Peekaboo!

IMG_1194I could perhaps be forgiven for missing the emerging shoots of these first Crocus tommasinianus near the stream amongst the grass still disturbed after being lifted for the planting of more bulbs, but I wonder how many days these purple parasols have been on show like this? It has indeed been a gloriously sunny day today, with blue skies and sunshine from almost first light and temperatures nudging double figures, so they may have especially chosen today to appear – or they may have been there even in January but missed. A welcome sight, as indeed was this clump of floro pleno snowdrops in the woodland edge border, my preoccupation with the specials and the more numerous ordinary nivalis distracting me from noticing that the doubles seemed to be opening up in advance of the latter.

IMG_1193Whilst the Golfer has a break from leaky roofs and continues rebuilding the downsized new greenhouse, I took pity on the very pretty pale pink hellebore that has been shyly growing undercover and moved it from under a large fern to a more prominent position where she can be seen more easily – another nameless orphan rehoused – and with the spade IMG_1191still in my hand I finally replanted some of the bulbs which have been in temporary accommodation behind the greenhouse for a year if not two in some cases. Two pots were definitely ejected from the hot border when it was revamped two years ago and are daffodils of some sort, so were replanted under the apple trees near the stream; the others were removed from pots after they had flowered last year and are probably muscari and fritillary – why don’t I think to label them when I do this?!

catchup

This entry was posted in bulbs, corms and tubers, Gardening, Gardens, greenhouse, projects and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Peekaboo!

  1. Anna says:

    “And now before the eye can focus – Crocus” although not a sliver of colour here yet. Must have made your day spying those purple slivers Cathy and wasn’t the weather glorious? 🙂

  2. Love the glimpse of crocuses in the grass, no sign of the ones I planted last autumn, they probably rotted away in the endless rain. But oh, wasn’t the sun fabulous, I had forgotted what it felt like to be outside with warmth on my back and clear skies!

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, we could certainly feel some warmth here today – no wind like there was on Saturday either – but the weather certainly seems to be becoming a challenge for you and your garden. You won’t let it beat you, though!

  3. Liz says:

    Hi Cathy,

    My Tommies are emerging now but a couple of weeks away from blooming, however I did spot some ‘cream beauty’ blooming this weekend. Very exiting!

    Can’t wait for the tommies to bloom; I adore their purple hue and can’t wait to take photographs of them.

  4. I wish my crocuses were coming up, but they’re still buried in snow here in PA! Hopefully soon though!

    • Cathy says:

      Ohhh – sorry you are buried! Can you expect snow every winter where you are? I suppose you know which plants will tolerate weather like this. Thanks for visiting.

  5. Oh my look at spring blooming in your garden.

  6. Love the purple crocus peekaboos. Blessings, Natalie 🙂

  7. Christina says:

    …….and our weekend here in Italy was more or less continuous rain! So much so that a train was derailed on the line my husband uses to go to Rome. I so glad you had a lovely sunny day, it surely gladdens the heart.

    • Cathy says:

      Oh Christina, so sorry for all your rain – the derailment shows how bad it must have been. Today wasn’t as pleasant, but no rain – so perhaps that sunny day is heading your way now!

  8. Annette says:

    My tommasinianus have been around just like that without opening for a while now but they might do today as we have glorious weather – thanks for sending it over 🙂

  9. Pauline says:

    Wonderful day yesterday, back to normal today! My Tommies are just up and opening in the woodland, once they really get going they look wonderful with the snowdrops, I don’t think they’ll be opening today!

    • Cathy says:

      I saw the forecast wasn’t good for the SW today – the rain didn’t reach us, but there was a slight breeze which made it chilly. I think we can expect rain for the rest of the week now. Enjoy your Tommies!

Something to say after reading this?

