In a Vase on Monday: The Blossome

IMG_1284
Little think’st thou, poore flower,
Whom I have watch’d sixe or seaven dayes,
And seen thy birth, and seene what every houre
Gave to thy growth, thee to this height to raise,
And now dost laugh and triumph on this bough,
          Little think’st thou
That it will freeze anon, and that I shall
Tomorrow find thee falne, or not at all.                           John Donne 1572-1631

IMG_1281The process of putting together a vase on Monday is an interesting one, beginning yesterday with a tentative scouting for potential contenders for inclusion. Taking a shot in the dark I nipped a few ‘Tête-à-Tête’ narcissi from under the apple trees and kept them overnight in as warm a spot as possible in the kitchen, and although they haven’t opened yet there is clearly some wriggling about going on in their embryonic sacs and they will emerge soon.

But what to include with them? Having already used snowdrops a fortnight ago I chose instead the few leucojum (summer snowflake) flowers that were at least in bud and, almost on a whim, some viola sprigs that have begun to perk up in the baskets at the front of the house in conjunction with the relatively brighter days. Keeping the display short, the chosen ones were positioned in Oasis in one of the sundae dishes that have been used for previous vases. At this point the colours already complemented each other but I wasn’t sure if some greenery was needed to link the blooms together – however, on my way to get some gravel to cover the inner support I noticed the primroses and took the chance of picking some flowerheads with  the longest stems.

IMG_1285Thinking of a post title and props, my train of thought went from shy demure flowers to ‘To His Coy Mistress’ and thence poetry, via a change of vase to the Caithness Glass bonbon dish which picked out the amethyst purple on the violas, to the above poem by John Donne (although having been pluck’d, these blossoms will not falle but in a few days be not at all). Additional props were another piece of Caithness Glass and citrine, rose quartz and amethyst crystals.

Another Monday, and another challenge achieved. If you would like to join in with your own vase or receptacle with finds from your garden or out-and-about (and share the thought processes involved if you wish), then add a link from your post to this and vice versa – you would be most welcome.

This entry was posted in Being Creative, Gardens, In a Vase on Monday, Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to In a Vase on Monday: The Blossome

  1. John Donne, one of my favourites. Your vases make true that beauty is often found in small details. Love this blog. TX. Ben

    • Cathy says:

      What kind words, Ben – much appreciated. I have really enjoyed ‘the chase’ of this challenge and the related inclusion of appropriate props. I enjoyed Donne’s poetry when I studied it at A-level many moons ago and still like to dip in occasionally – so it was a bonus to be prompted to do so this morning!

  2. Annette says:

    I think that’s just gorgeous, Cathy, and am truely sorry that I couldn’t join as it’s so enjoyable. I shall try for next week!

  3. Liz says:

    Hi Cathy,

    I can’t wait until I finally have enough snowdrops that I feel I can pick a bunch for vases… So beautiful.

    • Liz says:

      Sorry meant to mention, I realise these are summer snowflakes, but they made me think how much I’d love to have snowdrops in vases too.

      Lovely arrangement and I really like the light purple of the violas; very nice.

      • Cathy says:

        I guessed that’s what you meant, Liz! I was pleased with how well the primroses complemented the yellow in those violas too. The buds on the snowdrop bulbs I used a couple of weeks ago did not open and I have replanted them outside, so I too am looking forward to picking some nearly open flowers and using them for a vase in a week or two

  4. Pingback: In A Vase On Monday – Winter Romance | Peonies & Posies

  5. Julie says:

    Anyone would think we planned this week together Cathy – both quoting poetry! I had half written my post earlier when I saw yours and wondered if I should leave the poetry out. I decided that poetry was meant to be and carried on. We must have done the same A level course – I still love Donne, although he did lack the cheerfulness gene! Your flowers are beautiful and I love the way you tie it all together with your props. I am amazed at your snowflakes – mine must be a different variety as I don’t expect flowers until much later.

    You can find my contribution at http://www.peoniesandposies.com.

    • Cathy says:

      The train of thought involved is intriguing, isn’t it?! I also briefly pondered the language of flowers line, but got my Donne out and that was that – I always liked his imagery, whether cheery or not, and I spent a little while rereading some of my favourites which was an unexpected bonus of this meme! Checking on the snowflakes mine must actually be the spring snowflake, Leucojum vernum, which is also much shorter than the summer version. Thanks for your kind comments and for joining in

  6. pbmgarden says:

    This is beautiful Cathy. As the ‘Tête-à-Tête’ open the arrangement will continue to develop. The viola adds a nice touch. I am a bit late again, but here is my Monday vase: http://pbmgarden.wordpress.com/2014/02/10/in-a-vase-on-monday-modern-design/
    Thanks for hosting. Susie

    • Cathy says:

      Hi Susie – the Tête-à-Tête are indeed all showing a hint of yellow today and the primroses are still looking perky which I wasn’t sure if they would do. I am especially pleased with how this vase worked out and I look forward to seeing yours – thanks for joining,

  7. That’s so pretty Cathy, I’m really impressed at how creative you get with your vases – and utterly unimpressed at the way I seem to be able to forget, week after week, to even try! I really must do better…

    • Cathy says:

      Please don’t beat yourself up about it, Janet 😉 I started it to regain the long-since lost habit of picking a little bunch of something to take into work every Monday, so by posting what I had picked it made it a personal challenge and therefore easier to achieve. It has also triggered some latent creativity which has got to be a good thing – not to mention revisiting some of the props I have used. As and when is fine, Janet 😉

  8. Anna says:

    Most apt words to accompany your weekly vase Cathy. I must confess to picking a small handful of double snowdrops late yesterday afternoon so that I could enjoy them at close quarters and only realised later that I could have joined in with the Monday vase. Another time 🙂

    • Cathy says:

      We all seem to apologise for picking snowdrops, don’t we?! I shall definitely be including some in future Monday posts – and it would be lovely if you could join in occasionally too 😉

  9. Christina says:

    Sorry, I’m catching up reading posts but in reverse order! Monday was solid rain and wind on Monday, I didn’t venture outside not even my nose. Your flowers this week are very delicate, a real glimpse of spring.

  10. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday: Black and White and Red All Over | Rambling in the Garden

Something to say after reading this?

