Emergency!

emergency

After colourful glimpses yesterday it seemed only fair to feature some of the leafier emergences which have also brought great joy in recent days. Lots of species tulips are pushing their way up and some activity has been noted amongst the resting herbaceous perennials, spring presumably having sent out a ‘be prepared’ message – they certainly couldn’t have asked for a better start than these mild damp days, and yet there will almost inevitably still be touches of frost before the threat of winter is over for another year.

With February’s Garden Bloggers Foliage Day coming up tomorrow I could have left some of these emergences till then, but there will be plenty more foliage to share including something I think is a real stunner. For today then we have, firstly, Tulip ‘Fur Elise’ – not a species tulip but a dwarf greigii variety and not one I would choose for myself as I tend to think the large leaves overshadow the flowers, but this was a present and indeed both the leaves with their veining and the flowers, a creamy coral pink, are indeed very beautiful. Pulmonaria ‘Blue Ensign’ is one of the unspotted pulmonarias with clear blue flowers and below it is Dicentra spectabilis ‘Alba’, the emerging shoots blanched by a covering of leaves which had been recently removed. The aquilegia  shown bottom left is ‘Green Apples’, grown from seed last year and therefore something to be excited about – my best success story from a very mixed experience of seed sowing in 2013 and I eagerly await the first flowers!

This entry was posted in Gardens and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Emergency!

  1. Christina says:

    Thanks for remembering that it is GBFD tomorrow, the post will be up early, I look forward to seeing your foliage then. Exciting to see all the new shoots; lots are poking their noses out of the soil here too.

  2. Chloris says:

    What an exciting time it is in the garden when you have so much promise and so many shoots coming up. I love Pulmonarias, I started with named varieties but they seed around and you never know what the offspring will be. They are all lovely though.

    • Cathy says:

      My best pulmonarias came from The Golfer’s daughter’s ex boyfriend’s parents garden and although they had lots of lovely plants nothing at all was labelled 😦 I still also have (I hope) a very ordinary pulmonaria that came from my parent’s previous house and has been to various homes in between 🙂

  3. it’s nice seeing the first shoots, the aquilegia seeds I grew last year one of the best too, I’m looking forward (hoping) to seeing flowers this year, looking at your soil I was thinking all that lovely leafmold, Frances

    • Cathy says:

      Oooh – hope they do flower this year, Frances. I collected many many bags of leaves this year to make leaf mould after using my few bags of lovely stuff this year. My Mum brought a bag of leaf mould from her last garden when she moved to the island 25 years ago – and still has it! Too good to use, perhaps?!

  4. Its so exciting, isn’t it! ‘Green Apples’ is lovely, it was one of my first perennial seed sowing successes too. Have to admit I got rid of my griegi tulips, can’t stand them, but am excited to see my own species tulips poking their heads up, I wondered if the soil would be too heavy for them.

  5. Anna says:

    I enjoyed reading about what’s coming through in the garden Cathy although your post title had me concerned albeit briefly 🙂 A beautiful morning here so far, shopping done and dusted so when my coffee break is over I’m off outside to see what’s emerging here.

  6. croftgarden says:

    I do hope your garden survives any late frosts, it would be such a pity for all that young fresh foliage to be damaged. All this mild weather certainly seems to be having an effect, although I’m still at the primrose stage.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Christine – and primroses are exciting too… The garden is fairly sheltered as it is surrounded on all sides by properties and their gardens but it would be a very cold wind whistling through that might do some damage – ordinary ground frosts don’t seem to be a problem. Things are certainly stirring earlier than last year which is not surprising with the snow we had.

Something to say after reading this?

