of the garden. So let’s keep on blogging!

  7. Annette says:

    I understand you very well and had to decide for myself as well that I just write a blog when I feel like it and have the time. After all it’s not meant to be a slave ship! And there are lots of other things out there. Writing less often doesn’t mean others won’t continue to follow your blog. You’re a big girl and you’ll know what’s right for you. 🙂

  8. Anna says:

    There never seem to be enough hours in the day even when you are no longer working to fit it all in Cathy 🙂 I must admit to blogging less than I used to but have never managed your prodigious output even in the early days of blogging. I also have come to the conclusion that I blog and comment more over the colder months of the year. Good advice from Annette. As with everything else it’s a matter of pacing yourself so that you can fit it all in.

    • Cathy says:

      I know I will need to reign myself in gradually, Anna – but at least I had a day without posting yesterday which is the first for many many months, whereas in the past I would still have posted when I got back from a long journey like that. Perhaps I will also go down the same route as you in your decision not to reply to every comment…

  9. bittster says:

    Congratulations on the two years! I find it interesting to hear the reasons others blog and the motivation behind keeping up with it, and I’m always grateful to follow along on your rambles…. so even if you do cut back here and there it will still be appreciated!
    I have to admit I find my blog to be the least interesting one I follow, I could almost be just fine following along on the exploits of others! But I do like going back through the records, and I’m fascinated by the stats and views and what other people are interested in. Looking forward to the next two years, but don’t burn yourself out!!
    Frank

    • Cathy says:

      Hello Frank – I do enjoy reading your considered comments, and of course had a giggle at your opinion of your own blog! Nevertheless, thanks for all your contributions to mine 🙂

Something to say after reading this?

