A Project is Shelved

IMG_1564
IMG_1563Work on revamping the fruit cage, replacing the netting with a more durable plastic mesh and increasing the height above the raspberry canes, has been temporarily shelved in favour of providing staging for the new half-greenhouse and a slim upper shelf for the main greenhouse where there was no remaining space on the existing staging. Whilst I was finding new homes for most of the young plants in the nursery bed, and de-stoning, digging and raking the larger of the two reassigned cutting beds, the Golfer quickly made up the required slim shelf and the seedling overflow breathed a sigh of relief and spread itself out a little. Slim gravel trays to fit this shelf and its future partner in the half greenhouse were not easy to find but are on order.

A purpose-built, made-to-measure shelf in less than two hours – three cheers for the Golfer!

IMG_1562

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens, greenhouse, projects and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to A Project is Shelved

  1. Chloris says:

    Great to have a new home for so many seedlings. I have been getting very jealous of all your seeds coming on so well while I was away and not able to get started.

  2. rusty duck says:

    Bravo Golfer!
    These should work well.. mice can’t get to them either.

  3. Pauline says:

    Three cheers for the Golfer!! I find my upper shelf so useful, it soon fills up!

  4. Christina says:

    I think your Golfer shold be renamed the ‘project manager’! Does he lend himself out to others?

    • Cathy says:

      I think we jointly project manage, Christina, as he sometimes gets over enthusiastic and has to be reined in! He does hire himself out, and at the moment is juggling about 3 things as well as anything that’s needed for us, so I’m lucky we got that shelf when we did!

  5. Handy man, your golfer. I’m sure he would like a little “holiday” in Anglesey, I’d even let him out to play occasionally… Your fruit cage looks rather magnificent, I am way behind on pretty much everything at the moment, work, blogging, blog reading, plant support building, greenhouse relocation… Ah well, the sun is shining, our bathroom revamp is under way, and I am going to take photos of pretty things flowering away rather than getting all angsty about the joblist. I think I heard your seedlings exclaim with relief all the way over here, all that extra space to spread in to! Which reminds me, must mend my coldframe…

    • Cathy says:

      Handy indeed – and I will mention your offer, but I think he is probably tied up here for a good while yet….! 🙂 I may be on top of gardening and blogging, Janet, but other things have suffered, well… not been done…. so perhaps I need to look at balancing things differently. Have you written down your job list? I always find things get done quicker when I have a list to cross off 😉

  6. Your shelf looks great. But, I have a question about your raspberry enclosure. Why do you need to enclose the raspberries? Over here, the birds eat the blueberries and cherries, the chipmunks and squirrels eat the strawberries but nothing touches the raspberries because of the thorns. 🙂

    • Cathy says:

      Actually Judy our raspberries are almost thornless, but we also have loganberries (very prickly), gooseberries, black/white/redcurrants, cherries, blackberries…. Before we had the fruit cage any of the fruit could be stripped while our backs were turned, and having the fruit cage made all the difference – stems got caught in the flimsier netting and it was hard to keep it secure at the edges, so this will be much better.

Something to say after reading this?

