In a Vase on Monday: Spike

IMG_0990This has by far and away been the simplest and easiest and somehow the most satisfying of vases on a Monday so far. I spotted these unpruned seedheads of Anemone japonica over the weekend when I was to-ing and fro-ing with the wall and almost reached for the secateurs before realising their potential for today’s vase – because that is all it is, stuck into a piece of oasis cut to fit. Visualising a shallow container that would allow short stems and hide the oasis I dusted down a little dish from my chicken collection and within minutes the arrangement was complete, accompanied by other chickens from the collection which were also washed for the occasion. I didn’t need to play around with a background either, as with the Christmas tree having just been dismantled there was an ideal blank wall to photograph it against before the temporarily evicted old Singer sewing machine is returned to its usual spot.

The Christmas holly and ivy vase from a fortnight ago, still looking bright and cheery, was also dismantled now that Twelfth Night is upon us, and whilst the future of last week’s fragrant grouping still hangs in the balance much of it can be retained a little longer. The challenge is still fresh and stimulating, and continues to serve the original purpose of bringing some of the outside in. If you are up for the challenge yourself, whether regularly or occasionally, then please feel free to include a link to this post and leave a comment here with a link to your own so we can all share in what you have found this week.

This entry was posted in Gardens, In a Vase on Monday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to In a Vase on Monday: Spike

  1. pbmgarden says:

    Works well. This is nicely balanced. I like the airiness or openness of the arrangement.

  2. wellywoman says:

    Fab! I love these seed heads they leave behind, although all of mine have turned fluffy like cotton grass.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks WW. I’m so glad I hadn’t already cut them – they are not in a border but just tucked in a corner next to a water butt and so any missed tidy-ups.

  3. Annette says:

    Adorable! Made me think of some insectivorous plant looking for prey 😉

  4. Pingback: A vase on Monday 6th January | Creating my own garden of the Hesperides

  5. Christina says:

    I really like this minimalist arrangement just perfect for a January day. Sadly my Anemones didn’t flower this year, I think it was just to hot for them. I could have used more yellow roses but thought I should do something different.
    Here’s my link: hhttp://myhesperidesgarden.wordpress.com/2014/01/06/a-vase-on-monday-6th-january/

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Christina – and it shows again that a vase doesn’t just need flowers. Thanks for joining in – I shall be popping over to have a look 🙂

  6. Chloris says:

    I never would have thought of using Anemone seed heads, they are so effective. Well done!

  7. Anna says:

    Now that’s a vase with a difference – I think that Annette sums it up well – the arrangement almost looks alive 🙂

  8. The Editors of Garden Variety says:

    Nice find and arrangement!

  9. Sarah says:

    I adore Spike; he looks quite cheeky as well as Other Worldly! You’ve got a very good eye to pick these out those seedheads they really look stunning. So satisfying creating something simple but so lovely. You must stop every time you pass by your sewing table to admire it! Here is my offering from another Season! http://thefigtree.co.nz/2014/01/07/flowers-in-a-vase-honey-honey/

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Sarah – and yet I must have passed near the anemones lots of times without particularly noticing the seedheads. Thanks for joining in – I am off to have a look at it now!

  10. HI Cathy! So worth the visit back in time! The Japanese Anemone are quite striking on their own. 🙂

Something to say after reading this?

