Call Me Silly……

dinosaurYou’re silly! Right, that’s out of the way……

Well, I do look out for quirky things for the garden, preferably cheap and quirky, and you can’t get much cheaper and quirkier than a 3D foam dinosaur for £10 but bought with a 25% discount, thus making him a mere £7.50. I suspect not many people have dinosaurs lurking in the garden along with their fairies and chickens and other more usual decorative things (although on a windy day he would be flying rather than lurking if not tethered like a pet dragon), but I guess it’s unlikely to catch on…..

IMG_0809

When not reassembling piles of bones this afternoon I managed to bag up the leaves swept into heaps yesterday, possibly the last time this needs to be done, and picked off by hand the bulk of the leaves covering the species snowdrop border. The little beauties deserve the best care IMG_0811and attention I can give them, so don’t want to risk allowing any nasties lurking under leaf debris. I didn’t check for green spikes at every label, but am pleased to see that most new bulbs from two years ago are definitely putting on growth after keeping a low profile last season, thus encouraging me to remain patient with those that were new just last season.

This entry was posted in Art, bulbs, corms and tubers, garden structure, Gardening, Gardens and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Call Me Silly……

  1. croftgarden says:

    We could settle for mildly eccentric……………

  2. Jen says:

    You’re not the only one with a dinosaur in your garden. I have a small plastic one that hangs out with my herbs. It never fails to make me smile 🙂

  3. Julie says:

    Your foam dinosaur bears quite a resemblance to my chickens (minus feathers) when they are running. My daughter is studying zoology and has told me that birds are direct descendants of dinosaurs, so perhaps we do all have something similar to your new acquisition in our gardens!

    I can’t wait to see your snowdrops in flower.

  4. Anna says:

    Now that’s decidedly different Cathy 🙂 Has he/she got a name yet?

  5. Anna says:

    PS Just noticed that it’s a he 🙂

  6. Now he’s a blast from the past – my son used to have one just like that when he was a boy.
    It won’t be long till you get to see the beauties of your snowdrops I’m sure!

  7. That’s very you! Though I fully expect you to paint him to match your fence and other woodwork 😉 Had to smile to hear that you are on snowdrop watch already. I only have the bog standard ones, but I am hoping they pop up again this coming spring, they never really liked my previous garden.

Something to say after reading this?

