Good Progress

progressThe Golfer has been able to put a couple of hours into my project yesterday and today, which meant I was able to get a couple of coats of the usual Cuprinol ‘Wild Thyme’ on the left hand structure this afternoon in readiness for the trellis to be cut to fit and reattached. Already I can see that this amended boundary is going to enhance the  blue and white border, enclosing it further without making it feel closed-in. The right hand side will have full length trellis in the middle two sections through which the honeysuckles will be re-entwined, and the whole lot may well be finished by tomorrow – given the time, we don’t hang about! We are, of course, mindful that we are fortunate to have the health and strength that enable us to pursue our various activities and do try not to take it for granted.

This entry was posted in garden structure, Gardens, projects and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Good Progress

  1. Christina says:

    If you run out of projects you are very welcome to come and complete some here! the colour you use for the trellis and posts is perfect and I’m someone who usually advocates black!

    • Cathy says:

      I do get itchy fingers if I run out of projects – although, dare I say it, we could do with some weather that would keep me inside so I can finish some inside projects! I have been using ‘Wild Thyme’ in the garden for over 10 years now – it took lots of trial pots before I found the ‘right’ one!

  2. Caro says:

    How lovely to see such rapid progress! Wish I’d got a handy Golfer round here, I’d love some fencing put round the veg gardens in my battle to keep cats and foxes out!

  3. Pauline says:

    You are working at such a pace, wonderful to see it all taking shape. Love the colour you have chosen, very chic!

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Pauline – it is not really a big job, although perhaps that’s just by our standard! The ‘Wild Thyme’ is such a useful colour – it’s just the right shade of green and I must have used large numbers of the 5 litre tins over the years.

  4. It’s all go – what a difference a few days make. It looks great. That is such a calming colour and will really show the plants off. My mantra for my latest project is little but often – I’ve had to stop now, my suite is being delivered next week and the sitting rooms needs painting.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Angie – and we usually only do a couple of hours at a time these days too, not like when we were building the extension when it was every available daylight hour (but we were a bit younger then!). Hope you enjoy your decorating 🙂

  5. Very good progress I’d say. Well done. It’s nice to see it coming along.

  6. rusty duck says:

    Looking good, and good weather forecast for tomorrow too..

  7. Annette says:

    Nice colour, Cathy, and I’m so happy for you both that you like doing things together – it’s also a great enjoyment for us and you can get so much more done. Have a good weekend and don’t work too hard 🙂

  8. wellywoman says:

    It’s all going to look stunning. We’re big fans of wild thyme too. It’s such a lovely colour which seems to allow plants to shine.

    • Cathy says:

      The colour is so important, isn’t it WW? I tried 6 or 7 different test pieces before I found this one – it had to be right as we have used litres and litres of it since!

Something to say after reading this?

