In a Vase on Monday: Lime Sorbet

IMG_1361Unflattering
Greyness lifts
With the gentle
Promise of spring.
The softer light
Reflects kindly
On new growth,
A sharp contrast
Of fresh greens
Cleansing the palate
Between
The sugary pinks
Of emerging hellebores.
lime sorbetCitrus ivies and cornus,
Snowdrops and primmies –
Lime sorbet
Between courses
At nature’s banquet.

It was the ivy I noticed yesterday – shades of citrus sprawled across the old plum tree with an infinite variation of patterning on the leaves – and this gave me the title of today’s vase: Lime Sorbet. Left with the task of finding additional material this morning I chose a hellebore bud, clutch of snowdrops, holly fern (Cyrtomium falcatum) and sprigs of bidens foliage (itself variegated with age), also retrieving the cornus (Cornus sericea ‘Flaviramea’) spikes used in the controversial ‘Bewitched’ vase a few weeks ago and kept in a stoneware pot on the windowsill. Primroses were also picked but excluded from the final vase, which took the form of a neon green plastic sundae dish – ideal for lime sorbet and as a receptacle for today’s arrangement. The poem then suggested itself as the ideas came together – and the lime was a must, of course.

Another week, and another challenge achieved. The meme is gradually spreading its wings as more people join in, posting their own vase on a Monday. It doesn’t have to be every week, or a vase, or flowers/foliage even – just something natural you have found in your garden or elsewhere and brought inside to bring joy to your week. Just leave a link from your post to this, and on this post back to yours so we can can share your finds.

This entry was posted in Being Creative, Gardens, In a Vase on Monday, other crafts, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to In a Vase on Monday: Lime Sorbet

  1. Annette says:

    This is very beautiful, Cathy, evoking the spirit of spring! For something more morbid you’re welcome to have a look at my humble effort (or rather Monsieur’s!): http://personaleden.wordpress.com/2014/02/17/montagsvase-geschopf-der-nacht-in-a-vase-on-a-monday-creature-of-the-night/ Hope you have a splendid week 🙂

  2. pbmgarden says:

    Nice use of greens and greenery. Lime has a freshness all its own. Not much of inspiration here today but hope to join in again another time.

  3. Chloris says:

    Lovely fresh green is very appropriate for approaching spring. I like your poem.

  4. Pingback: In A Vase On Monday – Shades of Pink | Peonies & Posies

  5. Julie says:

    I love the citrus lime green feel you have chosen today Cathy – a great shot of zing in this drab winter! Once again we have chosen a similar theme – this week it is the emerging signs of spring that is inspiring us both (perfectly described in the poem). Well done for creating such a successful meme!

    You can see my contribution at http://www.peoniesandposies.com.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Julie – I know we are limited by what we have available at any one time but it is nevertheless intriguing that we have been thinking along the same lines. My vases tend to spend the week on the kitchen table where I write the blog and it is lovely to see there while I write. The challenge is certainly fulfilling what I hoped it would do, and it is good that other people feel inspired to join in. Off to look at yours now!

  6. Anna says:

    Now that arrangement gives an overall impression of vivid green Cathy – are the tiles behind also shade of green or are my eyes being deceived?

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, they are a darkish green, Anna – hopefully looking traditional in a traditional style fireplace, neither original as all chimneys/fireplaces had been removed… 😦

  7. Christina says:

    Fresh green, what is to beat that in winter! I love how your ideas come together. I failed again to find the time and the inclination to pick precious blooms from the garden.

  8. I generally don’t bring things indoors but I may just be inspired to join in this meme. I’ve made a mental note for next Monday.

    • Cathy says:

      It has certainly made me look at things from another point of view, Angie, and I enjoy the chain of thought that leads up to the final vase – do give it a try if you can, as it doesn’t need to be every week

  9. I love seeing what you come up with each week, and one of these weeks I will be organised enough to join in again! The dash of lime is perfect, I am loving the sight of the euphorbia flowers emerging in my front garden, that colour is so fresh and zingy it shouts spring even when the weather isn’t co-operating.

    • Cathy says:

      Look forward to seeing your vase when it comes! I saw some euphorbia in friend’s garden yesterday and as you say, some of their flowers really are zingy – it left me thinking again that I perhaps ought to tolerate euphorbia in the garden again

Something to say after reading this?

