Priory Engagements

A snowdrop excursion yesterday took us to Felley Priory and Hodsock  Priory, both within fairly easy travelling distance and both prime snowdrop locations at this time of year.

IMG_1450At Felley Priory there was topiary:

Felley.1bees and butterflies:

Felley.3hellebores and irises:

Felley.4and snowdrops:

IMG_1462There were also snowdrops at Hodsock:

IMG_1483and crocus and prunus:

Hodsock.1and cyclamen and (naked) hellebores:

Hodsock.2and more snowdrops:

IMG_1484

This entry was posted in bulbs, corms and tubers, Visiting gardens & days out and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Priory Engagements

  1. MCH says:

    Oh, my. How wonderful to see the drifts of snowdrops instead of snowdrifts. LOL
    Where I am I know the darling snowdrops are in full bud underneath a foot of snow at
    least. When that goes, they will open. Can hardly wait. I have never seen them as in
    your photos though. Marion

  2. Christina says:

    I have to admit that this is the way I like to see snowdrops, drifts and drifts, under trees and beside a lake – well I know there wasn’t a lake just imagining.

    • Cathy says:

      There was a large pond at Felley and a stream at Hodsock, but no lakes that I recall – but I know just what you mean. The sheer quantity at Hodsock certainly was a sight worth seeing, but Felley was smaller and more intimate and we were the first visitors of the day – Hodsock was heaving!

  3. Chloris says:

    Lovely, I haven’t been to Hodsock for years but it is always worth a visit at this time of the year.
    That is such a pretty Crocus do you know which it is?
    And lovely Prunus mume looking wonderful. What a great day out.

    • Cathy says:

      No labels on these crocus as I alway take a picture of the labels of the plants I find striking to make sure I get the name right if I am unsure. That prunus was almost unreal in its perfectness – an unnamed Prunus mume although there was a ‘Beni Chidori’ at Felley which wasn’t quite as striking. Yes, a good day indeed.

  4. Liz says:

    Hi Cathy,

    Hodsock Priory! That’s near me 🙂 I considered going last weekend on my way to Clumber (about 4/5 miles from Hodsock) and assumed it would be like a quagmire there after all the rain. My mum then informed me it’s apparently not that muddy (the car park is though). Wish I’d gone now.

    • Cathy says:

      HP is a bit further than FP for us but in roughly the same direction and we had not been to either before but met friends at Hodsock who had not been there before. The snowdrop event finishes on Sunday and although on the website wellies were recommended it was OK despite the large number of visitors – of which I am sure there will be even more on this last w/e!

  5. Pauline says:

    What a wonderful day you had, two gardens to visit in one day, that’s fantastic! Also a lovely selection of other flowers, spring is on it’s way isn’t it?!

    • Cathy says:

      But chilly last night although without a frost. I only showed a selection of the other spring flowers we saw as I didn’t have enough time to write a lengthy post. Felley would be worth a journey later in the year too and that’s only 40 mins away.

  6. rusty duck says:

    Just beautiful.
    The snowdrops are stunning of course, but the purple/white crocus is a cracker.

  7. How lovely it all looks; hard to believe that it is only February. And the butterfly? That is amazing.

    • Cathy says:

      I am not sure at what point these places decide when to open as the snowdrops’ peak will vary from year to year – Hodsock has a specific month but they must arrange it well in advance for the publicity purposes so perhaps they just open throughout February regardless. They have a huge marquee for teas and plant sales and that will be only be there for that period I guess. With the butterfly, as soon as the sun went behind a cloud it had shut its wings again – perhaps regretting it’s early foray into the world!

  8. bittster says:

    The snowdrops do look nice as a drift, and the priory and talk of a lake…. all good ideas, and I’ll need to consider this while planning out next year’s garden projects. Maybe I’ll take it easy with the topiary, but I’m sure a few hedges will fit in nicely.
    Frank

  9. Susan says:

    The crocus looks like “Vanguard”, a hybrid between tommasinianus and vernus, very lovely

  10. Pingback: Conventional Wisdom | Rambling in the Garden

Something to say after reading this?

