In a Vase on Monday: Clueless But Fragrant

CIMG2265I didn’t have a clue what to include in today’s vase, particularly with knowing exactly what was in flower after the Boxing Day count. Few of these blooms would have been suitable for inclusion either because of their scarcity or their flimsiness, but rather than stick to foliage again I headed for the winter honeysuckle, Lonicera fragrantissima, expecting a few budded sprigs could be spared. It was a surprise, therefore, to find not just budded sprigs but a few fully open flowers – above head height (you may be realising after recent posts that I am a little vertically challenged) and distributed across the plant rather than  just the odd branch. Planted next to the lychgate, this honeysuckle does tend to get butchered once it tries to restrict access along the path and flowering in the past has never been brilliant – so this year things look a little more promising. This, then, takes the Boxing Day count to 21 – or indeed to 22 once I realised that there were open flowers on the Sarcococca humilis, the Christmas box. Neither of these fragrant delights had been checked for the count as I hadn’t noticed any buds were opening – tut tut!

The was plenty of sarcococca to spare, as the bush is really thriving after its changed location, and judicious snipping of lonicera gave me three budded sprigs from which the leaves were removed as they were discoloured (mineral deficiency?). The simple green and creamy whiteness of these two contributors cried out for something in a similar shade, and before she knew what had happened ‘Annabelle’ was in my hand, the last flower on this Hydrangea arborescens. The success of the twisted hazel in last week’s vase (which still looks as fresh as a week ago) has awoken me to its potential and added a fourth picking to the arrangement. Keeping the colour scheme in mind, I scanned my kitchenalia for a container and other props, knowing they would eventually serve a purpose other than gathering dust.

And there we have today’s vase –  but I need to work on my photographing skills, having taken far too many attempts to get a moderately satisfactory picture….

As well as challenging myself to find something to put in a vase every Monday if it also challenges you to do the same then please join in and add a link to this post and a comment with a link to yours if you like so that others can see what you have found. If we can do it in December it certainly won’t be difficult for the rest of the year!

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens, In a Vase on Monday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to In a Vase on Monday: Clueless But Fragrant

  1. Christina says:

    Nice, I used Sarcococca for the Christmas Day table decoration, I wish I had some to use here! I think you’ve upped the level with all the props. Today it is pouring with rain so no chance to get into the garden, hopefully tomorrow.

    • Cathy says:

      You are back home then? Thanks for your positive comments about the vase – I seem to have decided that the props add to the challenge (and just realised I didn’t invite others to join in… will go back to it). I don’t think there would have been enough sarcococca flowers to spare in the past, but it is smothered in buds this year – will it not grow in your garden? A wet and windy morning here, but then a pleasant afternoon – hope you have better weather tomorrow.

  2. rusty duck says:

    Very nice, and I’ll bet the scents wafting through the house are fantastic.

  3. Anna says:

    A most attractive display Cathy – love the vase! I must check on my sarcococca humilis which I don’t think is quite there yet. It’s in a pot by the front door and my nose has not detected up to now 🙂

  4. Annette says:

    Very stylish once again, Cathy! My Sarcocca will have to be left alone for another while before I dare cut any branches but the Lonicera is growing well and should forgive me for taking a twig or two. 😉 Have a great new year and thanks for sharing your thoughts in your blog, I much enjoy it!

  5. Pauline says:

    My Sarcococca is still in tight bud, plenty of them, but no scent so far unfortunately, it must be colder in the woodland than I thought.
    Wishing you a very Happy New Year Cathy in your garden.

    • Cathy says:

      I haven’t been aware of my sarcococca’s fragrance outside yet, either. Thank you so much Pauline for your kind comments – best wishes to you and your family for 2014

  6. Julie says:

    What a great combination Cathy. I am particularly impressed with Annabelle – I haven’t had a fresh bloom for some time now. There are not many flowers where I am, but the sun is shining and it will be light until nearly 6 so there is much to recommend it!

    • Cathy says:

      Unfortunately Annabelle only lasted a day in water, so it seems a shame to have cut it now as she looked so fresh on the plant 😦 Enjoy your longer days and the sunshine – and let us know what you do find that is flowering

Something to say after reading this?

