I Should Be So Lucky (lucky, lucky, lucky….)

IMG_1630This may look like a tangle of leaves to you (ivy, snowdrop, unidentified brown paper), but those brighter paddle shaped leaves in the foreground were a big and very pleasant surprise to me today. Last year, I thought I had identified the previous year’s clump of Fritillaria uva vulpis re-emerging, but was unfortunately misled. On impulse I checked the same spot today – and Bob’s your uncle! Not only are there the distinctive shaped leaves but if you look closely in the centre foreground there is a flower bud evident, promising at least one of those foxy chocolate brown and yellow bells in due course. A lucky find!

I am even more lucky to be in possession of  made to measure staging for the new half-greenhouse, now just awaiting an upper shelf for the central section:

IMG_1632

This entry was posted in bulbs, corms and tubers, Gardening, Gardens, greenhouse and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to I Should Be So Lucky (lucky, lucky, lucky….)

  1. Julie says:

    How exciting Cathy! It feels so good to find evidence of pants that you think might not have made it – I keep studying my little woodland for signs of life but apart from the bulbs not much is up yet. The greenhouse staging looks fantastic – what are you planning to fill it with?

    • Cathy says:

      The shelves will soon fill up, Julie once I start pricking out seedlings from the main greenhouse. But I am also thinking ahead to the winter and bulbs, taking a leaf out of your book

  2. bittster says:

    Very nice shelves! and made to order on top of that, fancy 🙂
    You seem well set for spring. Do you have pretty good luck with Frits in general?

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, courtesy of The Golfer of course 😉 I have a few F meliagris which are beginning to settle in but not self-seeding yet and I did have more than one clump of the uva vulpis but I can’t remember where the second one was – I was guessing they just didn’t like it here, but perhaps it was the very cold winter last year

  3. Christina says:

    Always good to have nice surprises! I imagine it won’t be long before those rather nice shelves are full.

  4. Chloris says:

    Just as well you have the shelving with all the things you are growing this year. Oh goody, it will be frit time very soon, I am looking forward to seeing fellow bloggers’ Fritillaries. Uva vulpis is usually quite reliable.

    • Cathy says:

      Tee hee! Glad to know that uva vulpis is generally reliable – a bit cold for it last year, or just settling in after its first year, do you think?

  5. sueturner31 says:

    Good find…and such a tidy greenhouse…

  6. Posh shelving, how lovely. I would clear the debris very gently and carefully so that when those delicate little nodding heads emerge you will be able to see and enjoy them in their full glory. How exciting, I love it when something you thought you had lost emerges. D.

  7. croftgarden says:

    Very professional so I’m expecting great things. F. pyrenaica might do well for you – a glorious addition to your garden.

    • Cathy says:

      I’m doing my best to justify them, Christine – and I shall look out for F pyrenaica. What makes you think they might do well here?

Something to say after reading this?

