Drops of Snow

dropsofsnowAfter Sunday night’s below zero temperatures and scraping required on the cars in the morning we were expecting a similar night yeterday. Temperatures rose overnight though and we awoke to rain, which gradually got heavier before turning to sleat, then turning to snow. I missed the opportunity of photographing snow drops on the snowdrops, but captured the aftermath instead. By the afternoon the clouds had disappeared and we were treated to blue skies and a slight improvement in temperature – who knows what weather delights tomorrow will bring!

With no pressing tasks outside, but in sympathy with the Golfer who was continuing glazing the greenhouse, I showed willing and turned my attention to the stream, always on the periphery of my consciousness. Not convinced that the possible seepage points had been dealt with, the displaced rocks will  not be mortared in location yet but need at least to be in place and the soil replaced in parts where the level of the banks had been changed. Unsure how warm I was going to be I needn’t have feared as I soon warmed up with all the shifting and heaving, placing and displacing, mud building up on my gardening clogs but soon being washed off again when accidentally stepping into the stream itself. The conclusion? I need more rocks – well, I need rocks of an appropriate size and shape, trial and error failing to place the existing rocks in suitable spots. Ah well!

IMG_1293

This entry was posted in bulbs, corms and tubers, Gardening, Gardens, greenhouse, projects, Weather and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Drops of Snow

  1. Helen Johnstone says:

    The weather has been mad hasn’t it. We have had ice, rain, wind, sun, hail and snow all on 24 hours. I long for a sunny spring day. Glad you had a chance to get outside though

  2. Chloris says:

    I’ve always wanted a stream in my garden ,what fun you had . Can we see more of it? Do you have bog plants?

    • Cathy says:

      It’s lovely when it’s not losing water, Chloris, and has added benefits of extra bird life as well as the lovely gurgling sounds – but tracking down the source of leaks is not easy and I have tried several remedial tactics with varied success. It’s a pumped stream, which disappears into a reservoir and is then pumped under the soil back up to the source. I will post some more pictures for those who haven’t seen it. No specific bog plants but ferns and marginals. So if you want a stream, Chloris, you make one!

  3. Anna says:

    Brrrrrrrrrr even those snowdrops look cold ! We had the hail then sleet then snow then blue skies late this afternoon Cathy. More snow predicted for tonight.

  4. No snow here today, but lots of rain and then blue skies. The poor snowdrops have to put up with so much! I am very jealous of your stream Cathy – water in the right place – I hope you will show us more over the year.

    • Cathy says:

      It is a pumped stream, Julie – I would love a natural one, but at least when this is running properly it does looks fairly natural. It seems to have been in a state of overhaul for months and the last thing I want to do is to take the whole lot up and start again 😦

  5. rusty duck says:

    Walrus is a strange beast.
    I have done it. Purchased my first ‘special’. Ten quid the lighter and it’s not even out yet.

    • Cathy says:

      Ooh exciting, Jessica! What did you buy? Walrus is really distinctive – I love it 🙂

      • rusty duck says:

        I wanted something distinctive too, different from the many thousands now coming up around the woodland, so I went for a double ‘Jacquenetta’.

        • Cathy says:

          You won’t regret it, Jessica – I have her but this is the first time she has flowered. I got her two years ago so be prepared that even if yours is in bud now she might not establish enough to flower again next year. They often take a couple of years to settle in.

  6. Annette says:

    That looks pretty cold to me – time to get the blanket out for these poor things! We’re finally enjoying sun and dry weather, it’s supposed to last for a day. Your greenhouse seems quite a project, poor Golfer 😉

    • Cathy says:

      It wasn’t actually as cold as the day before, Annette – and the wind is making it feel colder today. The Golfer is swapping the polycarbonate for glass (but too windy to do any today), so it’s just a matter of working through a bit at a time – he likes to be busy as much as I do!

  7. wellywoman says:

    I ventured up to the plot the other day but to be honest I have lost my gardening mojo at the mo. It’ll come back when the rain stops but for now I’m tucked up indoors. I admire anyone out there getting on with jobs. No snow or frost here but there are nice clumps of snowdrops out there now.

    • Cathy says:

      And although I have other commitments today I don’t think I would have done anything outside because of the rain and wind, although again there was a couple of hours of blue sky and sunshine in the afternoon – all gone now! Hopefully you will find your mojo lurking somewhere in a day or two and in the meantime it is good to know that you have the promise of snowdrops coming through.

  8. Hi Cathy, your snowdrops look distinctly chilly, and even though I know they are well suited to a covering of snow, I feel sorry for them! I’m impressed at your ongoing stream antics, I think they are a lovely feature, but is anything more frustrating than a leaking water feature when you don’t know where the leaks are coming from? Hope you find you have fixed your leaks, and that you discover the perfect rocks for the gaps. TNG was starting the process of deconstructing our little pond and piling up the stones, hopefully we will re-use them to create a pond in the back garden one of these years.

    • Cathy says:

      Hope you were not battered by storms again last night Janet – I haven’t heard if Anglesey was affected. Today’s post is about the stream – I am like a dog with a bone with something like this! When you create your back garden pond don’t skimp on the liner and leave plenty of overhang – that was one of the problems with the stream in parts. I am sure the snowdrops just shrugged off the snow – last year they had lots of the real stuff of course!!

  9. Christina says:

    All our posts are about the weather, not surprising really. One thing at a time, I can cope with but like you no two days are alike and mostly not even two hours together!

  10. croftgarden says:

    Is there no end to the stream saga? I fear that it will all end in something worse than wet feet!

Something to say after reading this?

