Wordless Wednesday: One by One

IMG_1241

Image | This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens, herbaceous perennials, Spring, Wordless Wednesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Wordless Wednesday: One by One

  1. Chloris says:

    It is obviously a little Primula of some sort but which? I can’t do that hovering with the cursor thing with my tablet. The buds are wet I suppose, they look sticky.

  2. Helen says:

    I think it’s a primula denticulata (drumstick)

  3. wellywoman says:

    Mmmm I agree with Helen – a drumstick primula? It’s a bit early though, isn’t it?

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, P denticulata – a bargain from Morrisons last year so I bought 3 or 4 at the time, all slowly beginning to flower. They were in flower when I had them last year so I can’t be sure when they would normally flower.

  4. annette2121 says:

    Wow – my primula denticulatas have barely got leaves yet let alone flowers. They are a beautiful primula though once they flower.

    • Cathy says:

      These were new in last year so I am not sure how normal that is. Do yours self seed? I would be more than happy for these to do so!

      • annette2121 says:

        Hi – I have some purple ones that I have had for many years that I haven’t noticed self seeding, but they do need splitting every few of years so I have rather a lot of them. Then I have some newer mauve ones in my rockery which do self seed and some even newer white ones which I was so pleased to find, but I only put them in last year so not sure what they are going to do yet. I will put some pictures up on my blog when they are out. I bought some primula candelabra for the first time last year so I am very excited to see how they do.

        • Cathy says:

          Thanks for that, Annette – I had some bargain white ones last year too but they are barely showing leaves. No success with candelabras up to now though… 😦 Good luck with your yours

  5. I thought you had done this image with pastels. Interesting as well as beautiful. I would never have guessed.D

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Dorris – because I cropped the original I couldn’t get it any bigger on the post. It is fascinating the way the flowers on the drumhead open just one at a time till the whole lot are finally out.

Something to say after reading this?

