Glimpses

glimpses.1Noticing the first glimpses of yellow on the Tête-à-Tête outside the front door this morning I thought I would include a few other glimpses that I have had in the last day or two. Checking last year’s posts I see that the Tête-à-Tête here is emerging at about the same time as last year, facing ESE and therefore getting sun, when there is some, for much of the day. The ones at the back under the apple trees and beside the stream were a few weeks later last year but are in bud now and should be in flower earlier than before. I will happily admit I am not especially fond of the taller daffs and narcissi and find the miniature versions much more appealing.

I mentioned the bud on Rhododendron ‘Cheers’ (top right) a few days ago but this is its first showing here and it may well have few siblings this year due to last year’s dry summer – a shame, as the few rhododendrons there are were a real joy last season. The unnamed (I think, but will check) pulmonaria flowers (top left) also surprised me  recently in the woodland edge extension – this one has not yet grown into the big clump that some others have, forming a statement of leaf form and colour for much of the season once they get going. You can just about see the first flowers emerging from buds on Hellebore foetidus, a joy to see as only last season this was a small and spindly self-sown seedling, long since orphaned. Moved to a new home with two or three siblings it has sprung into life and quickly formed an attractive small plant – such a lovely shade of green, and saved from being cut for Monday’s Lime Sorbet vase by the skin of its green-toothed leaves.

Not yet featured from the special snowdrop border are ‘Irish Green’ (left), one of the ‘bad hair day’ snowdrops, and the now more waspish looking ‘Wasp’ (right). It is a joy to view this border from the kitchen windows or at both start and end of every ramble.

glimpses.2I wonder what I shall be glimpsing in the garden tomorrrow, but in the meantime I feel I ought to apologise to both Sarcococca humilis and Lonicera fragrantissima for omitting to mention them on Garden Bloggers Blooms Day, as they have been filling the garden for weeks with their distinctive fragrances, following me on my rambles and deserving every good word they receive. What a good example they set for winter flowering shrubs!

glimpses.3

This entry was posted in Gardens and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Glimpses

  1. Christina says:

    My two winter perfume favourites, definitely unsung heroes.

  2. charming glimpses Cathy, scented plants must be extra special at this time of year, Frances

  3. Rick Nelson says:

    Everyone should grow winter flowering scented shrubs, for some reason I have never done well with Sarcococca humilis but I love my Lonicera fragrantissima and Viburnum bodnantense ‘Dawn’ as they are like a palliative to the rigours of Winter. My Tête-à-Tête are showing buds but no colour, can’t wait for Spring to break.

    • Cathy says:

      Hi Rick – thanks for popping in. I would have thought sarcococca was as tough as old boots! It’s such an exciting time of year, isn’t it? This is the first year I have had any quantity of flowers on the Lonicera although it has been there a few years now. I bought ‘Dawn’ last year – she is in a large pot and is trying to open her buds but had a set back with one of the very few frosts we have had this ‘winter’.

      • Rick says:

        I replied to you using the wrong account (Google + rubbish) so this will provide you with a link to my blog should you wish to visit. I don’t know what it is about sarcococca but I have tried twice to establish it without success although it should be ideal for my shady garden, maybe third time lucky!

        • Cathy says:

          I’ll pop over and have a look, Rick. I must admit my sarcococca is very much happier now it has been moved (from the species snowdrop border) although it is still in partial shade

  4. rusty duck says:

    Tete a tete now emerging here too, buds but no colour yet. I just wish they would spread a bit quicker.

  5. Annette says:

    I love species narcissi very much, they’re so charming. Tried the hoopoe ones as well in my mountain garden but they didn’t come back, I think they hate competition. Right for praising Lonicera and Sarcococca, they certainly deserve it and are often overlooked. While I sit at my desk my eyes wander over the orchard and I see all my bulbs springing up…can’t wait to see my English daffodil meadow in bloom 🙂

  6. Anna says:

    Now ‘Irish Green’ looks an interesting character Cathy – off to find out more forthwith. My ‘Wasp’ had a year out last year but I’m pleased to say has shown its colours this year.

    • Cathy says:

      My 2 year old Wasp had a year out as well – good that yours is flowering again too. Irish Green is indeed distinctive – look out too for ‘Fuzz’, which will follow in due course

Something to say after reading this?

